We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taylor House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed November 4, 2006

We stayed at Taylor House whilst spending a few days sightseeing in Boston. It is in a great location, Jamaica Plain, which is a little out of the centre of Boston but is on the T (metro train, a mere 10 minute stroll). The house is beautifully renovated, the room we had was lovely and spacious. The breakfast buffet each morning was very good - cereal, juice, yogurt, home made bread, pastry and alway something hot. Wags and Parker, the dogs, are very cute and add to the charm. Daryl and Dave were helpful and friendly hosts. A perfect spot with some great local restaurants.

  • Liked — The handy location.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not bother with a car in Boston. Use the T to get around. It runs directly to the airport and is so easy to use.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank flynn1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    34
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
62
83
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2006

I have to tell the world that this B&B is the most romantic and gorgeous place I have ever stayed. My boyfriend and I were overwhelmed at the house - it was truly beautiful and enchanting. It was so sylish, there was not a hint on chintz in sight - something that we normally hate about b&bs.

We spent two nights there in mid october, the rest of our trip was spent in the Radisson in Phili (awful in comparison) and another lovely guesthouse in D.C. But Taylor House was by far the best.

We love staying in nice hotels, The Fairmont being our favorite but this topped absolutely everything. The hosts were perfect and so unintrusive, we even loved the dogs and we are not dog people. So if you are lucky enough to get a vacancy go for it. You will love it.

  • Liked — Stunning house, easy internet access, fab breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — stay there
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NadineD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2006

For our first visit to Boston we were a little put off by the hotel rates we found and were uncertain what area to stay in. Preferring the warmth of a B&B over a hotel, we stumbled across Taylor House and found the reviews to be favorable. We were concerned with the area being outside of Boston, and our neighbor who used to live in Boston warned us when we told her what area we were staying in. We discovered Jamaica Plains has clearly changed since she lived in Boston, and is a charming and relaxing neighborhood with great restaurants. After spending the day sight-seeing in Boston, Centre Street was a relaxing option, and a short walk from Taylor House. Try the Centre Street Cafe for an excellent dinner and service. The Boston transit system is a 10 minute walk from Taylor House and surprisingly easy and convenient, even from/to the airport. The Taylor House breakfast was basically a deluxe Continental with fresh fruits, homemade breads and pastries, and more. We found the home to be very relaxing and to have everything we needed, even a computer to check email, though it could use some extra dusting in areas. We would definitely return.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank apeyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2006

This B&B is absolutely beautiful! We wanted a place where we could be within easy reach of downtown yet be able to stay somewhere unique and personal. From pre-booking to checkout, they took care of our questions and provided directions on how to get around. Free parking in their driveway. Our guest room was SPACIOUS, thoughtfully decorated, and CLEAN. Breakfast on the weekend was much more than we expected. Hot food and variety was the norm. Not one of those cereal bar B&B's. Be sure to say hi to the golden retrievers. They are so photogenic! Walk down to the end of the block and take the 1.5mi walk around beautiful Jamaica Pond. The T-station (light rail) was only a 10 minute walk away and allowed us to never have to drive into Boston (a big plus considering their confusing street grid and lack of easy parking).

  • Liked — Beautifully restored victorian house. Location off the beaten path. Easy access to city.
  • Disliked — No Wi-Fi or ethernet connection. No cable TV.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MTipper59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 28, 2006

We stayed at Taylor House for our wedding. We are UK citizens and decided to tie the knot in Boston, a fabulous city. Having scoured many city centre establishments looking for something that felt special and unique, we cast our net wider to Jamaica Plains. What a find! We loved the neigbourhood - probably because it awakened memories of Shepherds Bush, London where we have also lived. A funky, undiscovered locale with great bars (Doyle's) and restaurants. Brilliant! To top it all, Taylor House was very special - fantastic hosts, dogs, decor, food, atmos, and the best shower ever! A unique experience that we will never forget. We stayed three nights, including pre wedding and the wedding day itself and it felt very special. We will always remember it with fondness and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 24, 2005

We stayed at the Taylor House for two nights. Dave is a wonderful and friendly innkeeper - we were able to check in early and he offered his cell phone number (so if you get lost or need help, he is there!). The room was very nice, comfortable bed and neat artwork & furniture (although it was somewhat dusty). There's a small refrigerator with soda, coffeemaker and watercooler in the hallway. The breakfast was always fresh and delicious (woke up to the smell of baked goods!). The inn is very close to the T and a short drive to the city. Overall, a very nice alternative to a hotel in the city.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2004

We stayed at the Taylor House for two nights and had the two bedroom suite. It was very comfortable, nicely decorated, close to restaurants and shops and in a very nice neighborhood. Two blocks from Jamaica Pond, which is beautiful. It was an easy drive into the city, about 5 minutes. Dave was great and suggested places to eat and helped with directions. Breakfasts were really good and it was like a home away from home. The dogs Wags and Parker were a delight.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DianePittsburgh_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
7,269 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#8 of 38 in Boston
353 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#5 of 38 in Boston
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylor House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Taylor House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 50 Burroughs St, Boston, MA 02130-4059
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Jamaica Plain
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer spacious rooms with private baths that appeal to both tourists, relatives of those in the area, and business travelers. We have increased our staff to greet you up until midnight and offer a/c, wifi, guest business center and wonderful gardens to relax and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Taylor House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taylor House b&b
Taylor House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing