We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Hynes Center conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Perfect for Hynes Center conference”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Accommodations were perfect for me - I attended a 3.5 day conference at the Hynes center. I sometimes like to get away from the "hotel culture" and stay in a place that is cozy. The Walk to the Hynes Center is 3 blocks, along a lovely tree lined street. Safe neighborhood and convenient to great restaurants, shops and wine store!
Reinhold, the gracious host at Encore, was sweet and accommodating, and makes the best coffee ever! Lovely breakfast of yogurt and granola with fruit, scrumptious goodies from the local bakery & breads. Highly recommend for solo travelers and couples.

Room Tip: Robbins room perfect for 1 person business travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    86
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
50
477
69
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Encore to celebrate his Birthday. The location was perfect, close to many wonderful restaurants and it was easy to get around to other great sites in the city. Reinhold was so helpful and friendly which made our stay personal and special. The decore was trendy and modern. Breakfast was wonderful, especially the sticky buns. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTBulleit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Encore is an old building beautifully renovated and an excellent place to stay. Easy walk to the underground train, or buses, or even a reasonable walk into town. A lot of stairs to climb with luggage, but lovely rooms. Breakfast room where you can make tea when you need it. Newest style bathroom fittings with powerful shower. Reasonably quiet location. Nice restaurants in easy walking distance.
Very comfortable bed and armchairs. Very clean.
Reinold is great host.

Room Tip: Book the third floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MS31Dec2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We selected Encore because of the great reviews it received on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed.

The location of the Bed and Breakfast is superb, just a 5 minute walk to the Back Bay (Orange line) subway station, and right next to Massachusetts Ave, a major street that leads all the way up to MIT/Harvard. The establishment is nestled in a quaint, beautiful neighborhood.

Hosts Reinhold and David were warm and took care of the details - everything in the room was clean and organized, and we were fortunate to have the Albee room with had a small balcony opening where we could see the sun rise.

A breakfast checklist was presented in the room - we just needed to tick our options and leave it on the counter for the next day. The pastries were always fresh and tasty; Reinhold tells us its from a nearby bakery where products are often sold out within an hour of opening. The scones, croissants and various buns were top notch. Granola, fruit and yoghurt were plentiful and fresh, and breakfast always succeeded to set the tone for a great day of exploring Boston.

Thanks again to Reinhold and David! We'll definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Try to reserve the Albee room! It's on the top floor, with a east-facing balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psychicpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Encore. Its location is in the 'brownstone' area of Boston - leafy, well lit and feels very safe. You can walk everywhere from it - the museums, the Freedom Trail, the sea, the Prudential Centre shops - and it has several good eateries nearby (which they list for you). It is also very close to Back Bay Station.The B&B, being a brownstone house, has character. Our room was nicely decorated and the bathroom good. It was spacious, with two chairs and a table for a sitting area and of course a TV. The bed was comfortable and whilst there is aircon, we really liked being able to open a window and get some fresh air! The breakfast was a delicious continental one - well presented fruit/yogurt and granola, boiled eggs if wanted, continental meat/cheese, pastries, rolls - all in a first floor nook in a bay window overlooking the leafy street. We enjoyed dining on a table of 4/6 with other guests. The proprietor was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natal, RN
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I do recomend The Encore. It has a kindly service and a good localisation nearby restaurants and bars. It is a walk distance from the Boston Commons, where you starts the Freedom Tail, and many other turistic and interesting points of Boston. Futhermore the innkeeper makes the best Coffee I've ever drank in United States.

Room Tip: If you stay during summer or spring, try the Albee room. It has a medium size terrace where a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hougelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our first three nights in Boston were spent in the north part of town in a nice hotel. But to get a better feel for Boston we decided to check out the South End. This neighborhood is fantastic. It has so much character and charm. It has a very European ambiance. Staying at Encore was my first experience at a B&B and I was a little apprehensive. Well Encore turned out to be a gem. Encore seemed to be right in the middle of it all. There is a lot going on Tremont St. (Newton’s cross street). Our host was super nice; he was informative, but not intrusive. He provided us with a delicious breakfast each morning in a pleasant little dining room with a beautiful view of W. Newton St. Our room was super quiet with a very comfortable bed. Encore’s location puts you in the center of so much. We were able to walk everywhere: the MFA Boston, to the Theatre District (where we saw a dance performance at the Shubert), to the Prudential Shopping Center, the beautiful Public Library… In the evening we would stroll down Tremont or Columbus and stop in one of its many restaurants. Love this part of town! I didn’t feel like a tourist - and heading back to Encore for the night felt like heading home!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,324 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,776 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 83 in Boston
3,259 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Bed and Breakfast

Property: Encore Bed and Breakfast
Address: 116 W Newton St, Boston, MA 02118-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encore is a Boston bed and breakfast in the historic and trendy South End neighborhood. The ideal alternative to typical hotel lodging, Encore Bed and Breakfast offers 21st-century comfort in a 19th-century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Encore Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore b&b
Encore Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing