We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #79 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel and location”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Good location, near to Back Bay station and Copley Square. Place is a little dated with some staff not as friendly as others. Rooms are good size though lacking a bar fridge. Would stay again. Breakfast wasn't fancy, with cereals, bagels and dessert foods like muffins and croissants for breakfast. There level 5 eating area is under used and could be used for some sort of cafe or food service.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    270
    264
    116
    78
See reviews for
129
311
62
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is very well located. Just one block away from the subway and at walking distances from many places.
Hotel is not renovated, so rooms are pretty old.
The service was just OK. No efforts in being too kind.
If you have other options in the area, take them.

Room Tip: Ask for a Queen bed (I got an individual bed and it was terrible!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel itself was pretty bad, the shower was really old and the bottom looked like it hadn't been cleaned properly. There was water damage in our room and it was really cold at night. The pictures on their website seem to either be false advertising, or we got a really bad room!

There were 2 good things about this hotel. 1) The location is great. It is down a weird alley/street, but it is right next to the John Hancock tower (you will never get lost!), and right by Copley Square which has a T stop, and numerous shops and restaurants nearby (including the posh Newbury Street). 2) The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbclarkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

Hampden, Maine
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Not our first stay in this old Boston hotel, I can remember the John Hancock vividly. Not as glitzy as some, but the staff bends over backward to make you comfortable. The convenience to the Back Bay and the rest of the city are unmatched. The continental breakfast on the beautiful veranda is a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

FALSE Advertising Alert! This hotel is nothing like it claims to be. It's situated on a dank,dead end street, the whole place was depressing and smelled foul, the carpet was stained and the furniture was banged up. The bathroom door wouldn't even close because the toilet was in the way. I made sure to flip the covers and check the mattress for creepy crawlies and although nothing could be seen by the naked eye...I am not convinced! Didn't bothered with the "free" breakfast...I couldn't get out of there fast enough. The YMCA situated one building over probably offers better accomodations. I paid over $200 for the room and feel like I was robbed. Back Bay gem...my BACKSIDE!!!

Room Tip: The "Marriot" Copley Place has rooms for the same cost and a reliable name behind it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you are looking for something not so fancy, well positioned and comfortable look no further. This hotel is not fancy at all but it does look nice. the bed, bathroom and others were clean and fresh, the front desk staff was friendly and breakfast was served in the morning! i agree with all other reviewers on how great the location is! While parking is not offered by the hotel they give you a lower rate for the lot that is right across the street from it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Octavio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is an inexpensive old school hotel that is in desperate need of a paint job. It is well situated behind Copley Square down a dead end alley. They advertise free internet but forget to mention they can't guarantee it in the room. The woman at check in when I asked her why they advertise it threw up her hands and said "Don't ask me. That's what I am told to say." I tried a new hotel this trip to Boston and I learned saving a couple bucks is not always worth it. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BeevoNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#54 of 83 in Boston
2,092 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#62 of 83 in Boston
3,524 reviews
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#64 of 83 in Boston
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#68 of 83 in Boston
1,118 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center

Property: The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 40 Trinity Pl, Boston, MA 02116-5006 (Formerly John Hancock Hotel and Conference Center)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Boston hotel is centrally located in the historic Back Bay neighborhood, nestled right in the middle of everything that brings you to Boston. A block from the famed boutiques of Newbury Street, shopping at The Prudential Center and Copley Square, or a short walk to the Swan Pond in Boston Gardens and The Boston Commons, our location can’t be beat. Boston’s trendy South End restaurants and Historic trails surround us, insuring to keep you busy during your stay. If your visit to our Copley Plaza hotel only allows for business, we have 64 non smoking guest rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi in all of our public spaces. We feature great meeting space for groups of 5 to 500. If you require additional event space, we are a short jaunt to The Hynes Convention Center. Please feel free to contact any member of our sales team to assist in setting up your next meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to Boston and our ideally located Back Bay hotel. Please let us know if there is anything we can do prior to your arrival to ensure your stay with us is a comfortable one. The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center, one might say … a common Hotel with uncommon service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Hancock Hotel Boston
Hotel John Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing