We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Simply T!!”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #10 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2011

This wonderful spot welcomes you in every way; from the moment you walk in, to the fabulous and attentive service through, to the absolutely best in class rooms. If you're seeking a classy place, which manages to take care of your every need, but without bothering you, this place is it. It is our home away from home.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hospicerunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,162 - 4,168 of 4,563 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2011

We recently stayed at Hotel Commonwealth with our children ages 5 and 11. It was a very busy weekend with the Red Sox in town and the Boston Marathon on Monday. The hotel staff were very helpful with tips to navigate the crowds and activity outside in Kenmore Square. The room (Fenway 2 beds) was very spacious with a great view of Fenway Park. The staff was very friendly to our kids. We ate at Eastern Standard for breakfast - the food was very good but service was very slow. Other than that our experience at Hotel Commonwealth was wonderful and we would go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

First of all the location of the Hotel couldn't have been more perfect as we had tickets to Fenway Park to see a game on Sunday. Not only was the proximity so close to Fenway Park but, the hotel staff assisted us in choosing seats and helped us buy tickets to the game before we even arrived at the Hotel and had them at the Hotel for pick-up.

On our late arrival, we were surprised by having our room upgraded to your brand new suite. The suite was beautifully decorated and was equipped with a gas fireplace and a flat screen televsion. The cleanliness was par non and the attention to details from the cookies in our room to the gorgeously folded washroom towels and washcloths were nice touches.

Our rest that evening was wonderful. The bed and the bedding in the bedroom were so comfortable.

In the morning, I called the front desk to purchase 2 hotel robes and I was surprised at how quickly the matter was handled and the robes were delivered to my room. The Manager was kind enough to give me two complimentary umbrella's as I had also asked to purchase two umbrella's.

My family was celebrating my husband's 53rd Birthday and the Commonwealth Hotel and staff made it a Birthday to remember.

We will highly recommend this Hotel to others and would definitely consider staying again.

Thank you,
Tina Manousos

Room Tip: Very quiet, 2 story windows, beautiful chandelier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmanousos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Great service and staff...we'll be back next April for the 116th Boston Marathon.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennisharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We have stayed in two hotels in Copley Plaza. It was Patriot's Day weekend and we had tickets for the Saturday afternoon Red Sox game. Our daughter who is going to Boston University was meeting us. Your price for this weekend was less expensive and closer to the ballpark. Friends had stay with you and recommended you. We have eaten at Eastern Standard a number of times and decided to stay with you. Glad we did!
After the game out daughter wanted to stay with the night with us. You almost instantly provided a rollaway bed for no charge. We ate a later dinner at Eastern Standard and it was great as usual. We checked out on Sunday before noon. You held our suitcases until we left at about 3:30 p.m. We were told that we would probably have to pay another $30 for the Sunday parking because it was another game day. There was no extra parking charge. We will stay with you again. Everything was taken care of efficiently and promptly. Thank you!

Room Tip: Floor 3 on Commonwealth was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Negotiator25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Very nice hotel. We had a "Fenway" room which overlooked Fenway Park. Very cool with tons of room. Great location with close proximity to colleges, subway, shopping, sports, great restaurants, etc. Not in the heart of the city but in reasonable walking distance or subway ride. If you don't like crowds, don't book it during a Red Sox game.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktf265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Stellar service from the staff. Excellent in-room amenities (docking station, free internet, mini-bar) and an overall high quality hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrantHoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 85 in Boston
3,450 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#11 of 85 in Boston
1,375 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#9 of 85 in Boston
2,452 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 85 in Boston
4,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $170 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing