We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, dated rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #80 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in May 2013. The best thing about this hotel is the location. Close to Copley Square and Back Bay tube and train stations. If you are just here to sleep then this should be fine for you as I found the rooms quiet (on the 6th floor) and had a good nights sleep each night with minimal noise. The rooms were large with lots of cable channels and free wifi in the lounge (not rooms).

The bad points: The hotel reception staff were un-professional and not helpful which sadly seemed to act like a disease and spread to each member of front desk staff. The rooms were dated, especially the bathrooms. They need to rip out the buff/brown coloured tiled and worn baths and replace everything with a white suite. If you like to have a bath, I would choose not to stay here because the tub is so old and scratched that it will always feel dirty. Even she shower curtain, which is a simple thing to update was old fashioned. The breakfast and breakfast area was so bad that we had to laugh. If breakfast is important to you and you look forward to a table clothed area with relaxing music and being served coffee then do not stay here. It felt like some kind of prison or mental health institution. The cutlery and plates were plastic, and there were only paper cups for coffee and juice. Unlike a prison there was no member of staff to clean or clear the tables. I only had breakfast here on the first morning.

This was one of the cheapest hotels in the area, and I would stay here again, but you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faith246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 823 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here in mid-May with my girlfriend for 3 nights.

The hotel is in a great location, just a few minutes walk from Back Bay station and close to Copley subway station. The first impression I got when I entered the hotel was how dated it looked. The staff were not very friendly and gave no information about the area.

The room was a decent size and the bed was comfortable. The rooms could do with a paint job, the bathroom door had a wonky handle, the bath was chipped and didn't look clean, the carpet had stains on it.......the list goes on.

I wouldn't bother with the "breakfast" at the hotel. I have had better breakfasts at £30 per night hostels. All plates and cutlery were plastic along with paper cups. Muffins and bagels were not fresh and the coffee was not drinkable.

For nearly $200 per night I expect more. If you just want somewhere to sleep in a great location and don't care about breakfast or tired looking rooms than the Boston Common hotel will meet your needs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean_No1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

If you are visiting Boston as a tourist you shouldn't spend much time in your hotel anyway, this is a basic hotel, in need of freshening up, but it is clean, quiet and in a nice area. A good variety of TV channels, a cheap booked cab to Logan ($17), free internet downstairs and patchy free Wifi (had to go down the corridor from our room!) and the price are good, the welcome we got (although the same reception staff were nicer on our departure) and the general run down feeling of the corridors, bathrooms and rooms not so (although as I said, clean). Would book here again at the right price for the location...

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, I think they are working on it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madrileno_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Good - location, location, location. Close to everything downtown. The staff, very pleasant and helpful.

The Bad
Breakfast - an absolute disgrace. They hold be ashamed of it.
The rooms, tired, grubby and worn. Thin walls.
Banging doors, very noisy -take earplugs
Bathroom, poor water pressure, poorly designed, almost impossible to shut the door unless you are actually standing in the bathtub

I can't believe that thre re not better options for $200 ++ per night

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnandelBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed in that hotel for over a week. I choose it mainly because of the price, breakfast and free internet access. The hotel is located in the middle of Boston, right next to John Hancock tower 100 meters from the metro station. Hotel is really clean, but it doesn’t help when you compare to how worn everything is. You can smell stall air, the doors are painted several time, floor mats lost all of their colours. In my room doors to the bathroom didn’t close at all. Luckily I was staying alone, so it wasn’t to big cumbersome. Additionally you couldn’t open a window, the air control was so loud that you had to make tough choices. Plus there is no light in the room, besides lamps on the table, which doesn’t give too much light after all. Breakfast is very poor even for American standards. One muffin, couple of buns and tea/coffee/juice. Internet in the room was working for couple of days, and then it stopped. However there is all the time internet access in the lobby. If you going to stay there for a night or two it is a reasonable choice, but for longer stay I would choose a different place. And don’t get me wrong if that is bad. Its just that I get used to a little bit higher standard during my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I agree that it is older and "dated," but it is clean and hospitable. They were very accommodating about our needs - a rollaway (and then we changed our minds) and a need to store our luggage between checkout time and airplane departure time. I left my phone charger in the room, and they called to let me know they had found it. It is a great location!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelmurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed for a week while looking for a place to live in the area. The hotel is older and I thought it added to the charm of the room - bed and breakfast type charm. Rooms are small and no refrigerator, but there are numerous choices for food within walking distance - a two block radius - including a grocery store. The included (free) breakfast is reasonable, fruit, juices, coffee, cereal, and bagels/muffins. The hotel is conveniently located near Copley Square and the Back Bay T/Orange line. The staff was helpful and very friendly. The WIFI is best in the main lobby, business center, and meeting rooms. Parking garage is across the alley and is expensive, but is subsidized by the hotel; subsidized $27/day, normally $60. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. I loved everything about my stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RNGretchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 84 in Boston
282 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#73 of 84 in Boston
1,142 reviews
Charlestown
Constitution Inn
Constitution Inn
#81 of 84 in Boston
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#67 of 84 in Boston
964 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#59 of 84 in Boston
2,256 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#56 of 84 in Boston
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 40 Trinity Pl, Boston, MA 02116-5006 (Formerly John Hancock Hotel and Conference Center)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: $165 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Boston hotel is centrally located in the historic Back Bay neighborhood, nestled right in the middle of everything that brings you to Boston. A block from the famed boutiques of Newbury Street, shopping at The Prudential Center and Copley Square, or a short walk to the Swan Pond in Boston Gardens and The Boston Commons, our location can’t be beat. Boston’s trendy South End restaurants and Historic trails surround us, insuring to keep you busy during your stay. If your visit to our Copley Plaza hotel only allows for business, we have 64 non smoking guest rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi in all of our public spaces. We feature great meeting space for groups of 5 to 500. If you require additional event space, we are a short jaunt to The Hynes Convention Center. Please feel free to contact any member of our sales team to assist in setting up your next meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to Boston and our ideally located Back Bay hotel. Please let us know if there is anything we can do prior to your arrival to ensure your stay with us is a comfortable one. The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center, one might say … a common Hotel with uncommon service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Hancock Hotel Boston
Hotel John Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing