We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Commonwealth”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This hotel deserves it's superlative reputation. The staff are so friendly and helpful to make sure that your stay is perfect. Before we arrived at the hotel, we informed them of our impending 25th wedding anniversary during our stay and were absolutely delighted to find out that we had been upgraded to a junior suite room. The hotel itself is in an excellent location, just on top of Kenmore T station which is so convenient for travelling downtown. It is also just opposite some small takeaway restaurants for coffee and bagels etc. Dining at the Eastern Standard Restaurant was a highpoint of our stay as it was brimming with atmosphere, with a very friendly, efficient waiter service. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Boston.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,467)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Commonwealth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,399 - 3,405 of 4,467 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

My fiancé and I absolutely love Boston. If you're planning to visit Boston or just wanting a place to getaway, Hotel Commonwealth is definitely the perfect place to stay. We stayed just for a weekend to celebrate my fiancé's birthday. I wish we could of stayed longer! We had a wonderful time. The service was outstanding, the staff went above and beyond my expectations. Just ask and you shall receive! They accommodated every single request I made. My fiancé and I were extremely happy with the service. We ate at both restaurants (Island Oyster Bar and Eastern Standard) and they were both excellent, very yummy! The rooms are beautiful, spacious and very cozy. The room and bathroom were clean and had great amenities. I would definitely stay again and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I usually book with the major franchises to avoid any surprises but couldnt find any that fit my requirements so I took a chance and was very pleasantly surprised. The rooms were beautifully appointed, clean and large. The restaurants were both very good and the service we received from all was exceptional. It is not an inexpensive hotel but we defintely received our money's worth!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Excellenet Hotel, Excellent Service, Excellent Rooms.........Everything Outstanding

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saurabh2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

My daughter and I were visiting Boston University and I wanted something close by for convenience. I could not have been more impressed with Hotel Commonwealth. The staff included BU students who encouraged my daughter to ask questions at any time. The rooms were clean, comfortable and had every amenity I needed. I loved the FRESH bath products! The complimentary glass of champagne upon arrival was a nice touch as well as the bottled waters that were offered throughout our stay. Staff was always present to assist with directions, questions or concerns. The location could not have been better for our visit to Boston University but it was a great location to visit Newbury Street and their wonderful restaurants and shops. The best part for us was the location of the T stop which is directly across from the hotel. It made getting around Boston a breeze. I would highly recommend the Hotel Commonwealth for any type of travel. I know the next time we return to Boston we will be staying at the wonderful Hotel Commonwealth.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the "Big Green Monster" and the room was quiet. I am not sure what it...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunkem3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

What a wonderful hotel the Commonwealth is!!! We had a great time. The staff is excellent!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Rarely do I find a hotel that I can't find a complaint. It's not dazzling, but two excellent restaurants, a solid staff and expensive but not outrageous. Well recommmended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobwphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,353 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,321 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 84 in Boston
4,871 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $196 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing