We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boston Class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Boston Class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

This staff of this hotel represent the wonderful spirit of Boston extremely well. Our trip to Boston was absolutely amazing due in part to their exuberance. The hotel is nice, but remember its people that make the difference. They are the best here. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, anytime!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank onetripperyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,377
    666
    138
    57
    24
See reviews for
1,353
1,236
199
887
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,016)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the Commonwealth with our <1-year old baby. Hence we were very happy to get all the support we could think of, including having a crib, high chair, fridge and microwave oven in our room. Great room and super-friendly staff providing excellent service!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nils S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed here again in May. The hotel staff are excellent and always try to help. This hotel is consistently good and while it doesn't have the glitz of some other Boston hotels - eg small foyer and I don't think there is a swimming pool, it more than makes up for this with charm and friendliness.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCFB583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great location across from T Station and short walk to Fenway and museums. Cordial and attentive doormen who always welcomed us back, gave great directions ,and quick car valet service. Friendly, helpful front desk with appreciated upgrade. Large clean, quiet room even on second floor overlooking busy Commonwealth Ave. We will certainly stay here again, as it feels like our home base in Boston. Many thanks to all for giving us a lovely stay in your beautiful city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vangogh1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed three nights at the Hotel Commonwealth and had a very positive experience. It's nicely decorated. Very clean. Super fast elevators. Great restaurants too. Ate one night at Eastern Standard and another night at Island Creek Oyster Bar. Worked out great because it was raining a lot so it was very convenient. But more importantly, the food, ambience and service were excellent. It's located at Kenmore Square so it's very convenient to go to BU, Newbury and Boylston Street, and Fenway Park. I only wish the entrance were a little more welcoming. You enter the double doors to a staircase to take you to the lobby and check-in. Yes, there's a single elevator buried off to the side which helps if you're schlepping luggage, but it would be nicer if you could enter directly into the lobby of the hotel. I recommend the Hotel Commonwealth.

Room Tip: Rooms facing front give you a view of the iconic CITGO sign and Kenmore Square. View from the back i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiamiShap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

For my son's 10th birthday, I took him on his "dream" trip to Fenway Park. We stayed in one the Hotel Commonwealth Fenway Park rooms with views directly at the field. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, the service and experience was outstanding - including a baseball-themed birthday gift basket for my son. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic - a two minute walk from Fenway, easy access to great shops and restaurants in the beautiful Back Bay area, and the "T" just steps from the front door. I'd encourage anyone, particularly baseball fans like us, to give strong consideration to the Hotel Commonwealth.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Mike M,

I hope your son’s 10th birthday was one to remember. What better way to celebrate than with a trip to Fenway Park. We hope to see you again soon, possibly for his 11th birthday.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth 5/1-5/5/2013. After reading all of the positive reviews I called the hotel to book the room mentioning that we were going for our anniversary. They responded by upgrading us to a junior suite and, after checking in and strolling around for a few minutes, we returned to the room to find an iced bottle of bubbly and two glasses waiting for us. This shows the type of extra care and attention the staff gives to their guests.

The hotel is located in a convenient location with a subway station below it that provides easy access to all of Boston. We used the subway and our legs to reach all of the places we could squeeze into our short stay and had a great time. Although the hotel is located on a busy street with a freeway and Fenway Park on the other side, the room was totally quiet. They have done a great job of restoring and soundproofing the property.

There are three bar/restaurants on the property. The food and service at Eastern Standard was great. It is a very popular restaurant so reservations for dinner are needed. We finished every evening with cognac at the Hawthorne. The Hawthorne is located on the lower level of the hotel behind a plain white door that only has "500-A" on it, which opens to great drinking experience. Jackson Cannon, the owner and Bar Director of the Hawthorne, paid special attention, recommending new cognacs and even gave us two of their cognac glasses on our last night. Not sure about what food they serve here, but Jackson served us some of their in-house made macaroons which were a wonderful touch.
Overall, one of the best hotel stays we have ever had. Would highly recommend as the #1 place to stay in Boston.

Room Tip: Call and talk to the staff to be sure you get the room you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Melissa r,

We really appreciate your kind review about our hotel and restaurants. I really hope we were able to make your anniversary visit extra special. Jackson does a great job at the Hawthorne and we are very fortunate to have him as part of the team. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,045 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing