We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay again”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay again”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Great location, right next to a T subway station, Fenway Park and the beautiful Back Bay. Friendly staff and nice European decor room, stayed in a corner Kenmore room and literally had windows with views on 3 walls. Relatively quiet, even during game days. Both associated restaurants, Island Creek Oyster Bar and Eastern Standard were good as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bailey92101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,505
    697
    152
    57
    25
See reviews for
1,411
1,285
205
932
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,058)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We wanted a nice place in the Kenmore Square area near Fenway park. We found it. The staff was very nice and very helpful, we took their recommendations on several things and they were right on the money. The hotel was quiet and clean. The rooms were nicely sized, especially for a place in the city. Bathrooms were very nice, and very clean. I will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLGSHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2011

great tour, nice stay clean room nice workout room. when to eat at beer work!!!
Parking is extra didnt know til we got there. very nice staff. use the subway it is cheep and pretty clean and easy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purple271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Our room had two queen size beds that were splendid. The beds were oh so comfortable. The room was extremely large and airy. The turn down service was excellent. The front doormen and bell hop personnel always greeted us in a friendly and professional manner. The front desk staff were also friendly , professional and made us seem special. The maid service was extraordinary. Close to Fenway Park, The Prudential Building and train transportation. All within walking distance. Liked everything about this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank learmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This is our favorite hotel! We have stayed here twice and not been disappointed. The service is unmatchable, the rooms are large and beautiful and everything is very, very clean. You will not be sorry you stayed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I have stayed here for business a number of times and liked it enough to come back with my wife which I have done so now a few times. The location is convenient. The rooms are well done and comfortable and the staff is pleasant and accomadating. I highly recommnend. Wally C.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wally85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My son and I recently stayed in the Baseball Suite at the Hotel Commonwealth. EVERY aspect exceeded expectations. Upon arrival, the doorman and registration staff donned smiles and were more than helpful and available. The suite itself was a treasure. My son looked at every artifact and enjoyed one of the baseball movies available. Not only was it very clean, but the "little amenities" such as the "turn down" service, chocolates on the pillow, water and the superior toiletries left in the bathroom, all made us feel like royalty. The location was wonderful, a close walk to Fenway, the train, and many restaurants. I never wanted to leave.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wlflt2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,324 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,296 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,776 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing