We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Commonwealth
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eliot Hotel(Boston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,630)
Filter reviews
4,630 results
Traveler rating
3,639
739
163
61
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,639
739
163
61
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseastern standardfenway parkisland creek oyster barkenmore squarefenway roomboston universityfront deskred sox gamejunior suitehouse of bluesroom servicegreen linefavorite hotelwonderful hotelsitting areathe entire staffroom was spacious
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,394 - 2,399 of 4,630 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was our first stay at the Hotel Commonwealth, but won't be the last as we travel to Boston once a year. We typically have stayed in the Copley Square area, but decided to stay around Kenmore Square this time. The hotel is in a great location (literally steps from the Kenmore T station) near Fenway Park, Boston University, restaurants, etc. The hotel itself was wonderful. The accommodations were great, as were the restaurants/lounges, etc. What really made the hotel memorable though was the staff. What a helpful, friendly and efficient group of people. The best we've seen!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough positive things about this place and ALL staff we interacted with here-- from the valet to housekeeping, right down to all three adjoining restaurant/lounges.... What a phenomenal weekend! Polished, professional, without the pretentious zeal I had feared.

I had booked a standard king, Fenway room through Jetsetter for my boyfriend's birthday weekend, and when we arrived we found out we'd been mysteriously upgraded to a private suite, jacuzzi and all. As it turns out the "upgraded" room was not on the Fenway side of the hotel, but that quickly became the least of our worries when we saw where we'd be spending our weekend.

Highly, HIGHLY recommend this hotel if you are planning to be in the area!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel is fantastic! Each and every staff was exceptional and made us feel more than welcomed. The room was lovely and spacious. It was so convenient to BU, and downtown. We were able to travel by T all weekend. This is definitely my new go-to hotel while in Boston!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Comm Ave have a nice view - the suites are extremely large.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori Bernstein C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Commonwealth is everything you would expect of a hotel, and more. The location was superb. It's easy to access by T, close to the action in Boston, and very well maintained. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff was extremely accommodating. Staying here meant a worry-free, hassle-free time for us on our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at the Commonwealth Hotel during our first visit to Boston. The staff was very friendly, the room spacious and the location very good. The only problem we encountered was we had to run the hot water for 3 to 5 minutes before it actually got hot enough to shower.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Boston University - the views are better than of Fenway Park.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virgil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews