We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I really love Encore B&B - this was my second stay there. I as soon as I knew I was going to Boston I thought of this place. It feels like a very cool home from home. Reinhold and David are really friendly, the place is gorgeous and breakfast is delicious. The B&B is in a fantastic location - in the hip South End, but within walking distance of much of the city. I would absolutely stay here again and warmly recommend it

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 817 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

We loved our stay at Encore! I called the guesthouse when we were considering staying in Boston and found Reinhold to be very friendly and accommodating. When we arrived - there were five of us staying in three rooms - he immediately came out to help us carry all our luggage upstairs and then showed my husband where to park the car at the back of the property. Afterwards he spent time telling us about some good places to eat and how to get to get to the T. The rooms are gorgeous with very stylish furniture and lovely ensuite bathrooms, all set up on the top two floors and completely separate from the rest of the house below. There is plenty of space in each room and they are very clean with nice crisp linen on each super comfortable bed. We all slept like logs. Reinhold serves a delicious breakfast with the most yummy granola and fresh fruit and yoghurt and a huge selction of pastries from a fabulous local bakery called Flour (that by the way makes amazing sandwiches which we picked up on our last morning for our drive home to New York). There is a great little breakfast nook where we also sat in the evenings to chat about our plans for the next day and look through the wide selection of guide books and maps. The guesthouse is in such a great part of Boston with so many eateries to choose from and in close proximity to the T. This really is a delightful place to stay and we would highly recommend it to anyone who likes the intimacy of a home and who appreciates staying in such an interesting neighborhood. Thanks again, Reinhold, for your wonderful hospitality - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I recently had the opportunity to stay in the Encore B & B. We have stayed in B & B's in the U.S. and Europe. By far this was the best experience we have ever had. Our room was on the top floor of this historic row house with an outstanding view of the south side of Boston. Our hosts were excellent in every way. They went out of their way to give advice on local transportation, tours, and restaurants. All of their recommendations were superb. The morning breakfast was extremely well prepared, and we had fresh bakery items each day. The room was clean, well appointed, and very functional. We simply could not have found a better place to stay with gracious and friendly hosts. We would strongly recommend Encore to anyone seeking a unique and well maintained B & B in Boston. We will certainly recommend Encore to our friends and colleagues who travel to the Boston area. There were simply no complaints of any kind during our stay. Everyone should try Encore if they want to truly enjoy a special time in Boston.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were great. We stayed in the Albee Room.... This was the best in my estimation. Cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Well located, an accommodating host, good breakfasts and very comfortable rooms. A very superior b and b. If however you have mobility issues or tons of luggage this is not for you. There are lots of stairs. Other than that-hesitate not.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in the deathly cold of Boston December and it was so lovely to come home to such a comfortable bedroom. Reinhold was a fantastic host. Happy to chat and share travel stories when asked but reserved if you'd prefer privacy (we didn't!). I coveted all the gorgeous furnishings which were exactly my taste. Lovely breakfast of fruit, granola, yoghurt, boiled egg and your choice of danish from popular neighbourhood bakery Flour.

Thanks again Reinhold

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracyannmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our first trip to Boston from NZ in April required some research on the best place to stay.
Trip Advisor is always a good start and Encore B & B had so many great reviews we decided that it sounded like a place we would love.
How true that was!
A long journey from Nantucket Island by ferry, a bus ride from Hyannis and a 'run in' with a very rude bus driver who yelled at us when we did not get off the bus quickly enough for him as we were unsure if we had arrived in Boston city yet and he was not forthcoming with any information as to where we were. We arrived at Encore B & B very stressed.

Reinhold met us at the door and carried our bags up the flights of stairs to our beautiful quiet and peaceful room, the Sondheim. The cleanliness, the impressive contemporary furnishing was very much to our taste.
After almost a month of travel on both the East and West Coasts of Canada and the East Coast of the USA we felt like we now had time for a good rest. And we did.

Reinhold we found to be a delightful, gracious gentleman, very helpful in many aspects: where to shop, where to visit etc. He explained the air conditioning, the breakfast times, pointed out brochures at the entrance and recommended the best places to eat at the end of his street. We left wishing we could see more of him, such was his friendliness.
Our stay was comparable to staying with friends.

Encore B & B is a very stylish, warm quiet and comfortable place to stay. The area around has beautiful red brick buildings, and we were lucky enough to be there when the trees lining the streets were starting to show their soft new green leaves each day.
We were lucky enough to meet Reinhold's partner David a few times, he was very busy with his love of the theatre, also a delightful gracious man.
Our whole experience with Encore will stay in our memory for a long time. It is a pity that we live so far away as we might not ever get to see this beautiful part of the USA again and to enjoy a few more nights at the Encore.
Without hesitation we would recommend everyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gypsygirl342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Our apologies to Reinhold and David, the lovely owners of the Encore B&B, as this review is almost 3 years overdue! We stayed at the B&B in March 2010, but it's taken us this long to get around to posting our review. Incredible B&B in a great location, just South of downtown Boston - easy walking distance into the City or to the nearest 'T' station. The rooms are all named and themed after composers of famous Musicals, visualising David and Reinhold's passion for the theatre. We stayed in the Sondheim room, which was beautifully decorated, spacious and very well equipped with everything you could want from a top hotel, let alone a B&B! Where Encore goes the extra mile is the personal touches and warm, friendly service. The breakfast is fresh and healthy - often what's needed after too many burgers and fries! If we ever go back to Boston, we'll definitely be staying here again. We fell in love with the City and this incredible B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,421 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
South End
Clarendon Square Inn
Clarendon Square Inn
#4 of 37 in Boston
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#5 of 37 in Boston
365 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#7 of 37 in Boston
433 reviews
Downtown
Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Bed and Breakfast

Address: 116 W Newton St, Boston, MA 02118-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $139 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encore is a Boston bed and breakfast in the historic and trendy South End neighborhood. The ideal alternative to typical hotel lodging, Encore Bed and Breakfast offers 21st-century comfort in a 19th-century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Encore Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore b&b
Encore Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing