We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Encore was everything I hoped it would be from the reviews I had read on Trip Advisor prior to making my booking. We had booked the Albee room and the view from the balcony was a very welcoming sight having just stepped off a transatlantic flight. What a view! The room itself was extremely comfortable and we particularly loved the bed sheets. So soft. I tend to always need to wear earplugs in hotels but we never heard a sound in Encore at night. It was extremely quiet and our room was very private on the top floor of the house.

Reinhold was a fantastic host and the breakfasts that he puts on in the morning are wonderful. Each day a menu is left in your room for the following morning and you can choose as much or as little from it as you like. I would particularly recommend the granola with fresh fruit and yogurt. It was a great way to start the day. I also tried the croissants and scones that Reinhold gets in from the local bakery and they were fantastic. The croissants were better than ones I've eaten in Paris! My girlfriend was particularly fond of the sticky buns as well. My only regret at breakfast was not trying the coffee until our last day. Coffee lovers won't be disappointed. It's the best coffee I've ever tasted.

As for the location, Encore is less than a 10 minute walk away from the Prudential Center where you can catch the T to other areas of the city. We found Boston to be a great walking city and if you're happy to walk you can even get to Fenway Park in about 20 or 25 minutes from Encore. The area the B&B is in is a very nice, quiet residential street that we were very comfortable walking around in during the day and at night.

Encore feels like a home away from home and I will definitely return when I go back to Boston. Hopefully I won't have long to wait.

Room Tip: The Albee Room is on the top floor and has a private balcony with a great view of the John Hancock t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

What a wonderful review - it covers a lot of the aspects of what we have to offer. We would love to add just one lttle note: All our baked goods come fresh daily from Flour, Boston's best breakfast. We can't imagine not to have this wonderful bakery not in our neighborhood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 811 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at the Encore B&B in March 2013. We had 3 nights in the Albee room and 1 night in the Robbins room. Both were homely clean and had comfortable beds. Reinhold was a lovely host and very willing to help in any way. Breakfast is great, everything we had was delicious. There is a useful information pack in both rooms we stayed in recommending local restaurants of which there are plenty. We really enjoyed our stay here and we were both glad we hadn't booked into one of the larger hotels. Great central location. I would defiantly recommend this B&B to friends and I'm sure if we ever returned to Boston we would indeed stay again ourselves.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Homey little B&B. Encore is perfectly located between the South End and Back Bay. It's within walking distance of the Orange and Green Line so getting to Cambridge is easy, as well as Newbury St. and the Prudential Center. We loved the breakfast; though the selection is generally richer food than we're used to, Flour Bakery's food makes for some delicious breakfast treats. The Sondheim room located on the top floor is super private. The room was clean and our sheets high quality.. couldn't have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, I booked two rooms in Encore for three of us. I could have booked a suite room in a hotel that would have been similar price or cheaper – but based on the reviews, liked the idea of a well located bed and breakfast with available parking, great breakfast and friendly staff.

The Encore B&B is well located – in a vibrant area of Boston with many good local restaurants. It is about 15 minutes walk from the nearest T subway station.

We booked the Sondheim and Robbins rooms – myself and my partner in the Sondheim, and our friend in the Robbins. I had great expectations based on the reviews.

When we arrived, Reinhold showed us where to park at the rear of the property. I had booked parking for two cars ($20 per car per day). The availability of parking in Boston is indeed a bonus. We had had a long and difficult journey in cold weather – and Reinhold kindly made us coffee.

The rooms are clean and stylish. The room temperature and house temperature was ideal. The bathrooms are also nice – but the wash hand basins are not the best design – they are steel and jut out from the wall and tend to drip water on to the floor when you wash/shave.

The breakfast room is actually the landing area on the second floor. The doors to the bedrooms each have gaps underneath – and as a result the soundproofing is not good. This is particularly obvious in the morning when the other guests are having breakfast – and especially in the Robbins Room which is beside the breakfast area.

We have stayed at many guesthouses and B&Bs across Europe and Australia – and one of the highlights of a B&B over a hotel is normally the breakfast. The breakfast at the Encore B&B is basic and frugal. You tick a form the evening before, identifying what you want. The choice is limited. A glass of juice. A single roll of bread or bagel or croissant. A boiled egg or slices of cheese. A plate with granola and yoghurt. The small table is laid in the morning with your breakfast – except each morning we had to remind Reinhold of missing items. You are not offered more than one piece of bread, or a refill of juice. We were given no indication that we could order more than one bread item. I ticked ‘multigrain roll’ and hoped that there would be more than one roll – there was not. It felt to us all like frugal rationing. The form should state clearly that one can choose multiple items if this is indeed the case.

In conclusion – the Encore is a nice average B&B in a nice area of Boston with good nearby restaurants.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms (3rd floor) are quieter as they are away from the breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docinedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We always appreciate feedback which we receive through reviews at Tripadvisor and realize that wording on our breakfast menu might need improvement. When we greet our guests we have a whole list of items that we want to draw attention to, one of them being the breakfast menu by saying "please make your choices from the list". I personally apologize, if this was not communicated well enough. Many of our guests have and continue to order multi-items from the extensive menu of pastries and rolls. All are from Flour which has been voted the best bakery in Boston. We have never received complaints about the quality of the baked goods we offer. We scanned an image of our menu in and posted it at TA to allow our future guests to see what they can expect.
We are sorry, that restrictions for our B&B license by the city of Boston only allow us to serve a continental breakfast, however we also don't advertise anything other than what we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We loved, loved, loved the Encore. The owners, Reinhold and David, were extremely accommodating, friendly, and flexible. They even went out of their way to get fresh berries for my husband for breakfast, when they found out he disliked other fresh fruit. Very sweet. Eating in the sunny breakfast nook was a perfect start to the day. Every day we had our choice of fresh baked goods and they were delicious. You must try the delectable sticky buns at least once during your stay!

We stayed on the third floor, in the Albee Room, for 5 nights in March 2013 and it was extremely clean, stylish, roomy, and comfortable. There is a large sitting area, full closet, washroom with standing shower, and a walk-out balcony. The best part of the stay was that every furniture and accent piece in the B & B is picked with care - we loved the focus on theatrical accents (charming posters and masks), and the colour schemes were warm and modern. It was a hundred times better - and much more affordable - than any Bostonian hotel we could have stayed in. One note - if you are unable to make it upstairs 3 flights to the Albee, you may want to choose one of the rooms on the 2nd floor.

The South End of Boston is beautiful - Encore is located on a historical, brick-lined, row of Victorian brownstones and is near the restaurant row on Tremont Street. It was a beautiful neighbourhood and can't wait to go back. The location of the B & B is very convenient - 2 blocks from the subway station, and close to both downtown and the Fenway/ Kenmore area. Major bus lines are close by as well.

We will definitely be returning to Boston and the Encore during the summer months for baseball, theatre and patio season. Thanks Encore, and especially Reinhold, for making our stay warm and comfortable in Boston. ~ Amy & Dave

Room Tip: The Albee Room is gorgeous - spring for it! It's extremely roomy and the patio is a nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyBaby345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Some friends and I took over the top floor (the Sondheim and Albee rooms) at Encore for 5 nights and it was great! The rooms are lovely and the B&B is located in such a beautiful area of Boston. I can't wait to go back!

The Hynes Convention Center was actually much closer than shown on Google Maps because you enter through the Prudential Center, which is only 3 blocks away.

There is a Wine Emporium at the end of the block and a little market nearby. Lots of restaurants and grocery stores within 6 blocks walk. Even after a winter snow storm, we enjoyed walking around this neighbourhood.

The breakfast is simple, but lovely and delicious. Order croissants for breakfast—they are AMAZING and come from a fantastic bakery called Flour just around the corner from the B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sierra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I just spent four nights in the Sondheim suite, and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The room was spacious, with lovely exposed brick and large windows. Reinhold is a gracious host, and the breakfasts are simple, fresh and delicious. The croissants aren't to be missed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,383 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#19 of 84 in Boston
3,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,242 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Bed and Breakfast

Address: 116 W Newton St, Boston, MA 02118-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $153 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encore is a Boston bed and breakfast in the historic and trendy South End neighborhood. The ideal alternative to typical hotel lodging, Encore Bed and Breakfast offers 21st-century comfort in a 19th-century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Encore Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore Hotel Boston
Encore b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing