We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, unique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Ranked #17 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely, unique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was my second stay for business trip. Consistently high quality boutique hotel. Lovely lobby. Excellent staff who added special touches (like a photo of my dog in frame to welcome me). The room is well appointed and very comfortable. Join the Kimpton loyalty program to be sure you receive the extra perks.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WmWoods1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear WmWoods1981,

Thank you for staying with us again. Like the photo of your dog, we love welcoming guests back to the hotel.

Take care,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,636
    683
    137
    37
    29
See reviews for
500
1,124
149
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston, tx
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I cannot begin to understand why people did not give this hotel a perfect review. The staff are lovely and incredibly helpful in the room is spacious and very well appointed. Everyone went out of their way to help us including extending the complementary wine hour since we checked in a little bit late. The Decour is modern and beautiful and I can't get over the incredible view from our room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbfrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear mbfrye,

Who doesn't love Wine Hour (And Then Some)? Looks like you had one of our Queen View rooms - I'm partial to those as well. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We have to give the Nine Zero five stars. We had at least 60 friends and family together for a June wedding in 2012 and everyone experienced great service in well appointed rooms at a fantastic location. They were very helpful with every aspect of the week long activities. We had wonderful support from the front desk. Every aspect went above our expection.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preferredposture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear preferredposture,

Do you have any other kids we can help marry off? We had a great time too - and can't wait to welcome some (or all) of you back.

Congratulations!

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Went there for our anniversary. We got a room with a gorgeous view and a bottle of champagne. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. They printed a picture of us and put it in the room. My wife was impressed by them and me! It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi39_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Jodi39_23,

Thank you for celebrating your anniversary with us. We are certain your wife has always been impressed by you - but we are happy that we could help remind her why!

Best,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyngsboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was our second visit to Nine Zero, our third to a Kimpton hotel. It was a special occasion: wedding anniversary and a birthday, so everything had to go perfectly. It was an auspicious start to be asked days ahead if I wanted to send a photo to be framed and in the room when we arrived. When we arrived, they also surprised us with a complimentary bottle of champagne in an ice bucket. The next day, they coordinated the arrival of a bouquet of red roses and while we were out placed it for maximum effect. And they got us the best table at the quaint, colorful and popular Marlieve for dinner.

Among the interesting people we met during the free wine hours were a remarkable couple from Toronto, also celebrating an anniversary, a delightful young couple from Philadelphia celebrating a birthday, and an engaging former intelligence agent and her engineer husband.

Thursday's wine hour host, Tracey, a long-time staff member and graduate of Cornell's famous Hotel Management School, where she double majored in Literature, was as interested in us as she was interesting herself. It therefore said a lot that complimenting Tracey to Emily, the Guest Services Manager, drew this response: you should try to talk to everyone on the staff. Each one is unique, with a fascinating story, personality and character. Or as Thomas, Concierge extraordinaire (think: favorite relative who always took the most interest in you), put it and others confirmed, the Nine Zero staff enjoy and respect one another so much that most have declined offers to go elsewhere. They're a family. You can feel it.

Over coffee this morning at the nearby warm and friendly Thinking Cup, we were asked where we were staying. "Nine Zero" earned a raise of an eyebrow and a respectful, "Upscale!" But it was a fraction of the cost of a room in NYC at this time of year. And the commanding view of Boston Common - steeple and clock of the Park Street Church, Frog Pond skaters, Christmas lights - and beyond, is priceless.

We keep hearing people say once you've stayed in a Kimpton hotel, you never want to go anywhere else. We agree.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing the Common are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Tom R,

In all sincerity - this review is why we are all in the business. To connect with interesting people and hear their stories. Thank you so much for sharing your trip with us and all of around Kimpton nation look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,

Mark

PS Great shot from your room. Can I get a copy?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed for a few days in late November 2012 - came to Boston to see Neil Young - excellent concert ! Warm and friendly welcome , ideal site near the centre of town and about half hour walk from smart Boston shopping in Back Bay Room was great , excellent view over Boston , superb bed , slept very well , plenty of space in room Bit disappointed initially at the lack of coffee maker - discovered the hotel will happily send one up if only you ask ! Speedy free wifi , consistently friendly and helpful service Only ate breakfast at the hotel - a perfectly cooked a la carte breakfast Warmly recommended hotel , had a great time , would come back without doubt

Room Tip: Worth getting a high room with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flatworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear flatworm,

Coffee, tea, whatever you need in the room, we'll find a way. Glad you were able to make it to the Cafe on the second floor for breakfast - one of my favorites spots in the area. I am not sure about Neil's touring schedule, but feel free to come back when David, Stephen, or Graham are in town playing at one of the other great (albeit smaller) venues a short walk from the hotel.

Safe travels,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We did a quick overnight to Boston and soon after booking this place it was made clear I had made the right decision. I emailed the hotel and Thomas, the concierge, helped with tour ideas as well as restaurants and got us into a packed restaurant on a Saturday night.

The staff is as friendly, and competent (you do not always get the two together) as one could ask for. The hotel is a small boutique place so no wasted palatial lobby, but everything you could need and plenty for the free evening wine and hot toddies. We got the king deluxe city view and the room was very nice and it passed the all important test, did it have enough outlets for all the chargers and computers. (You would be amazed at how many places fail this simple test.)

You need to join the Kimpton Club, free, as it got you free WiFi and a $10 minibar credit.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMSamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,043 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,507 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel

Property: Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108-4101 (Formerly Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#12 Green Hotel in Boston
#13 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing