We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a typical Kimpton stay - excellent hotel at a decent value. Details:

Room: Spacious, clean, functional for business. Wifi was included if you are part of their rewards program.

Service: Staff was very friendly and outgoing.

Gym: They had one, it was nice but small. If there are more than 3 people you might as well go for a jog outside - it can get pretty cramped.

Location: Excellent and high point. If you have business in downtown Boston you can pretty much walk anywhere from this hotel. For the tourist it is right on the freedom trail and right across the cemetery where Paul Revere is buried.

Food: the breakfast I had at the hotel was excellent, the menu had pretty much everything you would want and the food was excellent quality - not what you would get at a Marriott or similar.

The hotel itself was more designed for adults, as most Kimpton's are. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Drawback I could see - there was no typical lobby bar, if you care about that sort of thing - I think there was one in the restaurant but there are plenty of places nearby to grab a drink.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FollowingtheEquator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,572 - 1,578 of 2,707 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

This Kimpton property is very conveniently located at the north end of the commons and kitty corner to the granary burial ground. Fremont street is a busy street and unfortunately has the sirens and noise to go with it. The windows and doors are not well sound proofed so I was able to eavesdrop on our neighbors' conversation when they came home at 4 in the morning and to here the guy shouting on the street below at 5:00 Saturday morning all too well. The walls were better sound proofed so we could not hear room to room. That being said, the staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was not huge, but comfortable for a city hotel. We paid for a view and overlooked the cemetery and state house dome which was nice. It provided a great centrally located base from which the freedom trail and metro were easily accessed. We would stay again but hope they will eventually work on sound proofing.

Room Tip: These are not room choosing tips, but comfort tips. The sun hit our a/c control in the afternoon so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a very modern, botique hotel centrally located by Boston Common. Within walking distance of Fanueil Hall, Theater District, and Historic Sites. Staff is friendly, but not attentive. The beds are very comfy, and the furry throw is cute. So, we came in after a dinner in the city, and our room was glowing purple and the TV was set to a "fireplace" channel. The turn-down service was completed. What a lovely surprise! Overall, a nice oasis to get away for a while. We would try a Kimpton hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a cityscape view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Every year I travel to Boston for business and stay at Nine Zero. Every year it like coming home. The staff is professional and kind. The room is always clean and they provide me with my special needs, i.e. coffee pot. Of course, after a grueling day, I look forward to their free wine in the beautiful lobby. Nine Zero is in an ideal location near Boston Commons and the Freedom Trail. There are two pubs across the street and a nice restaurant. I ate twice at the nice restaurant and the pizza was delicious, but you have to have the french onion soup...one of the best. The name of the restaurant is Marliave.

Room Tip: A corner room overlooking the old cemetary and Boston Commons is perfect. The higher floors provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojostew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was my first time in Boston and I was not disappointed. This hotel is part of the growing boutique hotel group Kimpton. As with the others I have stayed in it functions very efficiently without being sterile.
Check in was a breeze with my key in hand within seconds of my friendly arrival. Zip up to the 10th floor room 05 where I was assigned a corner room with windows - that open - on both sides. One side of the room looked into an office building but was not as harsh as I expected - the front looked out to the historical cemetery across the street where various famous people in US history are buried. The church tower chimed on the hour and was very pleasant.
The room was as with all Kimpton Hotels a work of modern - eclectic - comforting. Wireless is free when a Kimpton Reward Member - well priced mini bar with good quality snacks. No bathtub but a large walk shower and nice toiletries. Plenty of receptacles for power - good TV selection - really everything you want in a good quality room away from home.
The hotel does have a small restaurant that is open for Breakfast - an evening manager wine reception in the lobby - but the restaurant is currently closed for dinner as they decide on a revamp I was told. The room service menu however was spectacular and the chef knows what he/she is doing with food. Everything I ate at the hotel on this trip was truly top notch with complex flavors instead of plain old hotel food. There is an Irish Piub next door to the hotel if you want something more casual - Panera and Starbucks are less than a block away - so something for everyone. However - again - if you are able to eat in the hotel you MUST try room service until the restaurant reopens - it truly is some of the best I have ever had.
There is a decent work out area for those of you looking to let of some steam at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Rooms 10th Floor or above have better views and are quieter from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitouareg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was celebrating a Big Birthday with a long-time girlfriend, and we LOVED Nine Zero. It was quiet, the rooms were beautiful, and best of all, pets were FREE. I could bring my little dog, and he was allowed anywhere but the breakfast room. The staff was great to him, and to us. And we didn't smell anyone else's dog in the room. The housekeeper came in and cleaned and changed the linen, while Ruffie lay asleep in the chair. Perfect!! And, it was very well located right near Boston Common. And ... because I subscribed to the Kimpton Loyalty Program, I got a special discount for my birthday, even though we arrived a couple of days after my birthday month over. Thank you, Nine Zero.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank lizten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

These reviews are all spot on.

# Pros:
- Excellent location for exploring Boston.
- Comfortable rooms.
- Dog friendly.
- Wine hour.
- Decent gym.

# Cons:
- No one told us where the free coffee was until check out, and it is not obvious.
- When we checked in and got into our room, one of the staff came into the room without knocking, opening the door with his key. We were very startled. He apologized. But it was strange, and we do not expect this from such a hotel. Unclear why he came into the room, there certainly needs to be better communication among all the staff as to who has checked in.

Overall, it is a nice hotel and a prime location. A few small set backs however, but could be overlooked.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank seafoodben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#15 of 84 in Boston
1,130 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,681 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#48 of 84 in Boston
7,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel

Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108-4101 (Formerly Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Family Hotel in Boston
#14 Green Hotel in Boston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $214 - $683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing