We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a bow Encore!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Take a bow Encore!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

For our first trip to Boston from Adelaide,Australia we booked Encore wholly & solely based on reviews read on Trip Advisor.This utterly charming establishment lived up to and eclipsed these,for us there were no faults to be found.Our wonderful host Reinhold was warm,welcoming and most informative.Encore was beautifully clean and stylish and we so enjoyed our breakfasts,try the fabulous granola! the location is ideal with so much close at hand while still in a truly lovely neighborhood setting.Our only regret is that we were unable to spend longer,we felt we were leaving home on our last day! Our warmest thanks to you Reinhold and David,we loved Encore and Boston and hope to return one day.It really is a pleasure to recommend Encore,take a bow!

Room Tip: We found the Bernstein room excellent,stylish,clean & comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guests. Thank you for taking the time to post this heartfelt review. We especially appreciate it form Australian guests - we appreciated the hospitality we experienced nearly through our entire trip last year. I definitely would prefer to be in Adelaide right now as opposed to Boston.
Thank you for all the great conversations during breakfast on a wide range of issues. If you feel your time in Boston was short, our time in Adelaide was even shorter and that makes us want to come back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    85
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
47
476
69
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We spent nearly a week in this B&B and had a lovely time. Very comfortable atmosphere, the rooms have theirits own bath/shower/toilet. TV, free WiFi.
But the best was the breakfast: you get to choose from all sorts of possibilities and you'll be served at the table by the innkeepers.
We bet it would be hard to find a nicer place to stay in or around boston!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidSch_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear David. We are impressed, that you took the time so short after your long flight back to Switzerland, to write this review. Thank you very much. Are you aware that you helped achieve a landmark, because this our Review #500 of all the excellent reviews. Part of the credit should go to Flour, the bakery that provides us with the delicious selection of fresh baked goods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

All of the many previous comments about the quality of the food, the graciousness of the host, the style of the rooms...and even the steepness of the stairs...are true. But there are two more features which make Encore such a great place to stay.
One is the chance to live for a short time in a beautiful neighborhood and pretend that this brownstone is yours, rather than residing in a soulless hotel.
The other bonus is the guests you share breakfast with. Staying at Encore allows you to chat with other travelers from all over the country and the world and hear their stories and impressions of Boston.
Encore is a great place to stay and experience. If you think you might like to stay here...just do so.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NBaker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Neale. Thank you for an excellent review! We too are amazed how many guests we reach throughout the world by our website. Our analytics show that it can be up to 20 different countries per day (of course in high season) Thank god English is a universal language, which allows guests at the breakfast table to communicate with each other and share experience and impressions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Spent a really weekend in Boston. We stayed at Encore B & B in the stylish "Jerome Robbins" room, which is equipped with wi-fi, which worked like a dream. Great comfy bed, flat screen television and stereo system (didn't try them though, because I was busy exploring this great New England town). The hotel keeper serves up a simple but delicious breakfast -- I had coffee, granola with yoghurt and fruit, finishing with a lemon ginger scone. My travelling companion chose the decadent sticky bun (but there are lots of other options!)

Room Tip: The Robbins room in the front looks out on the street, which is charming and Victorian. Rooms at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montrealpeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Peggy. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We happily added you to our list of repeat visitors and we hope this wasn't your last visit. Starting this weekend we offer our Winter Special, which lasts till the end of February. You might want to check it out. You might be interested to find out that our bakery (Flour) is #3 on a list of the best US bakeries, published on the web (our Facebook page provides a link)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludwigshafen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in Reinhold Mahler's cosy and very charming B&B in September 2013. The B&B is located in a very nice brick building in a quiet and nice neighbourhood. The inn keeper Reinhold is a very open and friendly person who cares very much for his guests. Our room was spacious, bright, tastefully decorated and top clean. The B&B is very well organized by Reinhold. We liked the breakfast very much, in particular the delicious rolls from a nearby high quality bakery.

Room Tip: Room "Bernstein" is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rueger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Google Translation
Wir betrachten es als ein gutes Zeichen, dass nach 2 Monaten die Erinnerungen an Ihren Besuch in Boston noch anhalten und ich freue mich ausserordentlich, dass sie einen angenehmen Aufenthalt hatten. Nachdem Sie die ausgezeichneten Broetchen von Flour erwaehnen, kann ich nicht umhin den Dallmayr Kaffee aud Muenchen ins rechte Licht au ruecken. Alles in allem fast ein Fruestueck wie zuhause.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

It doesn't get any better than this: wonderful design and comfort, helpful innkeepers, and one of Boston's best neighborhoods! This was my second visit after many years and Encore does not show her age at all! The inn is still a total surprise inside: thoroughly modern, sleek even, with details that make for a pleasurable stay. I was in the Bernstein room, long and roomy across the back with a bank of windows for the afternoon sun. A queen bed covered in soft, luxury linens. A notebook of menus from local restaurants that enticed me to eat lunches and dinners in the South End, an excellent neighborhood for access to the rest of Boston. Reinhold is a fine host and helps with any and all requests. His breakfasts are fresh and bountiful (I even went to his bakery Flour for lunch!). An especially nice touch this year was a "stoop party" to pass out treats on Halloween....we had a blast.

Having stayed on business in many of Boston's large and impersonal hotels, it was a great pleasure to be back at Encore. Great value for the price, this is a jewel of an inn in one of our great cities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Washington_DCRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear L. We are of course flattered by your review and we are happy, that you were able to experience the "stoop party" for Halloween. It is in deed a unique event here in the Southend, when the "trick and treaters" come here by the busloads. Especially our international guests love this special event and everybody staying with us gets invited. I am sure you didn't regret squeezing in the event between dinner and a theater visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I just spent 4 nights at the Encore B&B. It was just as excellent as my stay back in 2006. My room was quiet, clean, and very comfortable. Given previous reviews, I was expecting to be disappointed with the breakfast. To the contrary, it was excellent given the establishment's limitation of not being able to serve a hot breakfast. The bakery item were excellent and high quality AND you may select how many items you wish. Thank you Rhenhold for a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurotravelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear E. Thank you for your effort to write a review after an exhausting conference visit in town. Of course we are happy that you had "another great experience" and the quality of our service didn't change after a couple of years. Since your last visit we changed the bakery and are now getting our baked goods from Flour, Boston's best and we call ourselves lucky to have them fairly close in the neighborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,299 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,696 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,405 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Bed and Breakfast

Property: Encore Bed and Breakfast
Address: 116 W Newton St, Boston, MA 02118-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encore is a Boston bed and breakfast in the historic and trendy South End neighborhood. The ideal alternative to typical hotel lodging, Encore Bed and Breakfast offers 21st-century comfort in a 19th-century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Encore Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore b&b
Encore Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing