We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient but dated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #79 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient but dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I think other reviewers have pretty much said it all. The hotel is great as a base to access various places and activities in Boston, but is in great need of updating and redecoration. The entrance to the hotel is down a side street and there is no canopy or signs to help locate it until you are actually standing at the door which is opposite a car park. Even our taxi driver had difficulty finding it. The room was small, with only one chair so TV could only be watched by lying on the bed, which was comfortable and clean. The lifts were a bit clunky. The breakfast area on the 5th floor was nice and lots of continental breakfast choices available. Useful business centre with free wifi in the common areas.
In general, I would recommend it as a base to explore the city but don't expect too much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    265
    260
    112
    74
See reviews for
126
307
60
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having lived in Boston for 4 years, I thought a hotel in the Back Bay area would be a decent place to stay. Upon arriving at the hotel, we had a hard time finding the main entrance, then had to drag our luggage up the stairs because there is no bellman. When we got to our room, it was small, old/outdated, and dingy. After spending the evening out with friends, we returned to the hotel to find that the main door was locked!!!! After spending 30 minutes ringing bells, banging on doors, walking to the loading dock, and calling the front desk, we walked to another hotel at 2 in the morning and paid for another hotel room!!!!! Needless to say, when we were able to get into the hotel the next morning, we immediately checked out!!! I will NEVER stay at this place again and do not recommend it to anyone. I felt like I was in an episode of Hotel Hell!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

GALE
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights . It is in a great position for getting around and near some very good restaurants. But it is tired ad in need of renovation.
At the reception it looked dark and dinghy and the receptionist looked just as tired and cant be bothered attitude
The room 617 was big enough, but felt dirty and lived in. There was dirty marks on the walls and no towels (all though these were brought up once we asked) There was no safe in the room for my laptop and at reception the safe deposit they had only took small items like a wallet or passports.
In the bathroom the door was swollen and wouldn't shut properly. The bath was losing its enamel and they used a none slip mat to try and hide it. The place did grow on us because of its position
Overall its a shame beause it has the potential to be excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADAM1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We booked this hotel online; it was a great find. It is located in the Back Bay area, just off Copely Square and very near to Trinity Church and to the Hancock Centre, a gigantic skyscraper that can be seen from miles away, so it is a handy landmark. The room we got was big (huge by NY standards) and spotlessly clean, although we had no view except the wall of a car park (which did not matter as we were gone from early morning to evening). The AirCon worked really well and at night the area was very peaceful. Most of the reception staff were very nice and helpful. A safe box is available at reception for laptops, passports, etc at no charge (unless you lose the key). There is a room with two PCs with free internet access. There are shops and restaurants nearby and Boston Common is just a stroll away. You can walk into town in twenty minutes or take the subway (called the T) or the bus. The Back Bay area is a great place to walk around but then, all of Boston is a great walking city. - a car would be a complete nuisance. The breakfast in the hotel was OK but nothing special. We would recommend the Boston Common Hotel to anyone visiting Boston.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyremarxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

While the manager (or who I assume was the manager) was friendly, efficient and welcoming, the same definitely can not be said of the various female reception staff we encountered during our three night stay. Offhand, bordering on downright rude they created a very poor impression of this hotel at every encounter. I'm astonished that in these days of high unemployment these incompetent and ill-trained staff members should be holding down any job at all.
Once away from the reception desk, our impressions did not improve. This hotel has been describes as 'slightly tired'...I think 'absolutely exhausted' would be a more apt description! The furniture looked fit for the tip and everywhere looked in need of a total refurbishment.
It was clean enough and the breakfast was ok...nothing special. Free wi-fi in the lobby was ok too with a good strong signal but annoying not to have it in the room (but I did know that before I booked).
The only really positive aspect of this rather depressing hotel was the location, smack bang in the middle of everything. We had dinner at Legal Seafoods in the nearby Prudential building and this was an equally disappointing experience. Much-hyped this restaurant served below average food at an above average price. Once we'd finished our main course we were huckled out the door to make space for higher spending diners no doubt. We were offered neither dessert nor coffee...just presented with our bill. All in all a pretty nasty experience

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flashpacker48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Grouchy receptionist when I arrived at 11pm, incredibly drab and sad colors and decor, including the room which makes any hospital room look incredibly welcoming, no ice machine on the floor where the room was located. In addition $100 fee absolutely not communicated for smoking in the room.

There are definitely much better centrally located hotels to stay in this price range in Boston.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I think all the reviews here give a fairly accurate picture of the hotel. The lobby is nice but the rooms are really tired and a little shabby (though clean). Rooms overlooking the street as opposed to the car park appeared bigger with a much better view!

Bathroom fittings were particularly tired but the room was comfortable and quiet.

Breakfast was fine and in a nice mezzanine area although there were no staff at all to assist when coffee ran out etc.

Wifi was free and good in the lobby. The lobby was rather sporadically manned and (maybe its just me) but I think it is inappropriate to try and vacuum under peoples feet when they are sitting in the lobby making a call.

Location excellent and price was fine for Boston.

Room Tip: Avoid overlooking car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartdNewburyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#50 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#61 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#64 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#66 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,268 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center

Property: The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 40 Trinity Pl, Boston, MA 02116-5006 (Formerly John Hancock Hotel and Conference Center)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Boston hotel is centrally located in the historic Back Bay neighborhood, nestled right in the middle of everything that brings you to Boston. A block from the famed boutiques of Newbury Street, shopping at The Prudential Center and Copley Square, or a short walk to the Swan Pond in Boston Gardens and The Boston Commons, our location can’t be beat. Boston’s trendy South End restaurants and Historic trails surround us, insuring to keep you busy during your stay. If your visit to our Copley Plaza hotel only allows for business, we have 64 non smoking guest rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi in all of our public spaces. We feature great meeting space for groups of 5 to 500. If you require additional event space, we are a short jaunt to The Hynes Convention Center. Please feel free to contact any member of our sales team to assist in setting up your next meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to Boston and our ideally located Back Bay hotel. Please let us know if there is anything we can do prior to your arrival to ensure your stay with us is a comfortable one. The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center, one might say … a common Hotel with uncommon service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Hancock Hotel Boston
Hotel John Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing