We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thomas the Concierge = The MAN!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Ranked #17 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Roll Tide
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thomas the Concierge = The MAN!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

We really enjoy Kimpton hotels, so we decided to spend the last night of our honeymoon at the Nine Zero. We arrived at the hotel at 12:30 and Christina promptly informed us that no rooms were available at that time and to come back at 3, which is the official check in time. They must have been full the night before because we were told this without even being asked our name and looking in the system to see if our room was ready. No problem...we left our bags and headed out for the Freedom Trail.
At about 4:15, we arrived back at the hotel and went to the front desk. Checkin was smooth and each guest is offered a glass of champagne at checkin. We decided we would rather have a coke and were instructed to take one from the mini bar. I fully expected these cokes to be charged to our room since this was not standard practice, but the charges have not yet shown up on my card statement (I did mention this at checkout and jokingly told the clerk that I would have to call him back tomorrow to have the charges removed and he said that he would see to it that it was taken care of). We were assigned room 1705. When I booked the hotel (using the best price guarantee over the phone), my reservation was for a Queen Deluxe room (the lowest room type). After emailing the concierge and inquiring about the cost of any available upgrades, Thomas informed us that he had upgraded us to a Queen Deluxe View room. Perfect!! If you look at the photos of the hotel building, the top four floors all have floor to ceiling wraparound windows, and we were lucky enough to be in one of these rooms. Room 1705 is a corner room facing the Boston Common with a divine view of Park Street Church, the State House, the river, and Back Bay. Absolutely could not have asked for a better view!!! The room itself was not large by any means, but comfortable enough with space for a working desk with chair beside the bed, a circular armoire housing the minibar and TV (a CRT-this is the first Kimpton I've stayed in without a flat screen), and a nice comfy chair with a view toward the corner of the room. The bed looked and felt larger than a queen to me, and was truly heavenly. We stayed at the Hotel Marlowe and the Mandarin Oriental also during this same trip, and this bed ran circles around the others in terms of comfort (and the other ones were comfy...this one just more so). There was also a coffee table with a couple of magazines, including a DuPont Registry. Could these people read my mind?? One of my favorite magazines anywhere!! Major brownie points there. The bathroom itself was a bit small with a standup shower and a sink with a view. The door to the bathroom was on a slider (picture a pocket door without one of the walls concealing the door) and got sticky with about a foot remaining until closed, making it extremely hard to shut completely. The armoire furniture was quite tired looking with chipped paint and a large section along the side which had clearly been repainted with flat black paint and didn't quite mesh with the original glossy black finish.

Thomas also was nice enough to send up some chocolate covered strawberries and some sparkling apple juice (we requested this as apposed to champagne). YUM. We quickly found space in the mini fridge and saved them for later.

When we walked into the room, it was extremely hot...about 77 degrees. It was an unseasonably hot day (high of about 90), and with all those windows and the sun beating down, the AC, while blowing cold air, just wasn't cutting it. We had the bellman manually turn the AC on high and he told us if it wasn't better in 10 minutes to call the engineer. In 5 minutes, I checked again and it was 78, in 10 it was 79. Okay...we are going the wrong direction here. In came the engineer, who could not have been more apologetic. He immediately began checking the wiring of both thermostats (yes-there were two thermostats in the room). We later discovered that these independently controlled each vent because we set the one in the hallway near the door on 70 before bed and when we woke up it was chily. We checked and the one in the hallway was on 70 but the one near the bed was still on 68 and the vent above it still dutifully blowing.

15 minutes after the engineer arrived, it was time to head to the Fenway for the Sox game. He promised us it would be cool when we returned to the room later that night. We hopped on the Green Line at the Park Street station, which is about a 3 minute walk from the hotel.

After the game, we decided to walk all the way back to the hotel since it was so nice out. This was a pleasant 40 minute stroll down Newbury and through the Public Gardens and Boston Common back to the hotel. When we got back to the room, it was much cooler-what a relief!

On Friday, checkout was slow. I believe the problem centered around the $10 allowance card to use in the minibar that Kimpton InTouch members receive. There seemed to be a problem applying this $10 credit to our bill. We eventually checked out and headed for the Blue Line towards the airport.
We were there the night of 5/21 and checked out on 5/22, and thankfully didn't experience any of the water problems the previous reviewer did.
Overall, the service we received prior to check in from Thomas was excellent, and our stay was excellent, but the tired looking armoire and the hot room kept me from giving it 5 stars.

Thanks Thomas, and keep up the good work!! People like you are why we love Kimptons so much...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickles1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,636
    684
    137
    37
    29
See reviews for
500
1,124
149
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

I had a King Premium room. It was pretty basic. A/C didn't work that well - either hot or cold. No towel racks in the bathroom, which I never realized how important they are when there are two travelling.

We lost hot water for awhile due to a problem somewhere in the block. That was a pain, but the hotel was not able to do anything about that except offer free breakfast. Outside noise is kept outside - but noise within the hotel was obvious (had a few door slammers across from our room).

Restaurant was very nice - both our dishes had to be sent back due to issues with cooking time - but they went over the top to remedy the situation. We got back to our room after dinner and received a call offering us an after dinner drink in our room. Very nice (I assume that was because of our dinner problem.)

Keep in mind it is a dog friendly hotel so there are dogs off leash in the common areas from time to time.

Workout room was small, but had the basics.

Staff was all very nice - Overall above average -

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryHauler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

What could have been a great stay ended in us leaving the hotel disappointed.

The first two days of our stay were perfect. Friendly staff in a hotel that is nicely decorated and welcoming. The managers reception is a nice touch and they serve good wines. However, they should put some small snacks (nuts) on the tables. The minibar in the room is just perfect, with not only drinks, but even a teddy bear to comfort you. We even regret not taking the bear home :-(. The rest of the room is nice and clean. However, there was a strange chemical cleaning smell in the room and there were no glasses in the bathroom. We took a martini glass from the bar for this purpose, but a regular glass would have been more practical. We ended up accidentily breaking the martini glass. The bed has sharp edges, specifically at the corners, and for some reason we kept running into them. The pillows are synthetic, not down, even though they claim down pillows are standard. Also, this being a pet-friendly hotel, the elevator reeks of dog-smell sometimes - easily resolved if they program the elevator to idle on the ground floor with the doors open.

The real trouble began on the morning of May 22. We had planned on a 10am city tour that morning. Fortunately, we did not book and prepay yet - we would not have made it. When we turned on the shower that morning, no hot water came out. Just cold water, and not much pressure. We tried the tap on the sink, but no hot water there either. After retrying several times we called the front desk and were informed that there was an "outside problem" and engineers were working on it. We monitored the situation and after about 90 minutes later the hot water came back and we immediately showered. We were just in time, because it stopped working again when we were almost finished. During that time, it took the hotel nearly an hour to bring up a pot of coffee. We were probably not the only people that were waiting in their rooms for the water to come back on again.

However, we missed the 10am tour. We rescheduled to the afternoon, and moved our itinerary for the afternoon - a whale watch tour - to the next morning. We decided not to prebook (and prepay), as we might be confronted with water issues again.

We came back to the hotel late that evening. I expected, and would have appreciated a note in the room with apologies for the inconvenience and a small explanation of what happened that morning. But none of the above - no mention of the problems at all. Sure, things can break and I do understand that. But you should inform the people affected by it and try to make it right with them. In my opionin, hot water supply should be considered a core facility for a hotel, and I would have expected them to have some redundancy for it.

When we tried to rinse a glass that evening, we discovered that we had new water problems. We had no pressure at all, just a "click" behind the wall when we opened up the tap, both on cold and warm water. It sounded like a valve closing whenever we turned on the water - maybe an safety valve of some sort.

We called the front desk (11.30pm). They sent up an engineer who started to work (12am) in the bathroom. We waited, poored ourselves some wine and started packing our bags to fill the time. After about an hour (1.10am), the engineer informed us that he had fixed the toilet (which we did not have any problems with and did not complain about), but that he could not fix the tap. He apologised and left. He had been working on the toilet for over an hour, even though we did not have problems with that. Sure, it filled up slowly, but it worked. The tap was our problem, and at that point in time we just wanted to brush our teeth and go to sleep.

We ended up sitting on our knees in front of the bathtub after the engineer left and brushing our teeth there that evening and the next morning. Our evening was spoiled as the engineer that had been working in our bathroom for over an hour on a completely different issue that was not even a problem to us. In stead, the hotel should have immediately moved us to another room when the engineer decided that he could not fix the problem that evening. Which he probably already did when he first came investigated.

The next morning we checked out. No mention at all of the problems. No apology. We had to bring it up ourselves and it seemed the front-desk clerk had no clue as to what we were talking about. He only informed us that he would tell his manager about it.

That morning we missed out on the whalewatch tour as it was already fully booked. As we had planned on taking the ferry to Long Island from New Londen that afternoon and were unsure until what time it operated we were hesitant to take a later tour. If we could not make the ferry we would have to drive all the way around. So we picked up the car and our luggage at the hotel and made some inquiries with the concierge about the ferry. After some quick checks on the distance and estimated driving times we decided to take the later tour. We ended up paying an extra $25 for parking however as we had already picked up the car and needed to park it again.

We left Boston that day with a disappointed feeling. It could have been a great stay -- even with the water problems -- but the hotel just didn't make the right choices.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NineZeroFDM, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2009
Dear Roel2,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. As a team, please accept our sincerest apologies for the unsatisfactory and dissapointing stay you recently had with us. As I hope you know from the first two enjoyable days, we do strive to provide a relaxing and stress free experience to all our guests. The latter portion of your stay is certainly not up to standard for the Nine Zero Hotel. Please know that your comments have been brought to the attention of all members of management. Rest assured that your review is actively being looked over so we may develop solutions to the difficulties you experienced.

Thank you again for sharing your review with us. We will certinaly use it as a training tool with our staff. Please know that we are committed to providing 100% guest satisfaction and I sincerely apologize for failing you. Hopefully, upon your return to Boston, we will be able to show you the relaxing experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

We were guests at the Nine Zero from May 14th through May 18th. The hotel is in an excellent location and provided us access to all that we wanted to do. Very easy walk to Quincy Market, Boston Common and the "T" stations. Staff were very friendly, and everyone made you feel welcome. Rooms were very quiet and clean. Beds and linens were awesome. The evening concierge, Scotty, was very good in handling our requests for dinner locations. Both recommendations were awesome and greatly appreciated. Beantown Pub right next door was great for drinks, quick bite, and interaction with the locals. We had a great time out and about in Boston which was made all the more better by being able to come back to such a nice hotel that was very close to where we had been out. I will recommend this hotel to all of my friends due to our experience. Thanks again Nine Zero.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kman3528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol,ct
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2009

A week or so since our stay and we are still saying "that was a really nice weekend".The hotel staff are exceptional. Greeted with a glass of wine upon arrival was very nice.Thank you Meghan. The room was great. The bath amenities are excellent. This hotel is so close to everything. Only downside.. take out a loan to buy a good martini at the hotel bar
Love this place

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clancy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2009
Dear isle-adora,
We appreciate your review of the Nine Zero Hotel! I'm glad you enjoyed the room and our amentities, and that you found the location to be convenient for your stay. I hope we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2009

We liked this hotel and stayed for four nights but our views were spoiled by the outrageous charges for a short phone call - $17 to leave a voicemail message on a USA landline.

The hotel is very nicely appointed and superbly appointed. Staff very helpful and also a nice touch of providing a complimentary wine reception at 5pm in the evenings.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2009

Easy to miss this hotel because of its discrete name plate. Once inside however the hotel is very stylish and comfortable. The blackout blinds in the rooms and supremely comfortable beds make for an exceptionally good night's sleep. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterCW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,061 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,511 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel

Property: Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108-4101 (Formerly Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#13 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing