We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #80 of 83 Hotels in Boston
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is an inexpensive old school hotel that is in desperate need of a paint job. It is well situated behind Copley Square down a dead end alley. They advertise free internet but forget to mention they can't guarantee it in the room. The woman at check in when I asked her why they advertise it threw up her hands and said "Don't ask me. That's what I am told to say." I tried a new hotel this trip to Boston and I learned saving a couple bucks is not always worth it. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BeevoNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    271
    267
    118
    84
See reviews for
130
312
63
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was so pleased with this hotel for a number of reasons. First off, it's right IN THE MIDDLE of Copley Square, so you can jump out and have dinner or grab the T at Copley and scoot around to anywhere in the city (or beyond). So, I flew in and got the T from Logan. Took the blue line to Government Center and then switched to the Green line to Copley Square. The hotel is right there in the shadows of Trinity Church and the Prudential. This is an historical building, so while it is old in spirit, much has been renovated and spruced up. Rooms are small, but adequate for most purposes. (We're not hanging out in the room. We're here to get out and do things!) What I loved about the hotel was that it had every amenity (big continental breakfast, computer and internet WiFi access, accommodating staff) and it's smack dab in the middle of everything. The Boston Public Library is right there, Copley Place, the Prudential Center with tons of great shopping, Newbury Street, night life, just everything you could want RIGHT CLOSE BY. This was particularly convenient because it was extremely COLD!!! There's a huge Shaw's supermarket two blocks away also, so you could buy a bottle of wine or something to eat and stop in at the hotel for a respite before running around the city some more. All-in-all, this is a great place to stay and my nightly rate was even better because I booked it online. Very very enjoyable! I am planning a summer trip to see the Red Sox and stay right in the city. None better!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have been using this space for several years for working events and always stay overnight. Yes the place is older and the overnight room smaller than the more modern hotels. But the place is immaculately clean and the room rates of latter are multiples of the incurred cost of this facility. The public areas are spectacular with real character but the super bonus here are the staff. Arguably the most accommodating and helpful I have ever had the pleasure to work with - and I've used hotels in every major city all over the country. Many of the professionals who participate in events we run here - even long time residents of Boston - note they have never seen this place before --- and then tell us that they now routinely stay there when they are in Boston. Great location and well priced.
The sad part of this is that a Developer has snapped up this place for a fraction of its real value and will be knocking it down to build yet another 'luxury' multistory hotel and condo complex. Our loss!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ASSETs2447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Nice, comfortable, clean hotel right in Copley Square, Boston. Room had adequate space, small but adequate bathroom and an ample continental breakfast. All this for $75.00 plus 24 hr. parking for $27.00 at next door garage. The lobby and dining areas are lovely and though the rooms are a bit "tired" looking, they were fine for our stay. This is the best downtown Boston deal I've ever heard of and well worth the money.

Room Tip: There are only 2 king rooms, so you'll probably only have a queen room to choose from. A fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, MA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I want to give the hotel a higher rating because the cost was fabulous and the location to things to do and transportation was perfect but I can't. It is really old in the sense that it just looks worn out. It was clean but often looked unkept just because things were old and worn. It absolutely served our purpose of needing an inexpensive place to stay after an event we attended. And since we arrived later at night and left pretty early next morning for another activity we weren't effected by it too much. We did try to get water from the vending machine and that was sold out. That was a bummer. Breakfast was very continental but again, for our purposes, fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My mom and I were out looking for an apartment in Boston so chose this hotel as it was conveniently located near Back Bay and South End. There were other hotels we looked at booking but went with this one as it had free WiFi and breakfast. That, however, was not the entire story. They did have WiFi... but only in the lobby, and it was so slow that my Blackberry was still faster to pull up websites than my iPad, which should never happen. We ended up going to a nearby Starbucks to use their WiFi. It sort of defeated the purpose of having WiFi to lookup the areas around the apartments however. Secondly, the breakfast was just sad, only coffee, juices and assorted pastries and dried cereal. You could get a better breakfast at Starbucks or Au Bon Pain nearby for about $5.

In addition to issues with internet and breakfast, the room itself was in need of repair. The knob to the bathroom was very loose and we didn't shut the door because we almost got stuck in there as the knob wouldn't turn. The main door did not fully shut on its own, and you had to make sure you pulled it shut. The room was very dated, especially the yellow bathroom tile. And the coffee pot leaked. Overall, not worth what we paid - would recommend Boston Park Plaza (which I have stayed in before), which is much nicer for the same price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank futureconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The location is around the corner from the train station and a 10 minute walk to the Common.
The rooms are small, the furniture shabby and the carpet threadbare.
The "continental breakfast" was bagels, cold cereal and mini muffins and Danish.
The girls at the desk did their best with what they had to work with!
Don't stay here until they make big changes

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank houser2469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#70 of 83 in Boston
1,129 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
273 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#59 of 83 in Boston
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#54 of 83 in Boston
2,108 reviews
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#64 of 83 in Boston
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center

Property: The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 40 Trinity Pl, Boston, MA 02116-5006 (Formerly John Hancock Hotel and Conference Center)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Boston hotel is centrally located in the historic Back Bay neighborhood, nestled right in the middle of everything that brings you to Boston. A block from the famed boutiques of Newbury Street, shopping at The Prudential Center and Copley Square, or a short walk to the Swan Pond in Boston Gardens and The Boston Commons, our location can’t be beat. Boston’s trendy South End restaurants and Historic trails surround us, insuring to keep you busy during your stay. If your visit to our Copley Plaza hotel only allows for business, we have 64 non smoking guest rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi in all of our public spaces. We feature great meeting space for groups of 5 to 500. If you require additional event space, we are a short jaunt to The Hynes Convention Center. Please feel free to contact any member of our sales team to assist in setting up your next meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to Boston and our ideally located Back Bay hotel. Please let us know if there is anything we can do prior to your arrival to ensure your stay with us is a comfortable one. The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center, one might say … a common Hotel with uncommon service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Hancock Hotel Boston
Hotel John Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing