We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location location location!”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Excellent place to stay in Boston. The entire staff were friendly, courteous, and helpful in all matters. From the time we pulled up in front of the hotel until the time we left, the staff was excellent! The French toast breakfast was amazingly delicious. The view of Fenway Park was beautiful. Great place to stay when in Bean Town. Would definitely recommend to all.

Room Tip: If you are a baseball fan, get a room with a view of Fenway. If not a baseball fan, the view of Bost...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoonerFan747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Doug K,

Consistency in service is very important to us and we thank you for taking note of it. We want our guests to feel relaxed from the moment they pull up. We hope you will return this summer while the Red Sox are in season.

Best,

Shane Mcweeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,466)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Commonwealth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,700 - 2,706 of 4,466 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Hotel Commonwelth truly exceeded my expectations! From the moment you enter there's just a sense of serenity that overcomes you! The staff is welcoming and helpful, the air smells of roses (which was amazing because I didn't see any flowers), and the hotel feels like an elegant home. Upon checking in and proceeding to my room I was pleasantly surprised by the size of my standard room it was huge! There were 7 windows overlooking downtown and the furnishings were beautiful and comfortable. Not only did they look like the best of the best they truly were. Finally, the two most important aspects of a hotel stay are cleanliness and quiet. The Hotel Commonwealth was by far the cleanest hotel room I have ever stayed in and for a city room there was absolutely no city noise! I absolutely loved my stay!! Can't way to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Kimberly G,

It is always wonderful to hear about an experience that exceeded expectations from start to finish. Our housekeeping and engineering teams do a great job on the upkeep of our property and I am thrilled that you appreciated it. We also can not wait for you to come back!

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I had booked the Kenmore room for my stay on 3/19/13 and when I arrived I was instantly upgraded to the Fenway double queen without even asking. After receiving my room keys I inquired about how far away the hospital I was going to the next morning was and they instantly offered to arrange a complimentary private car (which was an Escallade) to take me in the morning so I wouldn't have to drive in the snow storm. I graciously accepted. The room was on the top floor and the view was the center of Fenway Park. The room was spotless and beautiful. The beds were very comfortable. The entire staff from the front desk to the valet, door men, chauffeur, and house keeping staff were very friendly and professional. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hope G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Hope G,

I am happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary house car. It certainly makes travelling easier, especially in a snow storm. It is great to hear that all of our staff presented the same friendly and professional attitude. We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I really can't say enough about The Hotel Commonwealth!!! My Husband and I have stayed there before because we go to a show at The House of Blues every year. The entire staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. The hotel is immaculate!!! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will happily return again soon. <3

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian6937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear brian6937,

Thank you for yet another kind review. We are thrilled that you return every year to see a show at the House of Blues. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stopped here on Saturday night for drinks and light bites with friends. I was excited to see that they had La Quercia cured meats on the menu, because I a) love their prosciutto & speck, & b) love the family that makes them (and they're from IOWA!). When the hostess heard I knew the family, she sent over a plate of their meats for us to nibble on with our drinks, on the house. Had several other small plates, and each was very well-prepared. Drinks and food are a bit on the pricey side, but not unreasonable given the setting. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a great hotel in Kenmore Square. Two excellent restaurants and just feet from the Boston transit system. A short walk to Fenway Park. The service at the hotel, as well as the quality of the rooms is among the best in Boston.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear GREG4723,

I am happy that you enjoyed the service here at the Hotel Commonwealth. We believe friendly and personalized service is what sets us apart. We hope you will stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a great stay at Hotel Commonwealth and we will definitely visit again. The people were so helpful and nice, the hotel was clean, and the beds were comfortable. Everything about our stay was fun and easy (and we were travelling with kids). Totally recommend it!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VtSmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear VtSmiths,

Thank you for providing us with feedback, we appreciate your kind review. We look forward to serving you again.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,352 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,319 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 84 in Boston
4,866 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $196 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing