We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory hotel - but worth looking at other options”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel is near Boston Common - which makes it well located for the sights and for the T, although we found the area a little seedy at night.

We upgraded to a larger room, which was spacious and well-furnished. However, the heating did not work properly and the engineer was unable to fix it satisfactorily. Free wifi was available in the room, which we appreciated, and there was a facility for printing boarding passes in the business centre. We ate breakfast in the hotel one day, which was of an extremely high quality though not cheap. Overall, a pleasant hotel but we would choose a different hotel in a different area if we returned to Boston.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Libby08,

There are all sorts of interesting people around the hotel - from Senators, Venture Capitalists, Local Entreprenuers, and more! In reality it is a really safe neighborhood that is constantly being developed forward. I am certain that the heating is working now - sorry for the delay!

Thank you again for staying with us. I hope the other options lead you back here in the long run.

Safe travels,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,673 - 1,679 of 2,747 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a special treat while in Boston... Really nice hotel with modern, interesting decor. Loved The free wine hour. Rooms were spacious and comfortable... If anything I thought the hot breakfasts were very pricey (continental breakfast included) but that's a minor issue!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juno85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear juno85,

It's a also a good hotel for unspecial occasions! Thank you for celebrating with us - and if you do need a special reason - just remember you deserve and you're worth it!

Best,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Incredible location, just steps from Boston Commons and the Freedom Trail. Large, modern rooms with views all the way around. Friendly staff and unbeatable location. I did not eat at the hotel, primarily b/c of its proximity to the best of Boston.

Room Tip: Ask for a view facing Boston Commons
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tboz1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear tboz1976,

I am going to go out on a limb say you liked our location. Thank you for staying with us!

Take Care,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

love visiting boston and have always had good stays with Kimpton - this was a totla disappointment - dirty room, bad service and cigar smoke wafting through the room all night - will not be a repeat performance here

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frequenttravelusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear frequenttravelusa,

It certainly sounds like your stay could have and should have gone better. I would love the opportunity to discuss the items you referenced in greater detail,particularly the service and room condition. My direct line is 617-772-5848 if you have the opportunity to call me. With regards to the cigar smoke, we are a 100% non-smoking building, and ask all of our guests to respect each other and their room by complying. There are measures that we have in place to further ensure that this smoking in the guest rooms is discouraged. On behalf of the cigar smoker, I do apologize for the impact they had on your stay.

Regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at the Nine Zero while attending a weekend family event in the Boston area. The Nine Zero is located in downtown Boston close to Boston Commons and is walking distance to the main train station as well as easily accessible to freeway entrances. The hotel is located within walking distance to many restaurants and bars. We choose the Nine Zero partly as result of being a Kimpton InTouch Loyalty Program member and partly because of the relatively good rate for a downtown Boston luxury property. I believe being a Loyalty Program member paid off as we were given a very nice room on the top floor. For a downtown Boston property, the room we were provided was more spacious than I had anticipated and more than adequate for a couples weekend stay.

I made good use of the hotel's fitness center. While I did not eat in the hotel's breakfast room, I did like the complimentary coffee set up on the second floor (although, I always prefer in room coffee makers which was not a feature here).

I certainly would recommend and return to the Nine Zero. The only drawback was the difficult valet parking setup as access was on a small narrow side street off of Tremont.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear TripTex,

Being a loyalty member always pays off. Even in ways you may not expect. Like we can add a coffeemaker to your pre-arrival request so you have one waiting for you in the room. The best of both worlds!

Safe travels,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Decided to explore Boston before a week of work in MA. Nine Zero was a perfect base to explore the city. A great selection of restaurants around. Two T stations nearby, and walking distance to the Boston Common is easy. We decided not to take up breakfast at the hotel, but explored Newbury Street instead - a short walk away. The room was neat, tidy but quite small. Good idea to try for an upgrade from the Deluxe room.

Room Tip: The Queen Deluxe is smallish for two to share. Rooms on the highest floors have a view of Boston I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Grant H.

Nine Zero: Exploration Station. That probably won't make it through marketing, but it is very true for all the reasons you listed above. The Queen Deluxe rooms probably have the largest variety in room size depending on where they are situated on the building, but for a view, I would defintely inquire at check-in about available upgrades if that is what you have booked.

Best,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Nine Zero is a very smart joint, slap bang in the middle of Boston. There are several T stations nearby, Boston Common is a stone's throw away, Macy's is just around the corner, and the rest of the city centre is easily walkable. The hotel staff are friendly and efficient, the breakfast room is nice, and the room we had was large, stylish, well fitted-out, quiet, and had very comfortable beds. Highly recommended for a stay in this lovely city.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jghastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear jghastings,

Thank you for staying with us as well as taking the time to offer your feedback. Hopefully we'll see you again soon - maybe in warmer times.

Safe travels,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,739 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#12 of 84 in Boston
1,365 reviews
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#25 of 84 in Boston
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel

Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108-4101 (Formerly Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#6 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Family Hotel in Boston
#14 Green Hotel in Boston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $168 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing