We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - Highly Recommend”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Terrific hotel - great rooms (very large for a downtown hotel), great decor & a great location (easy stroll to Newbury St, Boston Common, Fenway etc.). Excellent service and both adjoining restaurants are very good. Excercise room is room is small but has everything you'd need. All in all - great place to stay when in Boston.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,462)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Commonwealth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,123 - 2,129 of 4,462 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed here two nights during a visit to Boston University. The service was excellent- easy and very friendly. Room was excellent as well--very comfortable and homey, but not sterile. Bed was stellar with real down and feather pillows. Just a nice, comfortable retreat. Really appreciated that they did not charge extra for the WiFi, which many hotels of their caliber do. Bravo! The Oyster Island restaurant was special, with interesting seafood well and interestingly prepared. The Eastern standard was just ok for breakfast. Service and atmosphere was wonderful, but the coffee tasted like gas station 'bilge' coffee, and the food was just ok for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Hotel Commonwealth is our go-to spot. Extraordinary restaurants, wonderful hotel staff, easy access to everything. Hotel size is manageable (you don't spend half your day waiting for the elevator, for example). Rooms are clean, comfortable, and are equally great for a work trip or a romantic stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlynnep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed for one night this past weekend and had a very good experience. The service level was apparent right from the beginning: I knew that check-in time was 3 p.m. but came by around noon to leave a bag. When I pulled up in front, the valet parking attendant pointed out that there might very well be a room available; it turned out that he was right, and I was able to check in at that time, making things easier for me later on. The folks at the front desk were also extremely nice. We were impressed with how quiet the room was, particularly given that the hotel is right in Kenmore Square, which is a busy and noisy area; they must have used very good sound-deadening windows. The convenience of the location would depend on what you're there to do - it was great for us, but if you were in town for a short business trip and had to be in the financial district most of the time, it would be less ideal. We didn't have a chance to try the spa, the restaurant, room service, or some of the hotel's other capabilities, but we were impressed with our experience there, would be glad to return, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MM7NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

A brilliant hotel with great service,Nick at the front desk is very efficient and always there to help.
There two great restaurants downstairs and the hotel is very close to some great shopping areas.
The bath in our room was very strange,but other than that I can't fault this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is a lovely hotel, with great service and beautiful rooms. I highly recommend it! The hotel is very convenient to public transportation, or you can take a fairly inexpensive cab ride into the heart of town. The restaurants are fantastic! Also attached to the hotel are a camera shop, photo gallery and Starbucks. In case you forget anything, it's a very short walk to a convenience store and a fairly close walk to a CVS. Our room was spacious and spotless, housekeeping did a fantastic job, and the front desk folks were awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 61adventuregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was our second time visiting the Hotel Commonwealth and it was perfect once again. The room was a great size for a family of four, spacious and clean. The location is perfect, we spent a great afternoon and evening on Newbury Street- all within walking distance. The people who work there are just wonderful. Customer service at its best!

Room Tip: Ask for the oversized room with the foldout sofa if you have kids! The room is plenty big!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manzie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,349 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,317 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 84 in Boston
4,858 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $196 - $604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing