We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Commonwealth
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eliot Hotel(Boston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,630)
Filter reviews
4,630 results
Traveler rating
3,639
739
163
61
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,639
739
163
61
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseastern standardfenway parkisland creek oyster barkenmore squarefenway roomboston universityfront deskred sox gamejunior suitehouse of bluesroom servicegreen linefavorite hotelwonderful hotelsitting areathe entire staffroom was spacious
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,916 - 2,921 of 4,630 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We live in a coastal community of Massachusetts in which there was a voluntary evacuation. We decided to come to Boston for the storm and found a good rate with terrific reviews for Hotel Commonwealth. Our experience could not have been better. They wisely put up the staff at the hotel during the storm and, as a rusult, they were well staffed and prepared. The hospitality by the staff, including the wait staff at their Eastern Standard restauarnat was much appreciated. The suite had a separate living area with a second television that made it feel more like a studio than a hotel room.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the suites wth a separate living area.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear jay p,

Thank you very much for posting a review! I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us during the snow storm. We hope to welcome you back soon and with some better weather.

Sincerely,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel occupies the upper stories of a commercial strip. It is affiliated with Eastern Standard at one end of the property, The excellent Island Creek Oysters is at the entrance but not affiliated. Rooms are large with a substantial lounging work area separated from the bed area by a curtain. This is the start of one of many things that take the hotel from being a top boutique hotel to one marred by dysfunctional details.

-To get from the work/lounge area of the room to the front door or bathroom one passes through the bed area thus potentially disturbing anyone who is sleeping.

-The fridge in the room is packed with goods for sale and a warning that moving them to put your own stuff in the fridge will result in charges to your room bill. So the hotel doesn’t trust its guests to report what they take from the minibar.

-Hot water for showers is a serious problem in the morning. The only way to have hot water is to let the shower run for many minutes, a terrible waste of energy.

-The rooms are not well noise insulated. The first night we called the front desk to complain about loud music at 11:45pm. We were promised that security would look into it. No change in volume. We called back 30 minutes later and were told security would again deal with it. Minimal if any change. For the next two nights of our stay the volume may have been a bit lower but we could still hear it clearly enough to know what songs were being played.

-The browsers on the computers in the little space for printing boarding passes are so out of date that they don’t work with the airline website we needed to access.

-The staff was very friendly and welcoming and tried at every turn to be helpful. But the procedures don’t seem to be in place to handle things smoothly. On the first night we requested to extra blankets. They were not provided until the next day when I went to the front desk and waited for them. The staff seemed unclear about the reservations possibilities and policies of Island Creek Oyster, which is just inside the front door of the hotel.

There are other minor glitches. None of these things (except perhaps the music noise) is a substantial issue. But for an expensive boutique hotel whose niche is clearly service, things should run more smoothly and with more attention to detail.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elm4154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear elm4154,

I apologize that you experienced so many opportunited during your recent stay with us. Please contact me directly as I would love to talk further on correcting these issues. I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Reservation at ICOB went well with amazing food. Then walked back to a Valentines' Day with surprise of a portrait of myself and date!! Best hotel in Boston easily. Excellent!!!

Reservation at ICOB went well with amazing food. Then walked back to a Valentines' Day with surprise of a portrait of myself and date!! Best hotel in Boston easily. Excellent!!!


  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Botz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Botz81,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us over Valentine’s Day weekend and the surprise we left in your room. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Everyone at the Commonwealth was so kind and accommodating. From the moment we arrived the staff was so helpful. One staff member Nicholas was so helpful with directions as well as being exceptionally kind. The rooms and bathrooms throughout the hotel were immaculate and beautiful. To top it off the restaurants were delicious. I will definitely return to the Commonwealth.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhughes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Rhughes24,

I am happy you enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel. Nicholas is a very talented concierge and we are extremely fortunate to have him here. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Warm Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I would not stay at any other hotel in Boston whether for business or pleasure. The Hotel Commonwealth nails it every time from doormen to housekeeping. I'm usually a business traveler who is very picky, yet a pleasure traveler who is easily impressed. The HC delivers. And the Eastern Standard connection is always a blessing!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDH430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear NDH430,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write another review, we really appreciate it. I am thrilled you enjoyed the level of service we provide here at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews