We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay at the Encore! Can't wait to return.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We loved, loved, loved the Encore. The owners, Reinhold and David, were extremely accommodating, friendly, and flexible. They even went out of their way to get fresh berries for my husband for breakfast, when they found out he disliked other fresh fruit. Very sweet. Eating in the sunny breakfast nook was a perfect start to the day. Every day we had our choice of fresh baked goods and they were delicious. You must try the delectable sticky buns at least once during your stay!

We stayed on the third floor, in the Albee Room, for 5 nights in March 2013 and it was extremely clean, stylish, roomy, and comfortable. There is a large sitting area, full closet, washroom with standing shower, and a walk-out balcony. The best part of the stay was that every furniture and accent piece in the B & B is picked with care - we loved the focus on theatrical accents (charming posters and masks), and the colour schemes were warm and modern. It was a hundred times better - and much more affordable - than any Bostonian hotel we could have stayed in. One note - if you are unable to make it upstairs 3 flights to the Albee, you may want to choose one of the rooms on the 2nd floor.

The South End of Boston is beautiful - Encore is located on a historical, brick-lined, row of Victorian brownstones and is near the restaurant row on Tremont Street. It was a beautiful neighbourhood and can't wait to go back. The location of the B & B is very convenient - 2 blocks from the subway station, and close to both downtown and the Fenway/ Kenmore area. Major bus lines are close by as well.

We will definitely be returning to Boston and the Encore during the summer months for baseball, theatre and patio season. Thanks Encore, and especially Reinhold, for making our stay warm and comfortable in Boston. ~ Amy & Dave

Room Tip: The Albee Room is gorgeous - spring for it! It's extremely roomy and the patio is a nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyBaby345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 817 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Some friends and I took over the top floor (the Sondheim and Albee rooms) at Encore for 5 nights and it was great! The rooms are lovely and the B&B is located in such a beautiful area of Boston. I can't wait to go back!

The Hynes Convention Center was actually much closer than shown on Google Maps because you enter through the Prudential Center, which is only 3 blocks away.

There is a Wine Emporium at the end of the block and a little market nearby. Lots of restaurants and grocery stores within 6 blocks walk. Even after a winter snow storm, we enjoyed walking around this neighbourhood.

The breakfast is simple, but lovely and delicious. Order croissants for breakfast—they are AMAZING and come from a fantastic bakery called Flour just around the corner from the B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sierra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I just spent four nights in the Sondheim suite, and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The room was spacious, with lovely exposed brick and large windows. Reinhold is a gracious host, and the breakfasts are simple, fresh and delicious. The croissants aren't to be missed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

It was my first time staying at a B&B in Boston and my experience at the Encore was a wonderful one. The location was wonderful, the owners Reinhold and David made us feel very welcome and had many tips on what to see and do. They even managed to get us some tickets to the theatre. I was also impressed with the detail paid to the breakfast. Despite being caught in the blizzard there was a fresh breakfast that was served each morning. They also knew which restaurants would be open during the height of the storm. Local knowledge and attention to detail can't be beat. It was a beautiful space and I would recommend it to anyone traveling to Boston. Iwona.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iwona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at Encore the weekend before Super Storm Sandy came ashore. Needless to say, my flight to Pittsburgh on Monday morning was cancelled. Reinhold went out of his way to help with my travel needs and allowed me to stay at Encore for as long as necessary. But even under normal circumstances, Encore is a great B&B. It is clean, quiet, well-maintained and in a great location. The owners are helpful, thoughtful and charming. I highly recommend Encore B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFDilliard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Albee room just for one night and wished we could have stayed forever! The high ceilings, beams, beautiful decor, lighting and a balcony as well. It was so cozy, and the breakfast the next morning was absolutely fantastic. Reinhold, the owner, is a lovely man as well.

Looking forward to coming back ASAP.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I went for a weekend in Boston and i found out about this excellent B&B via tripadvisor. The comments were all positives and they were true to the quality of our stay. The B&B is well located at walking distance of exellent restaurants. So easy to get there and park with good and clear advices from the host Reinhold. The place is quiete, well decorated, good breakfast and very welcoming and helpfull host. We recommend it without any doubt!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kithie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,428 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
South End
Clarendon Square Inn
Clarendon Square Inn
#2 of 37 in Boston
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#5 of 37 in Boston
365 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#7 of 37 in Boston
438 reviews
Downtown
Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Bed and Breakfast

Address: 116 W Newton St, Boston, MA 02118-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $139 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encore is a Boston bed and breakfast in the historic and trendy South End neighborhood. The ideal alternative to typical hotel lodging, Encore Bed and Breakfast offers 21st-century comfort in a 19th-century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Encore Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore b&b
Encore Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing