We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great American city”
Review of Boston Citywalks

Boston Citywalks
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Boston Freedom Trail to Copley Square Walking Tour
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Downtown Freedom Trail Walking Tour in Boston
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Copley Square to Downtown Boston Freedom Trail Walking Tour
Ranked #54 of 142 Tours in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Boston CityWalks does scheduled and custom private walking tours of Boston. We give walking tours with passion, covering history, architecture and the culture of Boston. We limit tour sizes and make sure you see and hear everything! We have history and architecture walking tours of the Freedom Trail, Beacon Hill, Back Bay, The North End and Harvard Square. If you cannot attend our scheduled tours or looking for something special, we will be happy to design a custom tour just for you, your friends or family and your guests. You can tell us what you would like to see or let us know the kinds of things you're interested in and we'll custom design a tour just for you.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A great American city”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a great city made better by the fact that it is walker friendly. There is a lot to see and do not least the walking trails which are marked by coloured lines to follow on the walkway. There are several routes to follow. We did the freedom trail which is full of history on the war of independence. it will take you to sights such as the scene of the famous Boston tea party and a number of other historic buildings including churches and cemeteries housing the graves of those killed in the war of independence. There is a wealth of information at all points on the trail and it is educational for adults and children alike. Boston has plenty of places to eat and drink and there are plenty of these en route including the famous Quincy market where in the food halls there is a wealth of international quisine to suit all tastes and budgets. Boston is relatively flat so it is wheelchair friendly although not all of the buildings have wheelchair access.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lorri855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    8
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, UK
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Great Introduction to Boston”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked this walking tour before leaving the UK as we wanted to get our bearings and learn about the city on our first morning. Alan was a great guide - very knowledgeable and humourous throughout the walk - and provided us with an excellent understanding of the city, the Freedom Trail and areas such as Back Bay and Beacon Hill. Although the weather was warm, the pace of the walk was easily manageable and the distance covered modest. Good walking shoes and a bottle of water advised though. All in all, a great thing to do. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlanandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Downtown/Copley Square, Freedom Trail”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Allen was our guide for this tour that covered a large portion of the downown Boston area. He made all of the group members feel included and addressed the various interests of each of us. The tour went over time and I did not ever get the sense that Allen was annoyed or rushed. he took his time and showed us many of the important historical sites of this city he is so clearly proud to call home. Allen was personable, engaging and well-informed. I learned a lot and thnk that every American should take this tour to learn about the early years. I would definitely suggest taking this tour early on in your stay in Boston as it is a great way to get oriented to the lay of the land.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdmalawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best way to see Boston”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We did the 2 hour tour from downtown, through Beacon Hill and out to Back Bay, and it was the best introduction to Boston historically and geographically. Alan was a wonderful tour guide and extremely knowledgeable about the city. We were a small group - only 7 people - which allowed us to stop and ask questions, or get more detail on a particular building or site or area. Alan always had the information regardless of the type of question! I learned a lot about the history of Boston through all its transitions, and it made our further travels far more interesting.

The other critical thing this tour does is orient you to the city while making you realize how small it actually is. All the maps of Boston you will see are tiny - you will need a child with good eyes or a magnifying glass to actually read street names! And the maps make it look much bigger than it is. Touring with Alan allowed us to find landmarks that served us extremely well in the following days - we got lost far less frequently than we would have without his tour!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellingCanuckYOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting afternoon tour”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Alan was a very friendly tour guide. My husband and I were the only two people who booked that day so we got a private tour. Alan was very accommodating, focusing on what we liked (history more than architecture) since it was just the 2 of us. He knew his stuff and presented the information in a fun way. We did Tour #3 Copley Square (Back Bay) to Downtown Freedom Trail via Beacon Hill Walking Tour, starting at 12:30pm on a Saturday. We enjoyed it very much and thought it was the perfect length to fill in some free time that afternoon.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Citywalks also viewed

 

Been to Boston Citywalks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing