We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Commonwealth
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eliot Hotel(Boston)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Reviews (4,628)
    Filter reviews
    4,628 results
    Traveler rating
    3,638
    738
    163
    61
    28
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    3,638
    738
    163
    61
    28
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewseastern standardfenway parkisland creek oyster barkenmore squarefenway roomboston universityfront deskred sox gamejunior suitehouse of bluesroom servicegreen linefavorite hotelwonderful hotelsitting areathe entire staffroom was spacious
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    2,756 - 2,761 of 4,628 reviews
    Reviewed May 10, 2013

    My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth 5/1-5/5/2013. After reading all of the positive reviews I called the hotel to book the room mentioning that we were going for our anniversary. They responded by upgrading us to a junior suite and, after checking in and strolling around for a few minutes, we returned to the room to find an iced bottle of bubbly and two glasses waiting for us. This shows the type of extra care and attention the staff gives to their guests.

    The hotel is located in a convenient location with a subway station below it that provides easy access to all of Boston. We used the subway and our legs to reach all of the places we could squeeze into our short stay and had a great time. Although the hotel is located on a busy street with a freeway and Fenway Park on the other side, the room was totally quiet. They have done a great job of restoring and soundproofing the property.

    There are three bar/restaurants on the property. The food and service at Eastern Standard was great. It is a very popular restaurant so reservations for dinner are needed. We finished every evening with cognac at the Hawthorne. The Hawthorne is located on the lower level of the hotel behind a plain white door that only has "500-A" on it, which opens to great drinking experience. Jackson Cannon, the owner and Bar Director of the Hawthorne, paid special attention, recommending new cognacs and even gave us two of their cognac glasses on our last night. Not sure about what food they serve here, but Jackson served us some of their in-house made macaroons which were a wonderful touch.
    Overall, one of the best hotel stays we have ever had. Would highly recommend as the #1 place to stay in Boston.

    Room Tip: Call and talk to the staff to be sure you get the room you want
    • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank melissa r
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

    Dear Melissa r,

    We really appreciate your kind review about our hotel and restaurants. I really hope we were able to make your anniversary visit extra special. Jackson does a great job at the Hawthorne and we are very fortunate to have him as part of the team. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again.

    Warm regards,

    Shane McWeeny
    Director of Operations
    Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

    We spent five unforgettable nights at this hotel. The room was large and immaculate. The room service offered restaurant quality food and the service was beyond any expectation. I wish I could stay there all the time...

    • Stayed: December 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank mnt199
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

    Dear mnt199,

    I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your five night stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

    Best,

    Shane McWeeny
    Director of Operations
    Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 9, 2013

    I was greeted at the door by a friendly door man who introduced himself and helped me with my luggage. Then reception was very customer friendly too. Room was superb. Then breakfast, once again very friendly and customer oriented. Very tasty breakfast. Check out was a breeze with the receipt emailed to me directly so I didnt have to carry that in my luggage.
    Thanks again, much looking forward to my next stay with you!

    • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank paulien m
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

    Dear Paulien m,

    Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to your next stay.

    Best,

    Shane McWeeny
    Director of Operations
    Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 9, 2013

    As others have said this is a fantastic hotel, definitely worth the high ratings. First, let me comment that when I made the reservations I requested a pet-free room, as the hotel is pet-friendly. My allergies have given me problems in the past so I'm always weary of pet-friendly hotels. Upon check-in I asked to verify that we had a pet-free room and the staff informed me that the room had been thoroughly steam cleaned to accommodate my request. This cleaning was evident as soon as we entered the room, which was completely immaculate and my allergies gave me no issues. It's nice to see a hotel take a request seriously and strive to keep their guests comfortable.

    We stayed one night in a Kenmore room, which was quite large for a city hotel. No road noise, beds were very comfortable and had feather pillows. Bathroom was large and well appointed. Staff was friendly and attentive and we used the valet without any problems. We ate a late dinner and breakfast at the Eastern Standard and the food and drinks were very good (and we're foodies). There's also subway stop right outside the hotel, which is quite convenient. Overall a great hotel, very clean, well maintained, great staff, we'll definitely return.

    • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jeff128
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

    Dear Jeff128,

    Thank you for your kind review. It is our pleasure to take care of guest requests and I am happy that the room did not give your allergies any issues. Kenmore is a great location for exploring the city. We look forward to seeing you again.

    Warm regards,

    Shane McWeeny
    Director of Operations
    Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 8, 2013

    Great hotel! Room was large, clean and fresh. (my spouse is very picky about cleanliness, and loved it!) Very friendly staff. All were warm and accomodating. A complimentary Keurig coffee-maker was a special treat. Great view of Fenway Park. Even though we were a block from the highway, the room was amazingly quiet! Had an excellent meal at Eastern Standard Restaurant, directly off the hotel lobby. Subway station right outside the door, very convenient. Very easy to get to the Mass Pike.

    Room Tip: Even though we were next to the elevator, room was VERY quiet. Any room will do!
    • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank CH-Glastonbury-CT
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

    Dear SomewhatHappy…,

    It is great to hear that the cleanliness of our hotel was up to your spouse’s standards and that you enjoyed so many other aspects of your stay. Eastern Standard is fantastic restaurant, I am thrilled you were able to dine there.

    Best,

    Shane McWeeny
    Director of Operations
    Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews