We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Best Hotel Experience!”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our Best Hotel Experience!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We loved our stay at this hotel, especially the wonderful staff who were more than happy to help and accommodate all of our requests (even providing complimentary wine and chocolate for our engagement!) The location of the hotel itself was ideal with great views of Fenway Park, quick access to the subways and stores, shopping, restaurants, etc. When we go back to Boston, this is the only hotel we'll be staying at.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tereza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Tereza S,

Thank you for your review about our staff! Our staff is committed to providing a high level of service and I am thrilled you were able to experience it. We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,446
    685
    145
    57
    25
See reviews for
1,384
1,260
203
915
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,038)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

What a great find! We love this hotel. It is convenient to just about everything. The 2 restaurants and bar offer great food and reasonable prices. Although it shares the neighborhood with Boston University and Fenway Park, these establishments are frequented by adults rather than unruly people who are often associated with colleges and sports events.

We go back whenever we can!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Michael L,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Hotel Commonwealth. Also, thank you for your kind words about our location and our hotel restaurants. I will be sure to share your comments with the management team. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were greeted by 2 very charming hosts. Upon checking in they offered us complementary champagne and upgraded our room to one of their new concept rooms. The room was spectacular with a cozy little sitting area. My wife and I enjoyed our champagne while looking out over Kenmore Square.

It was a real thrill and exactly the kind of pampering new parents need!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thaner55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Thaner55,

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

This was out second stay at the Commonwealth within a month. This time, the bedsheet had lots of holes in them, the room was noisy (slamming doors...), the remotes controls' batteries were empty... Basically, it felt run down. The staff was still very professional but the overall experience was disappointing.

May give it another chance ... Or not.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank francoisk114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Francois K,

I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was disappointing. We strive to provide a defect free stay for all of our guests and I am disappointed that we fell short in your case. I would love to discuss your stay further. Please contact me at your earliest convenience; I can be reached at (617) 532-5055. I look forward to speaking with you.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Truly outstanding hotel. The team at the Hotel Commonwealth totally deserve the no. 1 spot on TripAdvisor. The service was exceptional; personal and professional. Every single staff member I encountered was on the same page: pleasant, engaging and helpful.

The room was very spacious and well appointed, everything was crisp and fresh. The only less than perfect item I can think of is that there are no tea/coffee making supplies in the room - but if you don't choose this hotel because of that you are nuts. Room service is provided by one of the restaurants on the property, and my dinner was delicious and delivered promptly.

For a quiet drink try the Hawthorne off the lobby entrance. Quieter than the bustling Island Oyster bar with good wine list and great ambience. Try the avocado/cheese dip appetiser - delicious.

I was absolutely delighted with the place and would not consider booking anywhere else next time I'm in Boston.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Susan T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff and level of service. We do offer complimentary coffee makers upon request. Please contact me at your earliest convenience and I would be happy to add this preference to your profile.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We loved our stay here at Hotel Commonwealth !! Wonderful room - space and clean !!
Responsive and friendly staff. Great location. This was our second stay. We love this place !!
We hope to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Sasha G,

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will be back as well.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This is one of my favorite hotels anywhere. The staff is wonderful--they are beyond professional; they are gracious, anticipating your needs. The rooms are beautiful: very comfortable beds, high thread count sheets, very quiet. I have stayed there twice and each time was completely relaxing. The hotel is walking distance from the Museum of Fine Arts and Newbury St. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j7768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,284 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,261 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelPower, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing