We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent staff, comfortable rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, comfortable rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I and our 9-month-old baby stayed for nearly a week at the Commonwealth while he was in town for a conference. I enjoyed the room very much. It was scrupulously clean, which I appreciated since our little guy gets into every little nook and cranny. The staff set up a pack and play crib for us and even provided a nice little set of Johnson & Johnson set that included lotion, tear-free soap, powder, and diaper cream. I thought that was a nice little touch. The front desk staff even gave my son a little rubber ducky to play with as we were headed out one morning.

The entertainment center included a DVD player that was simple to use to put the baby's video on. The bed was very comfortable and the large desk provided ample space for two separate work areas. I moved some of the furniture to keep the little guy out of the outlets and away from sharp corners or things that he shouldn't disturb and I kept having to lock the waste baskets in the bathroom so they wouldn't get turned over. We would return from a day of sightseeing to find everything back in its original place and I would move everything again. The bathroom was very large and, again, very clean. The tub was a bit slippery, but there was a rubber mat provided so we used it when giving the baby a bath.

I utilized the front desk staff's knowledge of the area on a number of occasions. They were helpful, especially when the subway line was out of commission one morning and I had to find alternate transportation. The valet service was very prompt. The instructions that are given state to allow 20 minutes for your vehicle to be brought around, but it never took more than five minutes. On one occasion, housekeeping forgot to place fresh towels in our room, but a quick call to the front desk was all it took to have some brought up along with a profuse apology.

Overall I thought the room was nicely laid out and large enough not to feel cramped when spending the day in with a restless toddler, and even with the crib taking up some extra space. It was by far the cleanest and best maintained hotel I've ever stayed in, and the staff was excellent. We had breakfast at Eastern Standard one morning and the quality of the food was very high and they were accommodating of special requests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LacyPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear LacyPhillips,

Thank you very much for your review and comments on our staff and rooms. Our housekeeping team does a wonderful job maintaining the hotel. I am thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,208
    619
    133
    51
    23
See reviews for
1,290
1,153
184
842
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (974)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is in a great location right around the corner from Fenway and just a few steps from the T. The staff is very helpful and goes above and beyond even before you arrive. They had strawberries and champagne waiting on us upon arrival for our anniversary. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Bill G,

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope we were able to make your anniversary unique and memorable. We hope to see you again next year.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

From the moment of arrival the Commonwealth is a spectacular experience! Our second stay here and we will be back again next week. My wife won't stay anywhere else. I was in hotel management for 15 years and consider it a privilege to enjoy the warm staff with beautiful rooms in a great location. Thanks again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMJftlaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear DMJftlaud,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay and your kind words about our staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Close to Fenway and the T which is very convenient. The two restaurants on site are both excellent. The rooms are clean and very quiet with well-appointed bathrooms. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Suites with a curtain for a "divider" are ideal if you want to separate the sleeping area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank springer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear springer01,

Thank you very much for providing us with feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very fortunate to have two great restaurants attached to the hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

While looking for somewhere to stay in Boston, this hotel caught my eye as the number one hotel in Boston, then when I saw it's proximity to Fenway I thought "Sold"! As we had tickets to a couple of Sox games and it was something we were really looking forward to, I thought the very expensive rates would be worth it. Yes, location to Fenway is superb and the view overlooking the ballpark are unbeatable. Other than that it is a nice hotel with a couple of great restaurants underneath, but Number One? The standard of our Fenway Room overlooking the stadium was pretty ordinary, but the real problem was the very loud noise coming from the vent. We thought it was the air conditioning and turned it off, but no. It was so loud I had to use earplugs and the bed was vibrating. At 12:30am I called the front desk who very kindly relocated us to another room facing the Square. Thank goodness it was much quieter and we stayed there for the remainder of our 4 day stay. Unfortunately we also had housekeeping knock on our door at 8:30am the next morning waking us up after our disturbed night, then the following night another knock on the door at 10:30pm waking us up again for a sofa bed turndown that we had not requested, wrong room apparently?

The staff from the Concierge to the front desk to room service are fantastic, 5 stars for sure! In my opinion though, the hotel itself is OK but certainly not worth $450 a night which is what we paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jc2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear jc2626,

Thank you very much for your feedback and positive remarks about our service. I hope you had a great time at the Red Sox game. I do however apologize about the opportunities you experienced while you were here. I can assure you that the issues have been addressed. I would love to discuss your stay further. Please contact me at your earliest convenience. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Pa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Hotel Commonwealth is first class - and a gorgeous setting for wedding photos. The staff is wonderful, we have been staying here for 10 years, and they have never disappointed us!
The rooms are beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagNoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear MagNoodles,

Thank you very much for your continued loyalty. I am thrilled you enjoyed the wedding. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was our first time traveling to Boston and we were very happy with our choice of hotels. My husband was working and I tagged along to check out Boston. This hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The bed was comfy and we slept very well. I only made it to the gym once during this 5 day trip but it was nice and clean with plenty of equipment to get your sweat on. The T was right next to the hotel which made getting around and sightseeing easy and enjoyable. We ate at the restaurant on site and the food was good but our favorite food in Boston was in the North Side at an Italian restaurant with dessert at Mikes Pastry. We had drinks at the hotel bar one evening and they were very good. The staff in the bar were very attentive and the drinks were yummy. (Try the Wild Redhead - It had clove in it and was different and tasty) We will definitely stay here again, and next time I want to tour Fenway which is just a quick walk from this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellie7713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Shellie7713,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your first trip to Boston. We hope it will not be your last. The North End is certainly a must when you visit Boston. I’m thrilled you were able to enjoy Hawthorne as well. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,160 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,261 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#4 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#11 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing