We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, and great staff”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were on an East Coast college campus trip and while in Boston stayed at Hotel Commonwealth for a night. We found the location very convenient, the accommodations very nice, and what really stood out was the friendly, helpful staff. Also, there is a great restaurant, Island Creek Oyster Bar, on premise!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9Deborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear 9Deborah,

Thank you very much for providing us with feedback. I am thrilled you enjoyed our location and our staff. We love hearing compliments like that. I hope you enjoyed the colleges on the east coast. We hope to see you in the future.

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,858 - 2,864 of 4,580 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

The view of Fenway was fantastic, and the room was beautifully appointed. If you are a female business traveler, this property will make you feel safe and well cared for. Full size hair drier, quality toiletries and if you need your shoes cared for, leave them in the evening and they will be returned in the morning by 6AM. Also, if coffee is how you wake up in the morning, the staff will deliver a Keurig machine with tea and coffee selections.

The staff was accomodating and warm. I would make this my home away from home.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cohemm166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Cohemm166,

We really appreciate your feedback. I am happy that you felt so safe and well cared for while staying with us. That is a necessity when staying at a hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I live locally but wanted to get away for a couple nights. Hotel Commonwealth was the perfect place for a stay-cation, starting from the location steps off the Kenmore T stop. Smooth check-in combined with a complimentary glass of bubbly set the tone for a wonderful stay. We stayed in a corner room with a separate sitting area, spacious and well-furnished, and above all, quiet and spotless (rare luxuries as parents of two young boys!). We hit all of the bustling dining establishments (Eastern Standard for both breakfasts and a dinner, Island Creek Oyster Bar for dinner at the bar, and the Hawthorne for superb cocktails while we waited for a table). Part of the reason why we chose this hotel was because we were already fans of ICOB and the Hawthorne, and it was wonderful not to even have to put our coats on to enjoy our favorite places in the city. (Advice: make a reservation for any of them unless you're okay with waiting an hour or so for a table.) A charge that was mistakenly billed to our room was graciously and promptly removed by front desk staff at check-out, and we left feeling relaxed and happy. We hope to return very soon and could even see bringing our kids, perhaps for a family-friendly weekend the hotel offers frequently.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonTravelhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear BostonTravelhound,

Thank you very much for providing us with feedback, we really appreciate it. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our facilities and both of our food and beverage outlets. We hope you will bring your family back soon!

Warm regards,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Booked a room for a one night layover on the way to visiting family outside of Boston. Was impressed with the TripAdvisor ratings but was a little suspicious of the total number of reviews. There turned out to be no need to worry. The hotel is located in a great area with lots of restaurants in walking distance. We could see Fenway Park from our room. Service was great from the start. Ours bags were quickly taken to our room and check-in was easy and efficient. The front desk was very welcoming and helpful. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. They did (politely) ask us to leave a review on TripAdvisor at check-out which might account for the high number. I think it's smart and acceptable -- it tells me that they have confidence that the reviews will be positive.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Mark D,

I am thrilled to hear that our hotel lived up to your expectations. I am glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel and so many other aspects. You will have to return again in the spring when the Red Sox are back in town!

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I had 2 separate stays in the hotel during January and would recommend it to others. Service is very good, rooms are spacious if you get an upgrade to a small suite and they found me a table in the Eastern Standard, which doubles as the hotel's restaurant, on a packed Wednesday night which was great.
So mostly positive, worth noting that it is not near the city centre, in fact it is right over Kenmore T station so if you want to shop I suggest you look at somewhere on Boylston St.
Rooms are a bit dated too but I would stay again.

Room Tip: High up and ask for an upgrade, as you never know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrianhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Adrianhands,

Thank you very much for your recommendation. I am glad you enjoyed our level of service and our room product. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Location wise you are close to everything. The island creek restaurant was outstanding and lived up to its hype. Train ( T ) is right next door. The staff is outstanding and go above and beyond to make you comfortable and help you make the most of your stay! Particularly the concierge Nick MacDonald who wore every hat imaginable and did it well. He was excellent as was the staff at the front desk. Carly Sigel was extremely knowledgable patient and helpful when it came to making the most of our stay. Would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbhometime107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Cbhometime107,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Also, thank you for your comments on Nick and Carly. They do a wonderful job! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Upon arriving at the hotel we were greated quite warmly by the front desk staff.Nick the Bellman appologized twice for being late to our room.It was 5 minutes after we got into our 600 sq.ft room.Extremely clean room I might add! It was opposite the historic CITCO sign.Down pillows were great.Had a delicious late afternoon snack of shellfish at Island Creek Oyster Bar at one end of the hotel and Breakfast at Eastern standard on the other end.It's right on the T-line (Boston's Subway)which made it even better with wind chills at 10 above.Would stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: I tend to wake quite early at times,so to have a suite,even though the room was separated by thick c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonwalker918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Moonwalker918,

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. I am thrilled you were able to dine in both of our restaurants. We are very fortunate to have them on property. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 86 in Boston
1,395 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,467 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#9 of 86 in Boston
2,565 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 86 in Boston
5,004 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $196 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelPower, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing