We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spacious rooms, nice amenities, great hotel restaurant”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

though i don't like traditional decor, eg gilded frames and brocade everywhere, the giant rooms, wonderful service, spacious bathrooms (though in need of updating) made this a wonderful place to stay. truly enjoyed two meals at the adjoining oyster bar restaurant. would urge hotel to consider keeping coffee/tea makers in rooms and not forcing guests to ask for them

Room Tip: rooms facing back have a pretty ugly view but are quieter than street side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slwjosh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear slwjosh123,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our rooms, service, and Food and Beverage outlets. We are very fortunate to have two fantastic restaurants on property. We do offer complimentary Keurig Coffee makers to our guests upon request. Please contact me at your convenience so I can add this note to your profile.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,714 - 2,720 of 4,491 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

We came to Boston to have our daughter view college campuses. It was fantastic. The location was perfect - right on the green line for the T, which enabled us to easily access all the schools we wanted to see using mass transit.

Everyone was *so* nice and *so* helpful. The valets who parked the car (and remained cheerful even in the downpour of sleet), the concierge who helped out because the valets were busy, the doormen who stopped to pat our dog and give him treats.

The room was lovely, comfortable and clean. We were provided a roll-out bed at no additional charge. The food from room service was great. The restaurant next door (Eastern Standard) was relaxing, with attentive and professional service.

Normally when we go to Boston we stay with friends but in the future we will stay at the Commonwealth!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bodkinvanhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear bodkinvanhorn,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Boston is a great place to go to college, and I am thrilled that you enjoyed our location while visiting the local colleges. We look forward to seeing you and your family for years to come.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed here during the massive snow storm in January and I couldn't have asked for a better place to be snowed in. I was impressed with the staff and the decor the moment I stepped out of my cab. The rooms are spacious and well designed. Even with the chaos that the snow storm brought, everyone took their time out to greet and help with any questions. The French Toast in the restaurant is the best I've ever had.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derek t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear derek t,

Although the weather was not the best, I am happy to hear that you were still able to enjoy your stay. We hope to see you again soon, and we will do our best to keep the snow away.

All the best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is truly special. From the moment we arrived in our car, welcomed with big smiles from the valet crew, to our departure a day later, our experience couldn't have been better. The staff is welcoming and very courteous, the room beautifully decorated and quiet, the bedding crisp and cozy. The central location is also a major plus for the Hotel Commonwealth. We could walk to Symphony Hall, to shopping on Newbury Street and to many outstanding restaurants.
Amazing hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanary8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Sanary8,

Thank you for taking the time for writing a review. We appreciate your kind words about your stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the service of our entire staff. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Overall a great place to stay for business and pleasure. I will definitely make my way back to this hotel when staying in Boston. The hotel highly exceeded our expectations. Beds were super comfy. The only downfall is the mini bar -- the staff did not replenish my water. I frequently drink water, and I like when I go to hotels that have 2 bottles available to purchase in the room -- and then replenish as well. This would have made my trip just that much better...however, really no complaints. Great place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desiree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Desiree M,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. I am glad to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations. I do apologize that your mini bar was not replenished during you stay with us. This has been addressed with our housekeeping department. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was our second stay at the Hotel Commonwealth. We were thirlled it was still as fabulous as we remembered. The front desk staff went out of their way to make sure we had all the information we needed about Boston. Jeff Ney was extremely helpful! The rooms were spacious and clean, so close to the "T" and several restaurants. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattiNYElmhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear PattiNYElmhurst,

I hope you enjoyed your Boston St. Patrick’s day weekend. Thank you taking the time to provide us with feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just had a night away from the kids and picked the Hotel Commonwealth. We had stayed there before and again were blown away by the kindness and warmth of the staff. Right at dropping of the car, walking in and checking in ~ the staff is curtious, but personable and relatable. The room was wonderful, looking out over Kenmore square. Clean and nicely decorated. Both restaurants, Eastern Standard and Island Creek are hip and delicious - just make sure you make a reservation. We walked down to Newbury Street in 10 mInutes but the T station is right underneath the hotel if that is what you prefer. Overall, I recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berkeleyCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear berkeleyCA,

I am thrilled to hear that you had another wonderful stay here at The Hotel Commonwealth. Consistency in service is very important to us. We are very fortunate to be in such a great location of Boston and have fantastic food and beverage outlets attached to the hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,386 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,341 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,242 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 84 in Boston
4,936 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $195 - $680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing