We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful in every way!”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful in every way!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I visited Hotel Commonwealth in Boston last October. Our stay there, enhanced our trip in so many ways. The staff always so helpful and cheery enabled us to feel really cared for while staying here. The room was just lovely. Exceptionally clean every day (we stayed a week). After a busy day in the city, returning to The Hotel Commonwealth felt like a relief, a coming home feeling. The room was exceptionally large, with a large bath room as well. Everything one would need, hair dryer, ironing board/iron, plush bath robes. Even a beautiful wooden handled umbrella a thoughtful touch. Koreig coffee maker in room also nice touch, which was restocked every day. The bed and pillows very comfortable and nice linens gave us a needed rest every night. Chocolate on pillows and linen turn down every night was lovely. I was most impressed with the General Manager, who took a personal interest in his guests. We ran into him one day as we were exciting the hotel. He inquired about our stay. We told him we were on the way to Cape Cod for a couple of days and would return to the hotel to finish our stay in Boston. He took the time to stop and make sure we had the name of a wonderful hotel on the cape, gave us his business card with that general managers name and called ahead for us to tell them he personally referred us. Now that is service! And by the way, his referral was just perfect and due to his help, we had another great stay on the cape. The Hotel Commonwealth stored our extra luggage while we were gone and when we returned to finish our stay they had our new room all ready, stocked with the things we liked. It was wonderful. A mention about the location. Our room literally over looked Fenway Park. What fun! The rooms are quiet. Right next door just feet away is the subway entrance which helped us to safely and quickly get in and out of the city. The neighborhood is lovely for walking as well. If you don't want to dine or take the time for breakfast at the hotel, McD's is literally 3 doors down. I have tried to detail as much as I can so the next time in Boston you will choose this wonderful hotel, as I will as well! Thank you trip advisor for leading me to this fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Marilyn M,

Thank you for all of your kind words about your experience at Hotel Commonwealth. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the service and overall comfort of our hotel. It is great to hear that our General Manager was able to enhance your stay on Cape Cod as well. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,412
    681
    140
    57
    24
See reviews for
1,373
1,248
200
900
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,027)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Every single employee we encountered was both professional and genuinely nice. The rooms are large and comfortable, and the free wifi is the sort of amenity that really matters. The location (two steps from the Kenmore stop on the green line) is convenient and the restaurant (Eastern Standard) is reasonable and good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abcpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear abcpoet,

Thank you very much for your feedback. At the Hotel Commonwealth, we pride ourselves on the personalized service we are able to provide. I am glad that you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms and amenities. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a Fenway room for 2 nights with a rollaway bed for one of our children. The room was spacious even for 4 of us. It was a beautiful hotel and the bed and breakfast package allowed us $50 a day for breakfast in the restaurant downstairs, which was delicious and very filling.

Room Tip: If you have children and don't mind sharing a room with them, this hotel has large rooms and wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Kerry M,

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I am thrilled you enjoyed the Bed and Breakfast package and the food at Eastern Standard. We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The staff was incredibly helpful and my room was in terrific condition. The bar in the hotel, The Hawthorne, is also excellent. I also like the free Wi-fi, and the location in the heart of Kenmore Square is convenient for getting around Boston.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jongarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear jongarsh,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff and your room; two necessities when visiting a hotel. I hope you enjoyed the rest that Boston has to offer and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,

Shane Mcweeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is exceptionally clean and luxurious. The rooms even smelled great! It is centrally located in Boston and that was helpful. This hotel offers complimentary wifi which is rare, i find many hotel chains of lesser luxury charging for the service. I was unfortunately unable to enjoy the other amenities they had to offer but found my stay very restful and enjoyable. The Commonwealth is beautiful to be in.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jonathankyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Jonathankyou,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We hope you will be able to return in the future to enjoy some of our other amenities.

Kind regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcott, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I can't say enough about the quality of this hotel and the friendliness of their staff. My wife and I traveled from upstate New York over a recent weekend, to visit our daughter in Boston. We have stayed here in the past and always had an excellant experience but this stay was even more memorable. Upon arrival the door and valet staff greeted me warmly as they recognized me from our previous stay. Upon checking in we recieved a complimentary upgrade and our room was beautiful. Our whole stay was made enjoyable by the whole staff. I highly reccommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Dave M,

We truly appreciate your kind remarks, and thank you for writing a review. I am happy that the Hotel Commonwealth has been able to provide such a warm and welcoming experience time and again. Consistency in guest service is definitely an important aspect in hospitality. We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Director Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The location of this hotel is great! It is right next to Fenway Park, Kenmore Square and a Subway stop so you have easy access to anywhere in the city! As soon as we pulled up in our car Nick was there to assist us with our luggage. He was very friendly and accommodating. We saw him later on in the day and he gave us a suggested restaurant in the North End and even got the phone number for us. The room was clean, great view of Kenmore Square and the infamous Citgo Sign, large enough for 4 women to sleep comfortably with a queen bed and a pull out sofa. If you are looking for a breakfast place I suggest the Trident Cafe/Bookstore on Newbury Street. It is only about a mile away from the hotel, has great food and it is right in the midst of a bookstore... loved the atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Monica1128,

We are fortunate to be situated in such a wonderful area of Boston. There is a lot going on in this area and a I am happy to hear you were able to take advantage of it. Thank you for your comments on Nick, he is great to have here at the hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Director of Operations
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,161 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing