We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on our very first trip to Boston. Lovely hotel and LOVED having three dining options on site. Island Creek Oyster Bar is wonderful - GREAT lobster roll! We had a King room. It was very spacious! Added bonus that it is literally across the street from the subway station as well as Fenway Park.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,377
    666
    138
    57
    24
See reviews for
1,353
1,236
199
887
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,016)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband and I recently celebrated our 18th wedding anniversary at The Hotel Commonwealth and we enjoyed a wonderful evening and dinner at the hotel. From the curbside welcome until we checked out, I was thrilled with the sincere customer service that we experienced. I'm a frequent, global traveler and the customer care at The Hotel Commonwealth was far beyond average. One example - I exited my room with ice bucket in hand and a hotel worker walking in the hallway stopped, took the bucket and guided me to the ice machine in an alcove, filled the bucket and wished me a good day. It's a little thing, but sticks out in my mind as being focused on "servicing a customer".

We had dinner at the Island Creek Oyster Bar (known by the locals as ICOB) - and I know I should say that the shrimp cocktail and oyster sliders were great (and they were) - but above all the side order BISCUIT was unforgettable. We enjoyed the ambiance and world class service. It was especially convenient to eat at ICOB since a Nor'Easter was blowing through and we didn't have to leave the hotel.

Thank you to Steve at the front desk and his special care of us - but every staff member obviously took pride in their work and it showed.

Room Tip: The hotel was running a promotion for a free room upgrade if you "like" them on Facebook a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyInHopkinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed Thanksgiving evening in Boston and delighted to have chosen the Hotel Commonwealth. Very helpful staff, lovely room and good facilities. Free wifi good and great to have access to Eastern Standard for a very enjoyable dinner. Rooms classic Bostonion style and big with good views of the city. Very comfortable beds and nice quiet room. Bathroom very traditional but with fab rainfall shower - much better than it looks! Staff excellent all the way round and were very helpful. Been to Boston many times but haven't stayed in this area of Boston before so good to see another side of the City but is a good 15 minute stroll into Back Bay but would stay here again. Booked through hotwire but would book directly next time as rate was the same and can specify more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammyjo_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Since we would only be in Boston for one night so we decided to select a surprise Hotwire deal in the Back Bay district. We lucked out with Hotel Commonwealth and I only wished we were able to enjoy the hotel for more than one night.

After a long and cold day of exploring, we checked into the hotel. I was checked in by two friendly gentlemen. We were given complimentary bottles of water and given recommended dining options. We were told that they house the best seafood restaurant in Boston, Island Creek Oyster Bar (delicious by the way).

Our room was nice and roomy. There was plenty of room for two queen beds, a chair and ottoman, a desk and chair, and dresser. Bathrooms were big as well with plenty of counter and shelf space. Out the window was *drumroll* a view of Fenway Park.

WHAT TO KNOW:
*About a 5 minute walk to Fenway Park & House of Blues
*Complimentary night turndown service
*Located next to green line transit which will bring you downtown and to South Station
*7 eleven next door for snacks or drinks

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Wife and I stayed at Hotel Commonwealth over the weekend. The main reason we were in town was for a concert at BU which is right up the road. This hotel is in a great location. Besides being down the road from BU it overlooks Fenway and is close to the MFA. I find Boston to be incredibly walk-able and the core neighborhoods such as Beacon Hill and the North End are just on the other side of Boston Common from Commonwealth avenue. If walking is not your thing there is a T stop right outside the front door. Two excellent restaurants occupy the bottom floor of this place and there are shops including a Starbucks and a liquor store that are connected to the hotel. The staff was incredibly kind and the hotel and the room were immaculate. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask if you can overlook Fenway. There is a highway separating the two but there is zero noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBlome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had a great stay at the Hotel Commonwealth! We even received a complimentary upgrade when we arrived. Would stay there again! Clean rooms, comfy bed, very nice shower, and good restaurants. Nick at the front desk, was very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

If you're the kind of person who likes hotels with the latest designer décor and Hans Groehe plumbing, you might be disappointed in the Hotel Commonwealth, but that would be a shame. This hotel is a nice size, has very friendly staff who give great personal attention, and the rooms are extremely clean and decorated with up-to-date (but not designer-chic) décor. The shower had hot water at a consistent temperature, great water pressure, and a head that squirted the water with a delicious pressure like a mini massage. (I'm a shower junkie.) The room was large, well appointed, and the beds comfortable. This isn't a hotel with a big lobby for mixing with friends and hanging out, so if that's important to you, keep looking. The staff were very friendly, and remembered who I was and why I was there each day. (Did you enjoy your trip to the museum today?) The complementary wifi worked as well as one expects from a hotel, meaning it hooked up quickly, worked well, but wasn't quite as fast as what you might have at home.) One of the nicest parts of this hotel is the nearby (attached in same building, indoor walk) Eastern Standard restaurant. I ate dinner there the first night--extremely good and reasonably priced, and had breakfast there two days--again, very good, great service and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_WelliBelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,043 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing