We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Encore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a wonderful B&B, right in the heart of Boston's South End. Comfortable room, excellent breakfast and owned and run by lovely people. Set in a peaceful, leafy residential street, but a short walk from the restaurant & theatre district, the location is terrific. Attentive but unobtrusive hospitality & high levels of comfort & taste in the rooms & building generally. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Top of house, room with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GandS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 811 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

In addition to welcoming hosts, a charming room, and fresh European-style breakfasts, Encore is located in beautiful South End and therefore within walking distance of dozens of Boston sights. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will certainly stay again while in the Boston area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly5billion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We just had our 4th visit to Encore B and B and it was great as usual. The innkeepers, Reinhold and David, provide a warm friendly environment to all of their guests and make sure that every detail is addressed. The breakfast includes a great selection of fresh baked pastries, eggs, and yogurt with fresh fruit. The rooms are immaculate and very well appointed. Reinhold and David gave us great ideas for sightseeing and restaurants. Located in the South End, it is close to museums, concerts, plays, and many high quality restaurants. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are immaculate and very stylish. The Albee has a great balcony to sit outside. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hikemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Reinhold and David & Encore make any Boston visit enjoyable. This is our fourth time, and it was great! Engaging conversations, breakfast w/great Flour pastries and coffee (sticky buns and German coffee... what more can you ask?), comfortable lodging, centered location (Boston's small, walk anywhere), B&G Oysters just down the street, wonderful evenings on Albee's porch with the dogwood across the street flowering... I cannot imagine Boston without Encore B&B.
We're already planning 2015.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are quieter. Albee has a porch. 2nd floor rooms have baths, 3rd floor rooms s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grubtrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

4th Time visit quadruples the pleasure to have you here at Encore B&B and enjoying some concerts together during the Early Music Festival always makes this a week to look forward to every 2 years. David and myself are definitely looking forward to your return visit in 1015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

It is the most European type B&B we have ever been in the US. The facilities are spotless. The location in the South End is within walking distance to all of the relevant Boston attractions. The owners are extremely helpful and considerate, and the breakfast choices are vast and fresh for a B&B. It reminds us of Boogards B&B in Amsterdam. Personally we could not think of one complaint with the exception of street noise during our stay. Reinhold runs a top notched B&B! He absolutely spoiled us.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room away from the street if street noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mascap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Every now and then you get to stay at a bed and breakfast place that is run by someone who clearly enjoys his job - and Reinhold from Encore B&B is exactly such a person! Right from the start, when my girl-friend and I arrived in the early afternoon with three heavy suit-cases, he helped us up the rather steep stairwell (he's not the youngest any more, but he carried the suit case up like a pro). He was extremely friendly, and knew the secret of offering his help but not overbearingly so. Within 5 minutes, we knew how to order our breakfast, were in our room, and ready to explore the city.
We stayed in the Sorkin room. It was well appointed, clean and large enough for 2 people and their luggage. Unfortunately, there wasn't really enough storage space to unpack a little bit. It wasn't a big problem because it doesn't lack in space, but a couple of small shelves would have helped. The bathroom was large and very nicely done. I'm sad to report though that water pressure in the shower is quite weak - I'm not sure if that's a problem with the building or with the area in general.
The bed was very comfortable, and we slept well for the two nights we stayed there. Sleeping in might not be a real option because breakfast is held on the first floor with direct access to the stair case, so the voices of the other guests were clearly audible to us in our room. It wasn't an issue because were up anyway, but just as a little warning for other guests. Breakfast was beautiful, and Reinhold served everything personally. I sometimes find this part a little awkward in B&Bs but not this time, it was really cozy and enjoyable. The breakfast room has a nice view onto the street, and it's very comfortable to sit there with the other guests.
All in all, I would not hesitate to recommend this place to other travellers. It might not be perfect in every aspect, but you'd be surprised what a difference a nice service and a clean room can make!

Room Tip: The Sorkin room does not have a balcony, I think some of the other rooms do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My daughter and I spent four wonderful days in Boston and were thrilled to be based out of Encore. The Albee room was perfect- spacious, spotless, cool in every way possible! We could look out over the Boston skyline at night while sipping wine on our balcony. Breakfast were tasty but not overdone- lovely pastries and eggs if you prefer. Encore is close to some fabulous restaurants (South End Buttery should not be missed!) and an easy walk to the T stop. Our host Reinhold was always helpful. Book early- this B and B has only 4 rooms, so we felt lucky to score one!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Klinggoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,383 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#19 of 84 in Boston
3,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,242 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Bed and Breakfast

Address: 116 W Newton St, Boston, MA 02118-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $153 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encore is a Boston bed and breakfast in the historic and trendy South End neighborhood. The ideal alternative to typical hotel lodging, Encore Bed and Breakfast offers 21st-century comfort in a 19th-century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Encore Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore Hotel Boston
Encore b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing