We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel to Stay in Boston and Beyond!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel to Stay in Boston and Beyond!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We just stayed here for the third time in nine months -- it just keeps getting better (not that it needed to improve) . We just celebrated my daughter's graduation from Boston University and stayed at the Commonwealth Hotel. From the momement we arrived (we were handed a glass of champagne on arrival) till the moment we left everything was perfect-- the valet people out front, the front desk personnel anyone we ran into who was employed by the hotel -- same exceptional service, attentiveness to whatever we needed was dealt with in a courteous and professional manner. Wether we needed a rollaway bed, resesrvation, ride, etc -- they were there. I have travelled extensively and stayed in many five-star hotels. This hotel DOES NOT DISAPPOINT. The decor and cleanliness is very comforting and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,051
    574
    118
    49
    21
See reviews for
1,220
1,088
177
785
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (918)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is a great Hotel because the people here are kind and considerate and always make you feel welcome, while maintaining a high level of professionalism. The rooms are clean, neat and full of all the up to date amenities. It is close to all the significant attractions and colleges and main transportation. When I stay here I feel as if I am at my home away from home and if there is no room for me, I generally choose another time to come to Boston.... it's that good. I hope they keep up their great standards because it keeps me coming back over and over and over again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACRMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Well-appointed, large rooms with included seating area separable by a curtain. Would recommend this property if visiting Boston University, but if you wish to sightsee around Boston, you will be better off finding a more centrally located hotel, probably for a lesser price...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Fine hotel, very nice and spacious rooms, good services (business center, fitness). Cleaning was done well and promptly. One remakr is that they did not re-fill the mini bar during my stay but that is not really a big issue.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DedemSander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I've stayed at the Commonwealth maybe a half-dozen times over the past five years. It's always a joy. Clean, convenient, and the staff are incredibly helpful and professional. It's a great hotel, and it's worth mentioning about technologically advanced it is. Not only is wi-fi included, but on this latest trip, I found they had a charger on the desk in the room for iPhones, Androids, etc. Very, very thoughtful and helpful. This is a great hotel: Professional, convenient, reliable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethan443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Samuel from the front desk provided to me as a guest (marco barreto) an excellent support with regards my luggage when I needed. Excellent professional you have!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank masb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I've stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth on business trips many times over the past 5 years. The Hotel is very conveniently located so that I can walk to my company's Boston site. The staff are extremely professional and are quick to take care of any questions. Rooms are clean, spacious, comfortable and generally quiet. I like the fitness center which is well equipped but also like to walk along the Charles River just a short distance from the Hotel. Both adjoining restaurants, the Eastern Standard and the Island Creek Oyster Bar, are outstanding. The Eastern Standard does a great job at accommodating the single traveler and the seafood at Island Creek is the best you'll get anywhere. I highly recommend the Hotel Commonwealth as the place to stay in Boston whether visiting on business or for pleasure.

Room Tip: I always ask for a junior suite on the Commonwealth Avenue side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#1 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,916 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#7 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,037 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#4 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,626 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#13 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#17 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing