We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great customer service!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

The entire staff at this beautiful hotel went completely out of their way to make sure that our stay was perfect. The airlines lost my luggage and I was very upset. Jane checked us in and she was wonderful, especially since I was a bit distraught over my missing luggage. Austin was very helpful getting what we had with us to the room. Jane, Austin, and Evan put a bag together of small goodies to help cheer me up. I was extremely grateful and surprised! Bed was comfy and the room was clean. Room service was quick and the beer cheese was tasty!!! The only downfall was that Oyster Creek was too crowded for us to get into. Perhaps they could leave a table or two open for hotel guests sometime.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,377
    669
    138
    57
    24
See reviews for
1,355
1,237
199
887
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,016)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights at the Commonwealth with our teenage children. Both rooms were very spacious, spotlessly clean, and tastefully decorated. The floor we were on had just been remodeled, so everything felt and looked fresh. The hotel is flanked by two very good restaurants. The Island Creek Oyster Bar is a very lively, hip place with an amazing bar and fabulous cocktails. The seafood is just incredible. Eastern Standard is also good and serves an excellent breakfast. But the best part of our experience at the Commonwealth was the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff, in particular Jane and Evan at the front desk. They were both unbelievably helpful, accommodating, and kind to these weary travelers. We so appreciated their willingness to meet our every request with a friendly and personable smile. They are every front desk manager's dream. This is the only place we will stay next time we visit Boston.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Coriolanus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asperling, General Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you Coriolanus9 for your comments regarding your recent stay at Hotel Commonwealth. I was especially pleased that both Jane & Evan were helpful in ensuring your enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Adam Sperling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed here over the last weekend to celebrate my bf's birthday in the city. When we arrived the doorman and valet were so helpful and friendly. I felt very welcome! The person who checked us in to our room was a bit curt, but every other person we encountered who worked there was extremely pleasant and a joy to be around. The room was spacious, clean, and smelled wonderful. Our king bed was heavenly, I wish we could have taken it home with us!

And to make the experience even better, I accidentally left my make up bag in one of the drawers, and thought for sure it was gone forever. But I called the next morning and they had it, with my room number and the name of the employee who found it when cleaning our room on the bag. My bf and I were so impressed and satisfied with our stay. It's a bit more expensive than some other hotels in Boston, but well worth the money for peace of mind and amazing amenities and staff. Thanks Hotel Commonwealth!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ndang0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Excellent hotel and I am a pretty descering traveler. Way too many choices in Boston, we selected HC based entirely on the TripAdvisor rating which I always found to be an accurate representation of the hotel. While we stayed just one night, we managed to hit all 3 restaurants on property (Oyster Creek, East West, and 500a Commonwealth) between drinks, dinner, and breakfast. I was not excited about my food and beverage bill but it is to be expected for Boston and in line with all other properties of like kind. The room was very clean! The staff wen out of their way to be friendly and accommodating. Very pleased to see that WiFi was included, I don't like spending a lot on a room only to pay more for something that should be standard. We have to rethink our upcoming Boston trip in June to include this property given that it's been tried and tested.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carnivalcruiselover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here for the second time on a overnight getaway package. Great dinner at Island Creek Oyster before the Mike Gordon show at House of Blues. Nick, the Concierge remembered us from our last stay and upgraded us to the Baseball Suite which was fantastic! Overall service in this hotel and all 3 bars and restaurants are always a 10.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

I truly have no negatives to report. We arrived very late, were cheerfully greeted, we were thrilled to find both restaurants open and got lovely service. The room was beautiful, the bed comfy, the bathroom large and clean and pleasant, staff couldn't have been more helpful. I especially appreciate being able to order a real breakfast rather than being subjected to the usual tired breakfast buffet. Ok, one suggestion - stronger coffee (: Truly a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simplegifts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Hotel Commonwealth is so conveniently located in downtown Boston. The entire staff is friendly and courteous from the front desk to room service! I also had some contact with the event staff who is just as accommodating. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, and clean. I cannot wait to return!I just hope it will be a little warmer next time. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,242 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,061 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing