We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this when you stop at Old North Church”

The Printing Office of Edes & Gill
Ranked #34 of 403 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Printing Office of Edes & Gill, Boston’s only colonial era printing experience, will opened its doors to the public on April 15, 2011, We are open daily 11:30 to 5pmLocated along the Freedom Trail at the historic Clough House, which is owned by and conveniently located adjacent to Old North Church.With the opening of the colonial print shop on April 15, visitors will have the opportunity to engage living historians working their printers trade in pre-revolutionary Boston. These same printers were at the vanguard of citizen angst over British governmental policies that Bostonians felt violated their rights as Englishmen.We offer unique personal encounters with history and colonial printing. As Boston’s only colonial trade experience and only colonial living history interpretive experience, our historic equipment, live demonstrations, interpreters and historic settings enable new levels of understanding how colonial printing affected communities and sparked a revolution in America.We seek to recreate this experience for visitors and school groups to Boston’s Freedom Trail and to rekindle the spirit of Samuel Adams who urged fellow citizens to join this “animating contest of Liberty!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a quick stop and is connected to the Colonial Chocolate exhibit also. Both sides have educators explain their processes, in the chocolate exhibit you even get to taste Colonial Hot Chocolate as it would have made. The printer talked you through the steps of that process and showed how the simple advances shared information.

1  Thank Kccey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 256 of 318 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a very cool - just around corner from Old North Church - live demonstration of printing of Declaration of Independence as it was done in 1776. Gary Gregory, the printer, is a wealth of information and has done something truly remarkable in recreating history before your eyes. Kudos to Gary for taking on this huge project - when he printed the Declaration and read from it aloud just blocks from where it was originally written, it brought tears to my eyes. This is a don't miss stop on the Freedom Trail!

1  Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Because it's not specifically listed as a stop on Boston's Freedom Trail, many visitors overlook the Printing Office of Edes & Gill. This is unfortunate because, while many in the area have "commercialized" the American Revolution, it seems that the passion and drive of Master Printer Gary Gregory has helped the Printing Office to avoid that trap.

My wife and I stumbled upon this gem -- housed in the Clouse House and adjacent to the Old North Church -- on July 3rd and to say that Gary was in "top form" would be an understatement. Working on the original printing press used to print the Boston edition of the Declaration of Independence over 230 years ago, Gary helped us to understand -- perhaps better than any tour guide had so far -- what it meant for men to print or sign the Declaration. It was amazing to consider the threat these men were under and the sacrifices they were willing to make to see this new country succeed! (Candidly, this was probably my favorite part of Boston -- I will soon have the very Declaration of Independence that I saw printed on the same press another, original Declaration was printed 238 years ago. A very special record of a very special memory.)

HELPFUL HINTS:
1. This is a quick stop -- 15 minutes tops -- even if you engage the knowledgeable Master Printer in a conversation concerning his work.

2. Gary will sell you the print that he makes as you watch -- you just have to ask. Also, if you'd like to have him sign the back of the Declaration -- a neat tribute to a man who is really passionate about his work -- he'll be glad to... but you'll need to have a pen handy.

3. Next door to the Print Offices is a gift shop where you can pick up other souvenirs and even watch historically-inspired demonstrations, e.g., chocolate making. If your little ones aren't really interested in the history of paper but would be more inclined toward chocolate-making (with an adult from your party supervising), this is a great place to take a short break.

3  Thank BamaRedRaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stumbled accross this printing office while visiting the North End. It was very imformative and the historian answered a lot of questions. He showed us the Declaration of Independence and also printed a copy while we watched the printing process. It was also very interesting to learn about the quality of paper and about Crane paper. It was really interesting and hope to go again on my next trip!

Thank KMGBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stopped here on our way to the Old North Church. The printer was very knowledgeable and explained how things were printed in the 1700's. He also showed us the Declaration of Independence and explained how it was passed to the colonists. In the next room, they showed you how the colonists made and used chocolate. Really interesting stop on the Freedom Trail. It is a quick stop and you may give a donation there.

Thank 86MissyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Printing Office of Edes & Gill also viewed

 

Been to The Printing Office of Edes & Gill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing