We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel-Definitely a hotel to visit again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Ranked #19 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel-Definitely a hotel to visit again!”
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Beautiful hotel, wonderful view of the city. Within walking distance to the Boston Common. Concierge was very helpful, even gave us an upgrade. Thank you Thomas!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R-n-J_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,669
    693
    144
    38
    32
See reviews for
506
1,153
151
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

A friend and I took our two daughters (and two of their friends) to Boston for an overnight celebration of their Sweet Sixteen birthday. After talking with several hotels, I knew the Nine Zero was where we wanted to be. They asked me specifically for the names and correct spellings of the birthday girls. The price quoted to us for two adjoining rooms each with two queen beds was phenomenal. The hotel lobby is fabulous - very funky, cool and stylish. When we checked into our rooms early, we were thrilled - the rugs were a bold pattern, the beds were really cool, with high, leather backed headboards and fluffly down comforters. But the big thrill was the four beautifully decorated cupcakes laid out on a table with two teddy bears, two cards and a birthday sign with the girls' names on it. They were oohing and aahing, when a knock came on the door and Thomas the Concierge showed up with a silver tray covered in chocolate dipped strawberries. In short, the hotel met our every need - the bathrooms were large and luxurious, with animal print bathrobes. The rooms were so quiet and our adjoining rooms were more like a suite, because they had a foyer that joined the two areas together and yet were separate from the hall. We had a delicious breakfast at the hotel's restaurant and when the waiter saw us taking photos, he asked if we were there for a special occasion - when we told him, he and another waitress came out with a birthday muffin for each girl complete with a "candy candle". It was the greatest weekend and the girls will always remember how special they were.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2010

From the moment we arrived, the staff was very welcoming and accommodating. Ben, who helped us with our bags, was fantastic! John, the front desk manager, took care of our request for adjoining rooms and was delightful. The wine reception is always a nice benefit. The room was clean - they also provided a crib which was very helpful. We would go back there in a second - the staff members were exceptional, the room was clean and spacious, the location was good.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2010

many hotels claim to be pet friendly, but how many actually have a sign up welcoming your pet by name! yes, little mocha was so happy after being in a bag on a plane, to come into the hotel and see a sign "welcome, mocha" as well as a bowl of treats and water for her in the lobby. the room is very stylish and comtemporary. i was also impressed with the location. i didn't realize it is right on boston common in the center of boston. its a shame the weather was so frigid we couldn't enjoy the park, but that's not Nine Zero's fault. would highly recommend this hotel

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chitownwanderlust71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2010
Dear chitownwanderlust71,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Nine Zero Hotel. I'm so glad that you and Mocha had such a pleasant visit! We look forward to welcoming you back again (hopefully when it's a little warmer!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Hubby and I stayed at hotel along with my co-workers for a post holiday dinner in Boston. Our warm reception actually began on the street when a bellman came out to guide us where to park. We received an awesome 19th floor upgrade upon check-in with views of the Frog Pond, the Charles River, Pru and State St. Bank...awesome view. Can't say enough good things about the staff who are very approachable and helpful. Terrific wine reception which our group enjoyed to start our night off. Already booked our next night in town because we were so impressed..Thomas has already got us looking forward to our next trip in!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2tripBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
446 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Living so close to Boston, we seldom stay over night.. but, in planning our trip to the Boston Wine Expo, we thought a hotel room would be a wise choice. I was familiar with Nine Zero, but felt they were out of my retirement travel budget until I saw a great special from Travelzoo. I booked our rooms on line, was offered an upgrade from Kimpton, but declined it.

When we arrived on Saturday afternoon, the valet was quickly at our side insuring a safe deposit of the car. Very friendly and funny!!! Inside, the front desk manager, John Markunas, noted that our friends had upgraded to a view room, but we had not. I explained that our travel budget had its limits.. Their room was ready and in checking on our room, little did we know that he had upgraded us to a "view" room as well at no extra charge. May I say for the record, if you can afford it, book a view room. The view of Boston from the corner rooms is beyond description. I was mesmerized and actually didn't want to leave!!!

Having spent most of my working life on the road in hotels, I'm very jaded about quality hotels. This was my first Kimpton and I will be on the lookout for more deals in the future based on our stay at Nine Zero. While the room was small, it was very well appointed and had an upscale yet cozy feeling to it. I felt as though I was living on the edge of the Boston Common... The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had a great shower. There were robes for both of us and just about anything you could think of in the way of food and drink in the mini bar. The only thing missing was a second chair and I bet if I had asked, I would have had one delivered in no time.

The hotel is in a perfect location for getting around Boston. It's steps to the subway, a short walk to the theater district, Beacon Hill and so much more. It truly is a gem in terms of location and ambiance. We had a delicious breakfast on Sunday morning. The coffee was hot and strong and each order cooked to perfection... and even a New York Sunday Times.. which we promptly took back to our room for Sunday reading.
The staff at Nine Zero clearly love the hotel they are working for. Funny, attentive and willing to serve...
What more could anyone ask for? Thanks Nine Zero!!! Oh What A Night!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockyisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2010

The Nine Zero was fantastic all around. From its location to decor and staff, it was an excellent stay. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watchthisWatchthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
7,275 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 83 in Boston
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 83 in Boston
1,097 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel

Property: Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108-4101 (Formerly Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#13 Green Hotel in Boston
#13 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing