We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Business Trip to Boston”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“Quick Business Trip to Boston”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was graced with the opportunity to stay at the Hotel Commonwealth as part of a very quick trip to Boston for business. It was also my first time to Boston. The Hotel Commonwealth is wonderful. The accommodations are beautiful, the rooms extremely clean and comfortable. The location is excellent with easy access to transit, great dining, shopping, and of course excellent access to Fenway and business areas. I was especially delighted that the staff was extraordinary. They were very kind, responsive, made sure that my stay was perfect. I was surprised that even with short interaction they were able to address me by name. I felt very welcomed as a guest. The level of customer service provided was outstanding and an excellent reflection of the community. I will return and would highly recommend this establishment to any vistor to the area, for business or vacation. It was an exceptional experience!

Room Tip: My room was on the 5th floor and looked over Fenway Park, I felt very comfortable, it was extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear J W,

Thank you very much for your positive review about your stay. I am elated to hear that you enjoyed your room, along with our level of service. We are very happy to hear that you felt so welcome while you were staying with us. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,506
    697
    152
    57
    25
See reviews for
1,412
1,285
205
932
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,058)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were thrilled with our stay. Accommodations were beautiful, spotless, and the be was wonderful. We had a fender-bender arriving in Boston, and the staff was very kind to send our room a welcome snack. It's so refreshing to stay in a hotel where the staff enjoys their job!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brholbritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear brholbritt,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Commonwealth. I am thrilled you enjoyed our level of service. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel was luxurious and nicely furnished. The room was Warm and classy and the view was nice. In-room breakfast was delicious though it arrived a few minutes later than it had promised. The staff at the front desk was friendly and provided us with detailed information about getting around in Boston. The bellboy could be more attentive - he sometimes forgot to open the door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roncr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Roncr7,

Thank you very much for your review. I apologize your room service arrived later than promised. I will be sure to pass this on to our restaurant management.

Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Rooms beautiful, service wonderful (staff could not have done more - friendly and helpful), located just around the corner from Fenway Park and right next to a major bus and subway line. Easy walk to city centre. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyC992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear MikeyC992,

Thank you for your kind words about our staff and location. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed at the Commonwealth Hotel for business for just 2 nights - far too short! After NY city hotels it was a delight! Friendly staff greeted me, the room was absolutely gorgeous - quiet, clean and room to work and relax. The gym was well equipped, the room service food was excellent and the advice on where to go to spend what little free time I had, was very good. I had a lovely meal next door at the Island Bay Oyster Bar - which the hotel staff booked for me. I would come and stay here again in a heartbeat, and will recommend it to family, friends and business colleagues. The location was also excellent - its proximity to both the airport and the financial district.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Alison M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Hotel Commonwealth for 5 days. The room was clean and roomy. Nice and quiet. Loved being right next door to the T. And having two great restaurants at the hotel is a definite plus. We ate at Eastern standard every day and were never disappointed. We liked it way better than Island Creek where we waited for 25 minutes with a reservation. (That always puts me in a foul mood). Jane and the staff at the front desk are the best you'll ever find! The guys at the front door are really nice - welcoming us back each and every time.

The reason we are not giving a 5 star rating is mostly because of the lack of amenities in comparison to executive suites in other major cities. You would think that if you pay $459 a night (plus taxes!) you could have coffee available in he hotel. They have water at the front desk, which is nice, but thats about all you'll find. We would go to McDonald's or 7-11 each morning. Not the end if he world but an inconvenience, for sure. Most luxury hotels include breakfast for that price! The hotel will provide a Keurig at your request. I think management needs to pay attention to all the times customers are writing about this; should be easy to fix.

Also, we kept losing the computer connection. Someone came to the room with an Ethernet cable - thinking it was the wireless connection. It wasn't. It happened with the direct connection as well.

The workout room was adequate.

You will enjoy your stay at Hotel Commonwealth.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iliketotravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear iliketotravel123,

Thank you very much for providing us with feedback. I am thrilled you enjoyed your room and our level of service at the front desk. Thank you for your feedback about the internet connection. I can assure you that this issue is being taken care of. We hope to be able to serve you again soon.

Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Superior staff and lodging. Shop for the best rate, then book it. You will not be disappointed. We came up for a weekend Red Sox series and the staff put us in a beautiful room overlooking Fenway Park. My new favorite in Boston!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk6460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Dirk6460,

Thank you for your kind review. I hope the Red Sox were able to win the game while you were at Fenway! We hope to see you for another game soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,324 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,295 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,778 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelPower, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing