We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Trip to Boston”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

First Trip to Boston to see the RedSox play. Co-worker recommended Hotel Commonwealth. Room looked right out over the ball park. Accommodations were pristine, comfortable, cozy and quiet. All staff were professional, friendly & extremely helpful. Not once were we ignored nor made to feel uncomfortable for any reason. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you are a RedSox fan, choose a room that looks out on the ball park. The room we had on the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StringerMorgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear StringerMorgan M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I hope the Red Sox were able to get a win for you! We appreciate your reccomendation and hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,500 - 2,506 of 4,491 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed too nites at beginning and end of week at cape cod. Valet parking was expensive at 40$. There is no self park. Check in was smooth, and we were allowed early check in. Rooms are large and are different rates as the rooms facing Fenway park are more expensive. Beds were luxurious and bathe were marble. Very quiet. The hotel has printed running maps in each room. Two good restaurants, eastern standard which serves three meals, and island house oyster bar is not to be missed.
Check out is a
Breeze.
Fenway is a five-minute walk.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the Fenway rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lakemartindoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear lakemartindoc,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay. We are very fortunate to have two great restaurants here on property. We hope to see you again for a Red Sox game.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Arrived early and our room was not ready, but no worries, spent the day at Quincy Market and they sent me a text as soon as our room was ready! Received an upgrade to the Junior Suite, what a pleasant surprise. I absolutely loved the hotel and will be telling everyone that comes to a Game or just Boston in general to stay at this hotel. The service was spectacular and I have absolutely nothing to say negative, which is rare in your industry. I hope to come back again. Loved the special little touches such as the lemon water and the bellhops always saying good morning and opening the door for us. I work in a service related industry and believe that the customter is King and you should ALWAYS treat the customer the way that you would want to be treated. THANKS AGAIN

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbedinvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear robbedinvegas,

Thank you very much for the kind words about your stay. The lemon water has been a hit! Especially when it is 90 degrees outside. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel was outstanding. The concerge helped us with everything from tours of Fenway to restaurants to a private driver.
The room and service were outstand-including sending someone up at midnight!
A gem of a hotel--would stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floribel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear floribel1,

Thank you very much for posting a review. I am thrilled our concierge was able to assist you. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Despite being right on a busy street, the rooms were quiet as well as well appointed. The staff was pleasant and professional. The restaurant and oyster bar were top notch. Would have given this a 5 star--only there was minimal work out facility and no pool, which in the heat of the summer would be wonderful. Too bad you can't go to the roof!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpmdfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear CPMDFM,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. I apologize that our fitness center was not up to your expectations. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I won a raffle prize that was a gift card for a one night stay at the Hotel Commonwealth, not sure of when to use it until we scored a couple of tickets to a Red Sox Yankees game. The hotel is fabulous, rooms are spacious and wonderfully decorated. The service was terrific and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Kenmore Square are as quiet as those facing Fenway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMalaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear SMalaab,

Sounds like a great weekend. I hope the Red Sox were able to win for you. We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I were coming to Boston from New York to go to a baseball game at Fenway Park and needed to stay at a nearby hotel. After checking the internet we settled on the Hotel Commonwealth. It turned out to be the best surprise. It was not only conveniently located to Fenway Park,but it is convenient to other areas of the city as well.. Further, it is a beautifully appointed hotel with wonderful service and one of the best restaurants in Boston. It had everything we could have wanted and more. When we go to Boston next time for any reason, we will certainly stay there again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Sandra K,

I am thrilled that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us along with our location. Kenmore square is a great place to be, especially during the Red Sox season. We look forward to seeing both of you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,386 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,341 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,245 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 84 in Boston
4,936 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $195 - $680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing