We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in beautiful Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This B and B is a gem. In an excellent location with attractive and well equipped rooms (complete with B & O radio). Breakfast is just right and served in an attractive and sunny nook. Reinhold is a charming and helpful host. All in all, I would highly recommend Encore to anyone contemplating a visit to Boston.

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank Googleeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Guest. Your TA name didn't give the slightest hint about the reviewer. Of course I am thrilled, that you enjoyed your time at Encore B&B. Thank you for your great review and a beautiful image of the breakfast nook.
Sincerely
Reinhold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 811 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent 3 nights in the Sondheim room and had a very pleasant stay at this wonderfult B&B. Room and bathroom are tastefully furnished and spacious. Our host Reinhold was very friendly and helpful and prepared a very good breakfast. Besides, he speaks German fluently which was an advantage for us. He also made recommendations for restaurants in the neighborhood (our favourite was "Coppa", an excellent Italian restaurant), where you can find lots of small but very good restaurants. As already said in other reviews, the neighborhood is very nice and quiet, with about 15 minutes walking distance to downtown and 5 minutes to subway station. Parking is available on-site, but as said on the homepage of the B&B really not appropriate for oversized cars. We had a great time at Boston and would definitely return to Encore B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent 3 nights in the Encore Bed & Breakfast, in the "Sondheim" room. The B & B is in a wonderful old building in West Newton Street, a quiet side street off Tremont Street. The room was very nice, exactly like the picture on the homepage. Breakfast was good as well, you could choose from a long list of items the night before. The location of the B & B is brilliant, very close to Tremont Street with a lot of great restaurants, also only a few minutes from Prudential center and the T. The owner Reinhold (who speaks German) is very nice and helpful. All in all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Encore B&B offers everything you want from a city B&B: best location, great neighbourhood, nice, modern room with a lot of attention for details, good firm bed and comfortable chairs, clean and luxury bathroom, a parking space on request and a very good breakfast. After coming home in the evening we filled out the breakfast form, no trouble at all, we love to have a choice. The granola-yoghurt-fresh fruit is really lovely, and so is all the other stuff. We have visited twice now (both times in the Robbins room), and will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great stay at Encore. Not the archetypal US B&B - no chintz - more modern boutique style with theatre based style. We had one of the samller rooms (Robbins) but still plenty of room, wiht nice en suite. Breakfast good - range of choices including pastries from local bakery - choose the night before and if you're there for a few days can ring the changes. Attentive but not intrusive service from Reinhold who was very welcoming and helpful wiht advice etc. Lots of places to eat nearby in fairly upmarket neighbourhood which is walkable to Copley Square, MFA etc and reasonable public transport nearby if needed. Very nice neighbourhood of brownstones, quiet side street makes it feel as though you are stying in the community rather than corporate hotel experience.

Room Tip: All rooms very pleasant (air-con, plenty of space, wi-fi etc), though you do need to climb stiars so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonKaytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have stayed in the Encore several times now, and our stay is always a pleasure. The rooms are beautiful, the neighborhood is very nice, and the breakfast is superb. The owner is a perfect host, and the service is always great.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jaap-tav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinhold M, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

We are more then grateful for this review. It is special, because it comes from a valued repeat guests, who must appreciate our hospitality. We are looking forward to more "encores" at Encore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had a lovely time at this BnB. Breakfast was good quality, with choice of boiled egg, different breads, sweet pastries from a great bakery, juice, hot drinks and Reinhold served a different fruit everyday with yummy granola and yoghurt. We liked the stage posters, masks and fresh flowers whichgave it a personal touch. The rooms are well kept with tv, speakers and good cosmetic freebies! Beds are a little hard but we slept well as it is quiet at night and has good air con. I think it's located in the best location in Boston if you are site seeing. An interesting, safe and attractive neighbourhood with more than enough restaurants for the evening and good transport links. Good set up for guests to come and go, and even arrive late if your flight gets in late or happens to be delayed. We stayed in the Albee room and the Robbins room. The Albee room comes with a balcony which is great extra and I would spend the extra on this rather than going for the Robbins room next time, as this is next to the breakfast area and could be a little noisy if you want to sleep a little longer. Overall an excellent BnB.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are quieter. The Albee room has a lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaxB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,386 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#19 of 84 in Boston
3,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,242 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Bed and Breakfast

Address: 116 W Newton St, Boston, MA 02118-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $154 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encore is a Boston bed and breakfast in the historic and trendy South End neighborhood. The ideal alternative to typical hotel lodging, Encore Bed and Breakfast offers 21st-century comfort in a 19th-century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Encore Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore Hotel Boston
Encore b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing