We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Campbell Hall, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great water pressure in the shower, comfortable bed, plenty of drawer space. Valet service quick and convenient. Overall the rooms are classier than your typical hotel as is the hotel in general. Two excellent eateries on each side of the hotel. Staff are very polite/courteous. A little on the expensive side but still less than many good hotels in Boston.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
David K,
Thank you for your feedback and I'm pleased you enjoyed both the hotel and our great restaurant partners at Eastern Standard and Island Creek Oyster Bar. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,377
    669
    138
    57
    24
See reviews for
1,355
1,237
199
887
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,016)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

This Hotel ALWAYS surprises me with complimentary Wine, Chocolates, Suite Upgrades, etc.. This hotel makes my trip memorable whenever I stay here! With Jeff skippering the front desk and assists from Steve and lovely Hannah and Frankie making it happen out front, you're sure to hit a HOME RUN at the Commonwealth.

Room Tip: I love the view of Fenway Park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk6460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dirk6460,

Thank you staying with us and for taking the time to provide feedback.

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that several members of our team including Jeff, Steve, Hannah & Frankie helped make your stay more enjoyable.

WE hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We travel to Boston a lot but never managed to stay here before. The times we considered it, it was always sold out. I'm glad we finally got the chance because we will definitely come back. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. The room configuration was really interesting and nice, the sitting area was separated from the bed by a great looking, heavy curtain that could be drawn across the room. This works well for us as my husband gets up insanely early and likes to sit and read somewhere. Everything else in the room & bathroom was quite nice and I loved the Mallin & Goetz toiletries. The room was also a good size for the money (I believe we had a jr suite and it was slightly less than $400). We ordered dinner from room service and the food was tasty. My only complaint is that there really weren't any healthy vegetarian options so I had an unhealthy, though delicious, grilled cheese on rye. We only stayed one night and had to leave early in the morning so I can't say whether there was a gym/fitness area. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dicooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
dicooley,

Thank you for staying with and taking the time to provide feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we get to welcome you back to one of our Commonwealth Jr Suites in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I have spent 8 nights at Hotel Commonwealth during a conference. Everything went well and smoothly. Peoples are friendly and helpul.
My Fenway room at 5th floor was spacious and very quiet although it face highway and Fenway park. I just had few minor problems (misfunctioning on the Ipad style tablet, problem with the TV).
One regret : the absence of a buffet for breakfast and the rather late opening at 7 PM

Room Tip: I was on 5th floor on the backside of the hotel (cheaper rooms) but it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeutrinoParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
NeutrinoParis,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us. The tablets in the guestrooms are new and I apologize that yours didn't work correctly. We are working on the few hick-ups and am confident that they will provide flawless results in the future.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We couldn't be happier with our stay at Hotel Commonwealth. The entire staff was helpful, welcoming, and very friendly--we really appreciated Jane and Jeff spending so much time explaining the city, printing boarding passes, and talking to our children. We stayed at Hotel Commonwealth at the end of a vacation north, so it was a perfect ending. Our children were spoiled by the hotel staff, who made the experience so much more than "just a hotel stay." We were surprised with seats from Fenway Park in our room for our kids to enjoy as well as a Red Sox goody basket!

The room was very spacious, clean, and nicely decorated. The hotel's location is perfect--right across from the T station and around the corner, a very short walk, to Fenway. We will definitely be staying at Hotel Commonwealth in our future visits to Boston!

Room Tip: Love the Fenway Park view rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Heather M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay. I am pleased that your entire family enjoyed the visit (especially the kids !!) and that Jeff & Jane were able to make your stay more enjoyable.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back again in the future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

This property lives up to its great reviews--our room was beautiful, quiet and comfortable. And service was exceptional. The T station right next to the hotel makes up for the location being a little away from the center of town. Very good restaurant too (we had the "bed and breakfast package" so ate breakfast there both mornings). The ONLY complaint is that parking is expensive. It is of course expensive anywhere in Boston, but to park our car at 6 p.m. and stay until we needed to go to the airport at 4 p.m. the next day, we were going to have to pay $46 for the overnight parking plus another $20 for staying past 2:00--so $66 for less than 24 hours. So we parked a mile away in the Prudential Center garage which was $40 for 24 hours and took the subway to the hotel. All-in-all, however, a excellent value and an outstanding hotel. We won't hesitate to stay at Hotel Commonwealth on future trips.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boromac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Boromac,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west of england
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Sourced through Hotwire, I was a bit dubious about our booking as we seemed to have secured a good deal. I needn't have worried as we had a warm welcome and had a nice room overlooking Fenway Park.
The room was a good size and the bed was very comfy.
The staff were lovely, very helpful and cheerful.
Walking into the heart of Boston took about 15 minutes and the trip back from South Station area took around 25 minutes on foot.
I would have preferred that the coffee machine was already in the room instead of having to order it (via the in-room ipad) from room service, especially as it is complementary. That's my only tiny negative.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxuryaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
luxuryaddict,

Thank you for your feedback and I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,242 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,056 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing