We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every detail”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #10 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the Commonwealth at the end of december 2013. It was one of the best hotels I have experienced in quite a while. The rooms were well decorated and very clean. The service is comparable to a 5 star hotel. Everyone there on staff went out of their way to make sure everything you needed was taken care of. Jeff the Doorman, was so friendly and a great source of information. Jeff, the man who checked us in, was super friendly, again, a great resource for local activities. Our bags were brought up to our room, coats hung in the closet etc,... Room service was excellent, and the food was great! Needless to say, the Commonwealth is now our hotel of choice when ever we go home to Boston. I cannot recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear truell,

Thank you very much for your kind review about your stay with us. I am thrilled that every aspect of your stay was enjoyable. Our entire staff prides themselves on providing a high level of service. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,267 - 2,273 of 4,565 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

My fiance and I stayed for one night in a Fenway Room (using a deal from a third-party site) and had a great experience. The last time we were in town for New Year's, we stayed at the Lenox, but we found a better deal for the Hotel Commonwealth this time around and I was very happy with our choice.

Room: Very large and furnished well, and although decorated in a classic and historic fashion, was maintained well and not outdated. (When we stayed at the Lenox Hotel, in comparison, the room seemed very worn and in need of renovations.) Small details added up: leather door hangers, very plush towels, interesting wall prints. We were in a room with a connecting door to another room - if we stood close to the connecting door we could hear the other room playing music, but otherwise, we couldn't hear anything. We've stayed in adjoining rooms before where it sounded like the occupants in the other room were in our room because of the thin walls and door (see again, the Lenox), but thankfully the Commonwealth seems to have better sound-proofing.

Service: Generally positive. The front desk staff and doormen don't greet you as warmly as they do at the Lenox, and sometimes don't greet you at all. Valet service was efficient and friendly. The doormen tended to stand at the lobby doors rather than open the doors or greet you. Concierge was very fast in helping find brunch reservations for us at 2:00 am.

Location: Although the immediate area is not as charming or central compared to other hotels, there are lots of public transportation options in very close walking distance and two great restaurants located in the hotel. I was expecting to not like the location of the hotel, but it turned out to not matter much at all because the positives the hotel offered more than overcame it.

For the size of the room and the quality of the experience, I'd recommend this hotel and would eagerly stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MsRCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear MsRCY,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a detailed review about your stay. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our guest rooms and location. Our team works very hard at maintaining our property. I am disappointed to read that our front office level of service did not meet your expectations. We are constantly working on this and I will certainly share this note with my team. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I loved every part of this hotel. Jeff the night manager was great, Sam the front desk agent also great. The rooms are beautifully classic the bathrooms are fabulous. I did not go the restuarnt this time but i have been before and i know that it's really good as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear kylee m,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay with us. We are very fortunate to have great team members like Jeff and Sam. I am thrilled they were able to make your stay memorable. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed with family for NYE/First Night Boston...eight of us including parents and college-aged kids/friends. From start to finish, the friendly and helpful service from every person with whom we came into contact was outstanding -- Corine in reservations, Jeff at the front desk and others whose name I unfortunately didn't catch or I'd have complimented them here, too. And the cleanliness and decor of the hotel was equally as great. Restaurants, too -- we visited Oyster Bay and Hawthorne and food/service great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Notelrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Notelrac,

Thank you for your review and kind words about our staff. I am thrilled that your friends and family all enjoyed their New Years Eve stay with us. I hope you have a wonderful New Year and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We loved our stay at this hotel, especially the wonderful staff who were more than happy to help and accommodate all of our requests (even providing complimentary wine and chocolate for our engagement!) The location of the hotel itself was ideal with great views of Fenway Park, quick access to the subways and stores, shopping, restaurants, etc. When we go back to Boston, this is the only hotel we'll be staying at.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tereza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Tereza S,

Thank you for your review about our staff! Our staff is committed to providing a high level of service and I am thrilled you were able to experience it. We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

What a great find! We love this hotel. It is convenient to just about everything. The 2 restaurants and bar offer great food and reasonable prices. Although it shares the neighborhood with Boston University and Fenway Park, these establishments are frequented by adults rather than unruly people who are often associated with colleges and sports events.

We go back whenever we can!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Michael L,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Hotel Commonwealth. Also, thank you for your kind words about our location and our hotel restaurants. I will be sure to share your comments with the management team. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were greeted by 2 very charming hosts. Upon checking in they offered us complementary champagne and upgraded our room to one of their new concept rooms. The room was spectacular with a cozy little sitting area. My wife and I enjoyed our champagne while looking out over Kenmore Square.

It was a real thrill and exactly the kind of pampering new parents need!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thaner55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Thaner55,

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 85 in Boston
3,450 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#11 of 85 in Boston
1,378 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#9 of 85 in Boston
2,461 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 85 in Boston
4,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $168 - $560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing