We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in Albee Room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Encore Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great stay in Albee Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We had an excellent stay for two nights during our honeymoon in this fantastic B&B in one of the best neighbourhoods in central Boston. Reinhold met us on arrival and insisted on helping us with our bags up the stairs.

The room is very well decorated with high quality furniture and finishes. It's more like a boutique hotel than a standard B&B. The large balcony overlooking the tree lined street was an excellent place to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening before dinner.

Breakfast was excellent and there was no shortage of food on offer which is ordered in from a local bakery. There was no problems getting recommendations from Reinhold on local restaurants or help with other bookings. We plan returning to Boston in the coming years and will definitely make Encore our base.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colindkavanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    83
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
46
463
68
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had to cancel our trip to the US (from New Zealand) at very short notice due to a cycle accident and Reinhold at Encore went out of his way to make the late cancelltion process as stress free and pleasant as possible. His communication had always been courteous and helpful, but he kept us well informed about selling our booked rooms so we didnt have to pay, and helped dispose of our Boston Sox game tickets too! His customer service is second to none, and even though we didnt get to stay at Encore (yet) we will still highly recommend it to others. In the end, it's the people who make the difference!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

5 days at this lovely inn: Room was comfy and clean, breakfast was always delightful and Reinhold was an excellent host. Tree-lined street, lots of character, a cozy breakfast nook and convenient full size fridge in the hall. Hip neighborhood with good eats and shops within a short walk. A guest book in the room helpfully detailed local restaurants. Kept my luggage safely tucked away on departure day so I could enjoy the morning and grab it on my way to the airport. Good location to walk to most sights, a short walk to Copley Square where you can enjoy the magnificent public library (McKim building) and a weekly farmer's market (Tues/Fri). Would gladly stay again and again.

Room Tip: Robbins room was perfect for me as a solo traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Lovely rooms, wonderful contemporary furnishings, in a great location if you're up for a little walking and exploring. Good restaurants in the vicinity, too. Enjoyed the breakfasts, everything well-presented, host accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riblain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just spent the weekend at the Encore B&B - was our first trip to Boston. We found it was centrally located within a great neighbourhood - walked just about everywhere, to Old Boston, Bunker Hall, Fenway Park, even over to Cambridge. The room was clean and tidy, and offered more than enough space for the two of us. The breakfasts were delicious, and the owners very helpful and accomodating. Overall, a great experience - I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 nights in Boston while celebrating our 25th anniversary. The owners were away vacationing but we were treated very well by Fabian. We stayed in the Albee room; it was spacious, clean, and private and had the extra benefit of the balcony. We did not tire of the delicious breakfasts. The shared dining room does not present a problem to us; part of the reason we enjoy B&B's is for the opportunity to meet so many interesting people. We met folks from Paris, Australia, and Brazil during our stay. Location was great; a very pleasant walk to the subway in Back Bay which we took everywhere. It was nice to be in an upscale residential neighborhood away from other tourists. We would definetely return and would hope for the chance to meet our hosts!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We are ourselves guesthouse owners and so understand the many and complex issues surrounding the provision of a good quality product to clients. I read with sympathy the critique of an earlier guest to this B&B - sympathy for both the client and for the owner of this establishment. Travel has, unfortunately become an expensive activity and the cost of accommodation plays a large part in this cost escalation.The choice of a B&B over an hotel is a very personal one. We prefer the smaller establishment because we like the individuality of surroundings which this affords. I have to say that the owner of Encore B&B is completely up-front about his product. Every element is carefully spelled out so that we were perfectly happy that we got what we expected on arrival. The owner in fact went out of his way to arrange for a restaurant booking for us and we received a special free course from the restaurant at his request! Thank you for that! The room is the size you would expect from a city B&B and very thoughtfully decorated and appointed. In our case there were amenities of a good quality set out for our use in the bathroom. The address is very convenient and the breakfast, while admittedly at a shared table, was plentiful and very carefully sourced - we have never tasted better coffee! All in all we left the house well satisfied. All inn-keepers have their own style, ours is different from this this B&B owner's because each has to play to his/her strengths and I have no hesitation in saying that the efficiency and attention to detail with which Encore is run is exemplary - this owner has no reason to take a back seat.

Room Tip: Follow their restaurant recommendations and do not MISS THE MORNING COFFEE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inkululeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,231 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,442 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Bed and Breakfast

Property: Encore Bed and Breakfast
Address: 116 W Newton St, Boston, MA 02118-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encore is a Boston bed and breakfast in the historic and trendy South End neighborhood. The ideal alternative to typical hotel lodging, Encore Bed and Breakfast offers 21st-century comfort in a 19th-century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Encore Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore Hotel Boston
Encore b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing