We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay in Boston” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Boston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed 3 days on vacation; superb boutique hotel with very friendly staff and service; elegant rooms with very comfy beds. Two nice restaurants on the premises and most everything with easy access on subway with station beneath the building. Lots of good restaurants in Back Bay nearby. We happened to be there the last game of the World Series and it's right next to Fenway. Had a blast! Expensive but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TroutFisher14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear TroutFisher14,

We truly appreciate the feedback from your recent vacation. You chose an incredible time to stay at Hotel Commonwealth. The last game of the 2013 World Series proved to be a momentous and historic night for the city of Boston.

Warm Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,343
    655
    137
    55
    24
See reviews for
1,333
1,220
197
881
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,008)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed for four nights with my daughter on a trip up the East Coast. This was the best hotel of the entire holiday. Located in the Back Bay Area overlooking Fenway Park baseball stadium and right next to Kenmore station on the MBTA so easy access to everywhere in Boston (and beyond - we had a great trip out to Salem). Good restaurants attached to the hotel (Eastern Standard and Island Creek Oyster Bar). Excellent staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkH8551EL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear NewHampshireMay,

Thank you very much for the feedback and review. I am thrilled you enjoyed Island Creek Oyster Bar.I would be happy to add a Keurig coffee maker to your profile. This will allow us to have one ready for you in your room upon arrival. Please contact me directly at your earliest convenience.

Best Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
617-532-5055
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is an excellent small hotel with almost all the ammenities. There is no coffee maker if that matters to you, but they give you a coupon for Starbucks next door. The room was large and clean and had excellent work space. All of the staff were fantastic. The hotel is right over the Kenmore MBTA Station (Green Line B,C, and D). If you want to be in Central Boston this is a great spot. The Oyster restaurant in the hotel is excellent from my own experience and I understand the other hotel retaurant is very good too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewHampshireMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear NewHampshireMay,

Thank you for providing feedback about your stay. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We do offer complimentary coffee makers upon request. Please contact me so I can add this note to your profile. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Spent 4 nights at the Commonwealth for city break. Being right next door to Fenway Park during World ( why do they call it that??!!) Series featuring Red Sox not ideal but it certainly created some atmosphere!! Very convenient location for the T and getting into City centre. Found the tourist trolley bus a great way of getting around initially and seeing/understanding the history. Hotel service excellent , all very helpful and obliging. Good breakfasts at Eastern Standard but equally a Starbucks next door is great if you want better coffee and less food!! Not cheap by any means but its an excellent hotel and you get very well looked after.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear blueexile,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Boston.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Location is a couple of blocks from ideal but sill reasonably central. Boston is a very walkable city.

The public areas are nice and the rooms comfortable and spacious only let down by one of those horrible minibars that charge you the second you even touch something. The hotel does not provide complimentary bottled water meaning it's either tap water or a minibar fleecing.

The bar was quite nice. We did not use the restaurant. Wi-fi is complimentary.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Morag V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Morag V,

Thank you for providing us with feedback about your stay. We do have complimentary bottled water available at the front desk. I apologize you were not made aware of this during your stay. We hope you will stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying here during the World Series. Everyone was so helpful. Frankie the Ed doorman,Corie and Nick at the front desk,everyone we came in contact with were so helpful and professional. Help with maps,directions,and restaurant tips. Will without a doubt being staying there for my next Red Sox game!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RickB444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear RickB444,

What an exciting time to be in Kenmore Square. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I had booked two nights in this hotel over two months in advance, however on arrival I was told that they were cancelling my booking and were moving me to another hotel because an existing guest had asked to extend their stay. I can't comment on what the hotel is like to stay in as I didn't make it further than the lobby, however I was extremely disappointed that they were not able to honour my reservation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mdiffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear mdiffey,

I apologize that you were not able to stay with us and experience Hotel Commonwealth first hand. We would truly appreciate a chance to serve you again. If you would like to make another reservation with us, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,949 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing