We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great amenities”
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We arrived at this beautiful hotel the morning after a blizzard, and were shown immediately to our room, even though it was before noon. We were given a free room upgrade without even asking, and our room had a lovely view over Boston Common. The room was great -- quiet, clean, very comfortable beds. After a day at the Museum of Fine Arts, we returned to the hotel to find a complimentary snack tray in our room -- a complete surprise, and much appreciated! The hotel is just a block from the Park St. T station, which gave us easy access to everything we wanted to see. The location and service were both outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichmondTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Hi RichmondTraveler55,

Thank you so much for taking time to write about your great stay with us! I am glad you appreciated the special snack along with the Boston view! Don’t you just love free upgrades?? We all really appreciate your post and recognition of our customer service. We hope to see you during your next visit to Boston! Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,693
    700
    145
    40
    33
See reviews for
520
1,163
152
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Nine Zero was the best hotel service I've ever encountered. We booked through Hotwire and got a great deal, and couldn't have been happier with the experience.
We were greeted with a glass of wine upon check-in, and a free upgrade to a Premier room on the 17th floor with incredible views.
When we got to the room, there was a bottle of chilled champagne, a cheese platter and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us, as well as a very sweet card from Thomas, the head concierge, wishing us a happy anniversary (I had no idea at the time, but he'd been emailed before our arrival explaining our trip was an anniversary surprise for me).
The room itself was small but well-planned, with very comfortable beds and pillows and a spacious bathroom. In fact, the hairdryer that came in the bathroom was even nicer than the one I have at home.
The service was unbelievable. Kevin, at the front desk, gave us wonderful restaurant recommendations again and again, and Thomas had another bottle of champagne sent up for us on our last night, as well.
It pays to become a Kimpton InTouch member ahead of time - free wifi!
Location was excellent, close to two different T stops and right next to Quincy Market, so even the nearly two feet of snow that fell on our second day in Boston barely affected our plans.
The hotel also gave us a free on-demand movie rental during the blizzard, and even sent up popcorn when we decided to watch it!

My only possible complaints would be the heat was very loud whenever it kicked on, especially in the middle of the night, and there's no fan in the bathroom. But overall, the service was so superb, nothing could get us down. Nine Zero made this an amazing trip to Boston even in the middle of a blizzard - that's saying something.
We'll definitely be back to visit Nine Zero again, soon.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCF3060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Hello GCF3060,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at The Nine Zero for your special anniversary occasion! I am glad that Thomas, Kevin, and the whole staff made the Boston Winter Wonderland a fun experience and home away from home. Nothing like a good hair dryer to get you through a snow storm! We really appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay and we hope to see you again soon as a loyal Kimpton InTouch member.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We just stayed a week at the Nine Zero. We were booked for four nights but the blizzard kept us three three additional nights. Don't feel sorry for us. It was a real pleasure. When we arrived we were warmly greeted on a very cold evening and immediately offered a glass of wine. The staff was wonderful. Our every request was promptly handled. The location provides a wide range of places to eat, although being near Fanuel Hall, some are too touristy for our taste. But there are plenty of other options. If I have a complaint it was the food. We only ate breakfast there which was adequate, fast, with great service, but it lacked a tad. The afternoon free wine from 5-6 is well attended and offers a chance to meet other guests. The elevators are super fast, wifi works throughout the hotel, and water pressure was great. A large chain hotel we stayed at a week earlier in Boston failed all three of these tests. The next time we return to Boston we will surely stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

I joined the Kimpton Hotel guest program prior to staying here. I was greeted with a glass of wine, and (presumable because it was the New Year week), a complimentary bottle of champagne in my room. All the staff without exception were particulatly delightful, helpful, friendly, and seemed to be genuinely interested in doing anything they could to assist me in any way. The bed and pillows were fantastic, the room and bathroom had excellent lighting and amenities. Best of all is the price. For comparable hotels, this is outstanding. For the first night, a friend decided to join me, so I phoned to ensure I had a king bed or two queens. I was given the option, and chose two queens. All this at no extra cost. My only criticism is that there is no decent towel rail in the bathroom to dry towels.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flitzaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Dear Flitzaround,

Thank you for being a loyal Kimpton InTouch member! I am glad the room change was made an easy process for you. I, too, LOVE the complimentary hosted wine reception. Did you know that we choose eco-friendly bottled wines and they change each month?

Thanks for choosing the Nine Zero as well as posting about your visit. We hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed over Christmas for a week. We booked the King Premiere Room with a view. The view was excellent and the room was very nice. We didn't eat at the restaurant or try the bar so I can't comment on those. The location is excellent being just a block from Boston Common and several blocks from Faneuil Hall. Newbury street is just across the Common.
Overall we really liked the hotel and will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjslatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Location is good - probably, this is the case with most hotels, considering Boston is not that big. Rooms are relatively clean and nice but small. Yes, they have free wine everyday and they try to be hip, contemporary etc but they don't have standards in terms of customer service. They mention in their guest book that kids get a free gift at chec in, but they didn't offer us one - after my 8year old son read it, we had to ask for it. They also claim that you can get a loan pet fish, and when my son asked for one, they said none left. So we didn't receive any of the pampering they claim to provide. It is one thing not to be pampered if they don't promise to do so but another thing not to get it while some other customers receive and you don't. Just makes you uncomfortable for no reason.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurcadisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay with us. It is disheartening to read your family experienced the disappointment you describe in regards to our ability to deliver on our promise. We are terribly sorry for this inconvenience and I assure you we will get better as a result. Come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

This hotel is in a perfect location, literally steps away from the Freedom Trail and a block from the Park T stop. The staff was beyond helpful, giving us directions, making reservations, offering advice and just being friendly. The accomodations are amazing, very modern up to date with all the ammenities you could ask for. They always have fresh fruit infused water out, hot chocolate in the afternoon and a wine reception at night. I forgot my hair straightener...and they had some one hand to borrow!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daydreamingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
7,407 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#19 of 83 in Boston
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,862 reviews
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 83 in Boston
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel

Property: Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108-4101 (Formerly Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Family Hotel in Boston
#13 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing