We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Commonwealth, Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Commonwealth to your Saves list
Hotel Commonwealth
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215 (Fenway / Kenmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Red Sox Game Packages!
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgefield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Hotel Commonwealth, Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed here for a long weekend of college visits and a game at Fenway. The location could not have been better: walking distance to Fenway and some of the schools, in a nice neighborhood. Our room was a junior suite, with a king size bed and pull out queen sleeper. They provided a rollaway as well, which was comfortable, probably better than the pullout. The staff was very friendly and helpful, room was clean, and the restaurant was good. All in all, we were very happy with this hotel and would come again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ksh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,041
    573
    117
    49
    21
See reviews for
1,215
1,082
177
785
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (913)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westport
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Nice, BIG, tasteful, clean rooms. Very helpful staff co-ordinating multiple requests perfectly. My only reluctance in recommendintht his hotel is that it will get too crowded! So, don't go to Boston; if you must, do stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheelchair-Trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

It's a nice hotel- nothing extraordinary and definitely NOT a Ritz Carlton, although the prices are equal. It's clean, well kept property but lacks personal service and amenities you would expect at this category of hotel.
The service was so so and they they did not go out of their way to make our stay better. We did not receive the room type that we had booked or requested -two queen beds ( I was traveling with my teenage son- college scouting) and got a king bed only. They brought a rollaway, it was awful. They didn't even try to improve our situation. It was just no! It was probably because I booked the hotel through bookit.com. Oh well on the plus side, it was in a great neighborhood- who can beat a block from Fenway Park and steps to T green line?

Room Tip: Wish I had gotten one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaTasZun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury Ct
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The room was very nice. We picked an expensive weekend (Red Sox opening weekend and the Marathon on Monday). Location was fantastic. The employees were very nice. We had a Fenway room but it did not appear to be over 400 sq feet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patbannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hume, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This was a lovely hotel. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. The two associated sea-food restaurants were both excellent I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AoifeCuRua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Lovely from the moment we stepped through the door. Friendly staff, absolutely elegant rooms.

Comfy beds and pillows and 4 pieces of chocolate when you request turn-down service.

Only gripe was no place to buy a soda or sundries on site

Room Tip: I liked overlooking Commonweath Avenue - but it might be a bit noisy on the second floor I did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneLocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The location, facilities, and staff were top notch. The staff wanted to make sure our experience was a good one, and they did. We had a problem with a room service order after the Red Sox game and Josh took care of it and exceeded my expectations regarding his solution. My only disappointment, as a swimmer, you do not have a pool. However, its a small price to pay for such an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: If you're a Red Sox fan, you want a room on the South side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#1 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,896 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#8 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,029 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#4 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,620 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#14 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#17 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing