We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Ranked #17 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great choice for Boston”
Reviewed July 1, 2008

Never been to Boston before, and chose the Nine Zero because of its location and very happy experiences at other Kimpton hotels in San Francisco & Washington DC. It did not disappoint and I will stay there again if/when we return to Boston. The staff were friendly & welcoming & the evening drinks reception is a nice touch. Room well appointed (go for a floor at/near the top with a view of the state building if you can), although for a design hotel, I would have expected a modern flatscreen TV (the one in the room was an old CRT model with a relatively poor picture quality) and an iPod dock would have been nice. Having said this, the hotel still merits a 5* review.

  • Liked — location & staff
  • Disliked — out-of-date technology in room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MartinPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Management at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2008
Dear MartinPh,
Thank you for your review of the Nine Zero hotel, and for choosing to stay with us on your first trip to Boston. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our evening wine reception and found our staff to be friendly and welcoming. I’m sorry about the fact that we did not have flat screen TVs during your recent stay, and I agree with your comments. I am pleased to inform you that in the past week we have begun to replace our TV’s with flat screens. I’m sorry that we were too late in fulfilling this upgrade and that you weren’t able to enjoy the flat screen on your most recent stay, but if we have the opportunity to welcome you back, you will not be disappointed! Thank you again for your comments, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,653
    689
    139
    38
    29
See reviews for
503
1,135
150
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

Good hotel in a great location. Our large 12th floor king size room was a good value. The spiffy decor and helpful desk staff made our short stay very hassle-free.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sundinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Management at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2008
Dear sundinkc,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Nine Zero Hotel. We’re glad that you had a pleasant, hassle free stay, and we hope to see you at our hotel again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2008

The Hotel is great, a perfect location centrally located for all areas and attractions. I can see why the other reviews were so complementary, this is the 4th Kimpton Hotel we have stayed in and it was just as good as the others have been.

The Hotel is well managed and the staff represent this well. I asked to see the top floor room Cloud 9 which they were happy to do. The staff member who took me up there was extremely helpful and informative and very keen to tell me what a great Hotel this was to work for. This atmosphere comes across.

We asked for a high room and were pleased to be on the 17th floor with a great view State House, it was a very quiet room.

We had breakfast once, I can highly recommend the pancakes we ate out other times. We tried The Paramount in Charles street, Down the hill (Beacon Street) and on the right. get there early and enjoy the atmosphere, it is not a place for lingering but worth going to. Charles Street has some wonderful older shops to browse in once you have had breakfast. There are a lot of coffee shops around the Hotel but not so many breakfast places, if you want more than bagels and muffins. Not many diners, there is one down the hill at South Street though.

Restaurants we enjoyed and were recommended to us by a Bostonian friend were Mooo just around the corner in beacon Street from the Hotel, not cheap but good quality and atmosphere. The hotel bar on the 2nd floor was great, plus the bar food.

The Beantown Pub next door is a great place to watch sport and have a beer and bar food and a game of pool. Plus not far to get back to the Hotel!

The Daily Catch is a small restaurant that you would pass by without a thought in Hanover Street North End. I was told to go there and did so for a late lunch...wonderful. A handed down family run restaurant with seafood that melts in your mouth. In the evening people queue aroudn the block so my recommendation would be a late lunch after whale watching if you take the 10.30 boat. You have to pay in cash though so beware!

Whale watching was fantastic if you want to get out of the City for a few hours. The Boston Harbour Cruise catamaran was fast, clean and has marine biologists on board giving great information and collecting data.. Well worth the trip as was a day trip to Salem if you have time...

A CIty trolly tour is a must when you first arrive to get an idea of what is where and some history. I would recomment the Red Sox one as it covers a larger area, it depends how much time you have. You can get on and off the trolly all day, you do not have to stay on for a whole tour.

We will definitely stay there again when we are next in Boston

  • Liked — The atmosphere and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WMadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Management at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2008
Dear WMadge,
Thank you for your great review of the Nine Zero Hotel. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Boston and were able to indulge in the fine food and activities that Boston has to offer. I’m also happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly, and that you have and will continue to stay with Kimpton Hotels. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Nine Zero the next time you are in Boston. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, on
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

Friendly, warm and very helpful staff. Comfortable beds and spacious clean room. Terrific location to walk the city. Wine served daily from 5 to 6 - a very special touch to end the tour day and before relaxing to go out for dinner. I would look for another Kimpton hotel on my next trip.

  • Liked — great staff
  • Disliked — ice machine near our room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bmarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Management at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2008
Dear bmarr, Thank you for reviewing the Nine Zero hotel. We’re glad that you found our guest rooms comfortable, and enjoyed our hosted evening wine reception. We’re also glad to hear that you will seek out Kimpton hotels for your future stays. We hope to see you again the next time you’re in Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2008

I'm still here!

A perfect location, excellent staff and clean modern rooms. I like the Kimpton group of hotels and would mark this one as the best in the chain. Even the Monaco in Chicago can't quite match it! I will be staying here every time I'm in Boston.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick62London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Management at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2008
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of the Nine Zero. We’re so happy that you are enjoying our hotel so far, and please let us know if there is anything we can do for you for the remainder of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Boston. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

Loved the hotel. The location was great, close to the "T" and walking distance to Quincy Market. The staff was really great and even left a little gift bag for my dog in the room even though we did not bring him. Definitely will go back.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank lvlover8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Management at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2008
Dear lvlover8,
Thank you for your review of the Nine Zero hotel. We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay. Next time bring your dog along! We hope he enjoyed his gift bag. We look forward to seeing you the next time you’re in Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2008

This hotel has THE BEST location in all of Boston. It's right across the street from Boston Common, the Public Garden, the Capitol, and a short 2-3 block walk to Fanueil Hall, Quincy Market, and downtown crossing. It's about a 10 minute walk to Boston's North End, where some of the best restaurants are located. When you're tired of walking, you can jump on one of Boston's many subway lines (aka the T). This hotel is located near Park St., Downtown Crossing, and Government Center, which makes it easy to get on any subway line without having to transfer. The hotel is very classic/contemporary and has a welcoming, comfortable feel to it. Upon entering there's a nice sitting area where they have complimentary happy hour in the evening. The staff was nice, friendly, and outgoing. They made me feel at home while on the road. The rooms were clean, well laid out, and had enough pictures and decor that didn't make it feel like a normal hotel room. It was not noisy given the downtown location. This hotel helped me maximize my time while on the road and also allowed me to enjoy my time in Boston. I highly recommend the Nine Zero and look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BPK_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Management at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2008
Dear BPK_Travel,
Thank you for your kind review of the Nine Zero hotel. We’re pleased that we could make you feel at home during your recent stay. Thank you for your nice comments regarding our rooms, amenities, location, and service. We’re happy that you look forward to returning to the Nine Zero and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks again for you comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,164 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#12 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,565 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel

Property: Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108-4101 (Formerly Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#13 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing