We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best there is!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best there is!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

It doesn't get any better than this: wonderful design and comfort, helpful innkeepers, and one of Boston's best neighborhoods! This was my second visit after many years and Encore does not show her age at all! The inn is still a total surprise inside: thoroughly modern, sleek even, with details that make for a pleasurable stay. I was in the Bernstein room, long and roomy across the back with a bank of windows for the afternoon sun. A queen bed covered in soft, luxury linens. A notebook of menus from local restaurants that enticed me to eat lunches and dinners in the South End, an excellent neighborhood for access to the rest of Boston. Reinhold is a fine host and helps with any and all requests. His breakfasts are fresh and bountiful (I even went to his bakery Flour for lunch!). An especially nice touch this year was a "stoop party" to pass out treats on Halloween....we had a blast.

Having stayed on business in many of Boston's large and impersonal hotels, it was a great pleasure to be back at Encore. Great value for the price, this is a jewel of an inn in one of our great cities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Washington_DCRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear L. We are of course flattered by your review and we are happy, that you were able to experience the "stoop party" for Halloween. It is in deed a unique event here in the Southend, when the "trick and treaters" come here by the busloads. Especially our international guests love this special event and everybody staying with us gets invited. I am sure you didn't regret squeezing in the event between dinner and a theater visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    84
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
47
471
69
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I just spent 4 nights at the Encore B&B. It was just as excellent as my stay back in 2006. My room was quiet, clean, and very comfortable. Given previous reviews, I was expecting to be disappointed with the breakfast. To the contrary, it was excellent given the establishment's limitation of not being able to serve a hot breakfast. The bakery item were excellent and high quality AND you may select how many items you wish. Thank you Rhenhold for a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurotravelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear E. Thank you for your effort to write a review after an exhausting conference visit in town. Of course we are happy that you had "another great experience" and the quality of our service didn't change after a couple of years. Since your last visit we changed the bakery and are now getting our baked goods from Flour, Boston's best and we call ourselves lucky to have them fairly close in the neighborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Don't let the traditional bowed brick facade fool you -- inside this charming B&B, style is king. Stainless steel, black granite and sleek blonde woods provide perfect counterpoints to the exposed brick, rich color palate and sumptuous linens. The friendly and knowledgeable innkeepers can direct you to the many excellent South End restaurants and theaters within easy walking distance. Mass transit provides convenient access to the rest of the city's attractions. A stay at this B&B will have you looking for an Encore on your next visit to Boston.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ContraBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for a fabulous review of Encore. We are proud that your repeat visit wasn't disappointing for you. Even in the off-season Boston is worth a trip with all the theater offerings at off-Broadway prizes and not to forget all the high quality musical events. We are especially happy that you were able to attend our partner's Zeitgeist Stage production of The Normal Heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is one of the loveliest B&B that I have ever stayed at. None of the frill and fuss of Victorian motif but stylist and comfortable rooms (and beds) and cozy breakfast nook. Very lovely environment with an excellent location to other parts of the city - and wonderful South Boston neighborhood. Rheinhold, the Inn Keeper was gracious and welcoming. The breakfast was very good - I was able to make my selection the evening before so that the pastries were delivered fresh in the morning. It was immaculate with regard to cleanliness, and bathrooms that were very well maintained. Without a doubt, I will go back when my travels require that I returen to Boston!

Room Tip: The stairs from the enterance to the second floor rooms and breakfast nook are rather steep. I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear M. We are thrilled to get such a glowing review so quick after your short stay with us. We didn't even have the chance to thank you for choosing Encore for your stay in Boston. Of course we are hoping for an "encore" whenever you are back in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randalstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Excellent location - walking distance to Prudential; or a bus (no 43) up to Boston Common was very handy. Our room was modern, well equipped, very comfortable. Breakfast was fresh delivery from the local baker - ordered the evening before - and fruit, or eggs, ham and cheese. Delicious. Tremont has loads of fabulous restaurants within walking distance. We spent 3 nights in Boston, and this was a great place to come home to.

Room Tip: We were at the back, but it's in a quiet road anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarinSeymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Manager at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you Karin for taking the time to write this fabulous review. We love the title, because it indicates that you most a felt comfortable in the environment we created.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Overall, we were extremely happy with the property the rooms were spacious, extremely clean and well presented. The streetscape was what one would expect in an older more established leafy suburb.
The breakfast was really good, and we did go around the corner to Davids Tea on his advice to buy a tea strainer that Reinhold was using which was certainly a lot easier than the one we currently use.
The only issue I had, which could not be helped due to the historic nature of the property, was that if you have two large suitcases and have to access the room on the top floor it can cause you some grief. Coming down is likewise. That said nothing can be really done to overcome that problem - my suggestion would be if you have two or more heavy bags - select a lower level.

Room Tip: If you are a more mature traveler select a floor closer to ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianrichards8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Ian. We are happy you loved th location of our B&B just as we enjoyed the place we choose in Melbourne close to Lygall Street - however we had no clue that Lygall Street was a destination for restaurant visit just like Tremont Street in Boston.
You are right about the stairs - nothing can be changed. But we hope that we make our guests aware what to expect on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
196 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Reinhold (owner) was very communicative prior to our visit, offering assistance with regards to directions from the airport, check-in process, etc. which was greatly appreciated, especially since this was our first trip to Boston.

Encore is located in the historic south end in a charming converted townhouse. The residential street is tree-lined, and although close to busy Tremont St., surprisingly quiet. We took advantage of the mild weather during our stay, and walked to the historic center, and even the north end, but public transportation is close by and always an option.

We stayed in the Albee room, which is large and nicely appointed; plenty of room for luggage and lots of hangars in the closet. The mattress was too hard for our liking and the pillows were flat, but that’s a matter of personal preference. We opened the sliding door to the deck to let the nice weather in. The en-suite bathroom is very modern, with Aveda toiletries. It was disconcerting to find a pu**ic hair by the TP roll on our first day. It had me wondering what else we might find or how good the housekeeping staff was. Thank heavens that experience was not repeated and the room was always clean & neat when we returned after a full day of exploring.

The breakfast is not cooked to order but more continental style – pastries, cheeses, soft boiled eggs, yogurt with fruit and/or granola, etc. Just the right amount to start the day and very high quality. Reinhold gets the pastries from Flour, a neighborhood bakery, and everything we tried from there was to die for! (addicted to the lemon scones!). He also recommended several places to eat, and he was spot on.

Very well-run establishment and I would have no qualms about staying here again.

Room Tip: Albee room has a small deck. Great perk during nice weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmallWonderAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinhold, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Scott and Barbara. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience while staying in our B&B. We sincerely apologize that the cleaning of the bathroom was not to perfection on the first day of your visit, but are more then happy that the problem didn't repeat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,284 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,633 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,358 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Bed and Breakfast

Property: Encore Bed and Breakfast
Address: 116 W Newton St, Boston, MA 02118-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encore is a Boston bed and breakfast in the historic and trendy South End neighborhood. The ideal alternative to typical hotel lodging, Encore Bed and Breakfast offers 21st-century comfort in a 19th-century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelPower so you can book your Encore Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore b&b
Encore Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing