We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 5, 2013

spent two nights here. arrived just in time for the complimentary wine, a nice way to meet fellow travellers. Friendly helpful staff, a comfortable room, well placed right by the start of the Freedom Trail.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catwomanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Catwomanr -

Wine is definitely a good way to meet anyone, even helpful public servants! Tequila is also good for that. Thank you for choosing us.

Happy travels,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,669)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,312 - 1,318 of 2,671 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Boston and we couldn't have chosen a better location for our stay. The Nine Zero is a boutique hotel located in downtown Boston. We were a block away from the start of the Freedom Trail and The "T" subway station. Fenway Park and Cambridge were just a subway ride away. The North End, Beacon Hill, Copley Square, Newbury Street were an easy walk. The eclectic decor of this hotel sets it apart from others. Our king premier room was very well appointed with a very comfortable bed, magnifying make-up mirror in bathroom, and plenty of outlets for a couple to manage getting ready at the same time. Housekeeping did an excellent job of keeping the room spotless with ample towels and amenities. Since it was my birthday weekend, I was treated to cupcakes and champagne. As a Kimpton In-Touch member, we also had access to free WiFi. Concierge service was very helpful and informative. The Nine Zero is a reasonably priced hotel and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the larger premier room rather than the standard.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Helene,

A happy belated birthday! I like to pretend everyday is my birthday and treat myself to cupcakes.

Walking to the places you mentioned is easy - walking back with all of the shopping bags is hard. Sounds like a fun weekend.

Best,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Chic and modern decor but not worth the price. Marble baths, very nice, but no towel bars and only one hook to hang everything on? Rooms are modish, contemporary, beds very comfortable with fresh white linens and a faux fur throw which smells of Fabreze. What's lurking in it? Lobby looks very chic in the photos but it's just one small room with threadbare purple velvet couches and faux leather (read: vinyl) chairs. No other spot in the hotel to gather! Restaurant under renovation so a continental breakfast with a paltry selection to choose from--$15!! Windows look out on an alley filled with trash cans and noisy trucks collecting it. Other hotels on the same block offer more for the same money. Tiny fitness room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tsutziq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Tsutziq,

The throws on our beds certainly stimulate a lot of dicussion between the lovers and the haters out there. If it swings any votes - they are regularly and routinely dry cleaned - so the only thing lurking out there might be "what are they?" Synthetic ostrich feathers of course! This place is a designer's dream fulfilled - with velvet, real leather, faux leather, eel skin, and others all featured throughout the hotel.

Also a dream fulfilled is our lounge that will be re-opening this fall. It's going to be a lot of fun.

Regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights at the end of September. The location was perfect for sight seeing and our room was large and very nicely decorated. All staff we saw were extremely friendly and helpful. We were given complimentary continental breakfast with our package but I don't think we would have wanted to pay for it. Unfortunately the hotel is refurbishing its restaurant and so there appeared to be no food available anywhere other than a cold breakfast which was somewhat limited. There was tea and coffee available at breakfast and for part of the morning but it would have been nice if that could have been available all day. All in all a very nice hotel which will be great once the restaurant is up and running.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

SueC22,

The good news is that we always have hot food avaialble through our in-room dining department. The bad news is you already left. Sorry we did not communicate that more clearly to you while you were here. Thank you for the assurance that we will be returning to greatness once our lounge re-opens (which will definitely be this fall).

Take care,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Nine Zero Hotel is very convenient, quiet and comfortable. Close to many restaurants, train station and tourism! Great place to stay. Short walk to the North End and Back Bay area. Very Friendly staff! Really enjoyed staying here. Recommend highly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redneckbeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Mr. beagle,

We enjoyed having you here...thanks for the recommend (and taking the time to post)!

Best,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The nine zero hotel is a average hotel with a luxurius branding.
Rooms are areage size, but with some funny twists like a yoga mat in the room.
Average bathrooms and average food.
They host a wine reception in the lobby every evening and staff is quite welcoming and accomodating.
Given that it was quite good value for money and very central it offers a different experience than the undistinguishable "normal brands".
I stayed there for 8 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear E S,

Average feels like a four-letter word here but I know it's not intended to be. We want to be far from average - so you have certainly given us motivation to further distance ourselves from the "brands".

Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to provided us with your feedback.

Regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We picked this Kimpton hotel as we had stayed in one in D.C. and loved it. The Nine Zero had all of the nice Kimpton touches - wine hour, free wifi, cold water in the lobby and free coffee in the morning. It was also very well located, within walking distance of most Boston attractions. We booked through Amex and got a room upgrade to one with a city view. It was not huge but big enough for the 4 of us and the view was a nice plus.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Abbe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,315 reviews
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#13 of 84 in Boston
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,630 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel

Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108-4101 (Formerly Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Family Hotel in Boston
#15 Green Hotel in Boston
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $237 - $682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing