We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“August no Sox - No college ideal visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“August no Sox - No college ideal visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A relatively quiet time at a beautiful hotel, Staff was friendly the wifi flawless and the "george" system in the rooms was super. Turn down service makes it all feel so special. And the subway is rightoutside the door. Perfect location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCKMBELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear DCKMBELL,

We are vey happy that you were able to enjoy some relaxing time at Hotel Commonwealth. Thank you for your feedback and I will certainly share these comments with our turndown team.

Warm Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,102
    587
    126
    49
    21
See reviews for
1,250
1,110
181
794
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (936)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

From check in to check out there was NOTHING I would change about this hotel; it's wonderful. If I had to think of a con it would be the cost of overnight parking (but hey, that's everywhere in Boston.) The people are beyond friendly, the food was delicious, the room was super clean with a great view of Fenway and lovely decor...basically every aspect of this hotel is top notch. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Lauren L,

We truly appreciate your feedback. The team is excited to welcome you back and ensure you have just as an amazing stay.

Warm Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Wonderful hotel that was convenient to public transportation, shopping and restaurants. Our room was on the 5th floor and had a view of Fenway Park. The room was spacious, clean and very quiet. The staff was very helpful in checking us in early and helping us find our way around the city. Breakfast at Eastern Standard was very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Pam J,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay. It is certainly unique in being able to view Fenway Park in such a spacious guest room. It is great to hear how helpful our team was during your stay.

Best Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I booked this hotel because it was close to Boston University. I was completely satisfied with every aspect of my hotel experience. The front desk team was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was exceptional. The bed was so comfortable and the bedding top notch. The room was spotless and elegant. The quality of all the amenities was 5 star. I would stay here again,since my son goes to college here I will be back. This hotel is worth the stay, pricey but you will not be let down.Outstanding!!! Only thing I ask is put a coffeemaker in the room!!

Room Tip: The rooms are very soundproof and we did not even hear the street noise.We were on the 4th floor ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KAREN Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Karen Z,

We are thrilled your son attends Boston University and that we are your hotel of choice when you visit Boston. If you have a moment to contact me I would be happy to provide a coffee maker for your room on your return visit.

Best Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Wonderful hotel and convenient location to restaurants, Fenway Park and public transportation. Staff was exceptional and very helpful with recommendations regarding restaurants and transportation. Rooms were large and well-appointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Sally S,

Thank you for your review. Our team is thrilled you enjoyed all aspects of the Hotel Commonwealth experience.

Warm Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

this is the second year in a row , staying at the Commonwealth, we love this hotel,
great location, outstanding service , good value for your money and the beds are SO comfortable . Whether you enjoying dining at the Eastern Standard or Island Creek Oyster , your dining experience will be outstanding- We enjoyed going to Red Sox game and the proximity of this hotel is the best . Highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobandNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear BobandNic,

Welcome Back. Thank you for choosing us again. We are very fortunate to have Eastern Standard and Island Creek Oyster Bar as part of our culinary offering. We hope to have you back for a third year in a row.

Best Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

It was a nice hotel. We booked it for its proximity to Fenway. Our room looked over at the Green Monster and made it convenient for those in our party to catch a game. Very expensive hotel in downtown Boston. Room and bathroom were clean, but no coffeemaker in room and couldn't use the fridge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Brig_1_g,

I am glad you liked the proximity to Fenway Park and convenient location of Hotel Commonwealth. My apologies we did not communicate to you that we offer complimentary coffee makers. If you have a moment to contact me, I would love to add this preference to your profile so we can have it ready and waiting for you upon your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#1 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 4,007 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,075 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#4 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#13 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#18 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing