We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #80 of 83 Hotels in Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Value for Location”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

One reviewer said the hotel is good for visitors who had come to Boston to see the city and not sit in their hotel room staring at the furniture, I was on vacation to 1) Sleep in late and rest and 2) See the city. After I saw my room, I dropped my bags off, and only came home to crash after watching the latest movie, even in the snow storm and declared state of emergency, I was out first thing in the morning, after a quick shower, standing on the ledges straddling the tub, because not only was the bottom chipped and mat molding but it was backing up way above my ankle. No long steamy showers or lounging around in a soft plush bed for me.

That said the convenience of a great location, with access to the subway a 2min walk away, at a reasonable price afforded me the budget for a great time out on the town in Boston, leaving me very little to complain about especially because I did not have a car to get around and on the Other hotels started at $100 more a night up to $500. The staff was great; pleasant and friendly. Free breakfast -Coffee, juice, croissants, danish, bagels, cereal, always a plus.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoingIntoAlltheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    271
    265
    117
    80
See reviews for
130
312
63
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

A hundred isn't a bad price if you don't have a car. They don't have parking and for just the twelve hours we were there, the parking garage next door was $61. The parking for SUVs also makes you back up into the spot and they have this ridiculous concrete barrier that comes out of the wall and we inadvertently hit it and shattered the back glass. The hotel nor the parking garage were even remotely apologetic for this inconvenience and were quite rude. The toilet in our bathroom had old blood dripping off of the side in three different places. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miranda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Was this room a great deal? It was good for the price ($107./nite, double thru Expedia). Was it clean? Yes. Was it quiet? We thought so, not suburban cemetery silent, but not at all downtown San Francisco, "lets see how far we can throw a dumpster at 4 in the morning". Were we happy with the room? Content, the beds were a bit too hard and we hate flat foam pillows. Would we recommend it? Yes, for budget travelers who don't expect huge chain hotel rooms with free cookies. Would we return? Given the options, no, but only because there are so many options.

Fifty years ago, this 1925 property was separated from the University Club, next door, and went through a number of owners and uses. Today it's an old hotel-box, with a mildly grand lobby, and a hotel that resembles a motel. No crown mouldings in the halls or the rooms, nothing special anywhere outside of the lobby, and few amenities in the room---no mini fridge, let alone a mini-bar. But, there is a selection of mini-shampoos, soaps, conditioners and even the yellow plastic Vaseline hand creme, for those who find such things important. There's also an ironing board and iron; hair dryer, and coffee maker with free coffee packets. There's a continental breakfast on the 5th floor, all hotel rooms are from the 6th up.

The location is quite central to much of the stuff you'd want to see in Boston, from the State House(s) to the City Hall(s), Old North Church (the private-God Club for rich Boston Founding Fathers) Faneuil Hall, the Aquarium, and any number of restaurants including the Parker House (Boston Cream Pie and the Parker House Roll) and the English owned Pret A Manger, which is great for breakfast and lunch sandwiches, and stuff to take aboard the plane, later. And don't forget Durgin Park, at Quincy Market, for baked beans... all of that, close by. The subway is just around the corner.

The rooms and halls were extremely clean, although the carpets in ours had a few spots and some running threads. The beds and foam pillows were the worst this trip (hard), but not out of line with what one would expect for the price (we paid $107./night, double, through Expedia).

Where I would be concerned is with be the weather. We arrived, and left, just ahead of this season's first big storm, with temps dropping into the teens at night. I don't like a warm room and so turned the heater to the cool side, and the fans to low. The room never did warm up come morning---it stayed cool not cold----even with the heater on high, on for a couple of hours. If the AC is of a par, I would imagine that a hot summer's night would be unbearable.

For what we paid, when we stayed, I was quite content and, aside from the beds, have no complaints. Should I return, I'd keep looking.

Room Tip: Request a room facing a street----the side and back of the hotel faces a much larger parking garage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gryphonisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The location cannot be beat--right behind the Copley Plaza at a tiny fraction of the price, delightful staff, great free breakfast. Lots of Europeans stay here, because they know, we are in Boston to enjoy the city, not sit in our hotel room staring at the furniture. This is a basic hotel, not a lot of bells and whistles but absolutely everything you need. Word is, this wonderful hotel is going to be replaced by luxury condo building next year, so enjoy it while you can. Right by several subway lines and the terrific South End and Copley Square. Love this place!!

Room Tip: If you are travelling solo you can get a "single bed" room and save even more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AldenDfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I took my son to visit 3 colleges in Boston. We spent two nights at the Boston Common hotel. The location of this hotel is within walking distance of everything we went to visit. It is next to the Back Bay train station so if you go to Boston by train you could walk to the hotel and not have to worry about a car or paying for parking it overnight. This was my first time in Boston and was pleasantly surprised that the city is pedestrian friendly and the T lines are easy to use and go everywhere. The hotel was clean and the bed comfortable. It does need some updating in the bathroom. The lobby smelled from too much air freshner. The breakfast was good and the hotel staff friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ddrummond2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

You can't beat this location when staying in Boston. Located in Back Bay, close to South End. The rooms are not fancy but they are clean, comfortable and quiet. The lobby area is lovely, and there is a business center if you need it. The staff is always friendly and helpful. I am a frequent visitor to Boston, and this is one of my favorite places to stay. A lot of value for the cost of the room. Most other hotels in this area are much more expensive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 896ParisGirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, you are a few blocks from everything. Trinity Church is a block away and Prudential Tower also. Boston Common is 3 blocks away. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean. Great for a family group.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dafrenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#69 of 83 in Boston
1,120 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#54 of 83 in Boston
2,100 reviews
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#66 of 83 in Boston
955 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#56 of 83 in Boston
1,986 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center

Property: The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 40 Trinity Pl, Boston, MA 02116-5006 (Formerly John Hancock Hotel and Conference Center)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Boston hotel is centrally located in the historic Back Bay neighborhood, nestled right in the middle of everything that brings you to Boston. A block from the famed boutiques of Newbury Street, shopping at The Prudential Center and Copley Square, or a short walk to the Swan Pond in Boston Gardens and The Boston Commons, our location can’t be beat. Boston’s trendy South End restaurants and Historic trails surround us, insuring to keep you busy during your stay. If your visit to our Copley Plaza hotel only allows for business, we have 64 non smoking guest rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi in all of our public spaces. We feature great meeting space for groups of 5 to 500. If you require additional event space, we are a short jaunt to The Hynes Convention Center. Please feel free to contact any member of our sales team to assist in setting up your next meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to Boston and our ideally located Back Bay hotel. Please let us know if there is anything we can do prior to your arrival to ensure your stay with us is a comfortable one. The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center, one might say … a common Hotel with uncommon service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Hancock Hotel Boston
Hotel John Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing