We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Location in the Heart of Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at the Nine Zero while attending a weekend family event in the Boston area. The Nine Zero is located in downtown Boston close to Boston Commons and is walking distance to the main train station as well as easily accessible to freeway entrances. The hotel is located within walking distance to many restaurants and bars. We choose the Nine Zero partly as result of being a Kimpton InTouch Loyalty Program member and partly because of the relatively good rate for a downtown Boston luxury property. I believe being a Loyalty Program member paid off as we were given a very nice room on the top floor. For a downtown Boston property, the room we were provided was more spacious than I had anticipated and more than adequate for a couples weekend stay.

I made good use of the hotel's fitness center. While I did not eat in the hotel's breakfast room, I did like the complimentary coffee set up on the second floor (although, I always prefer in room coffee makers which was not a feature here).

I certainly would recommend and return to the Nine Zero. The only drawback was the difficult valet parking setup as access was on a small narrow side street off of Tremont.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear TripTex,

Being a loyalty member always pays off. Even in ways you may not expect. Like we can add a coffeemaker to your pre-arrival request so you have one waiting for you in the room. The best of both worlds!

Safe travels,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,669)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,605 - 1,611 of 2,669 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

Decided to explore Boston before a week of work in MA. Nine Zero was a perfect base to explore the city. A great selection of restaurants around. Two T stations nearby, and walking distance to the Boston Common is easy. We decided not to take up breakfast at the hotel, but explored Newbury Street instead - a short walk away. The room was neat, tidy but quite small. Good idea to try for an upgrade from the Deluxe room.

Room Tip: The Queen Deluxe is smallish for two to share. Rooms on the highest floors have a view of Boston I...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Grant H.

Nine Zero: Exploration Station. That probably won't make it through marketing, but it is very true for all the reasons you listed above. The Queen Deluxe rooms probably have the largest variety in room size depending on where they are situated on the building, but for a view, I would defintely inquire at check-in about available upgrades if that is what you have booked.

Best,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Nine Zero is a very smart joint, slap bang in the middle of Boston. There are several T stations nearby, Boston Common is a stone's throw away, Macy's is just around the corner, and the rest of the city centre is easily walkable. The hotel staff are friendly and efficient, the breakfast room is nice, and the room we had was large, stylish, well fitted-out, quiet, and had very comfortable beds. Highly recommended for a stay in this lovely city.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor if you can.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jghastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear jghastings,

Thank you for staying with us as well as taking the time to offer your feedback. Hopefully we'll see you again soon - maybe in warmer times.

Safe travels,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Nine zero has a lot going for it - just off Boston Common; a modern feel and excellent staff. In particular, the concierge, Andy, was very helpful both arranging things before arrival and once there. As others have said, the downside to the location is noise and no view in rooms lower down, but we were near the top of the hotel and there were no problems. If I had to say anything negative, the double queen rooms are a bit tight on space.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Dullardd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Dullardd,

Thank you for visiting us on your recent trip to Boston. We never say tight on space here...just "big on opportunities to get reacquainted with your roommates". In all seriousness - our hotel rooms are actually of above average size for a downtown property. The din near the ground floor actually is not too bad either as this part of Boston gets awfully quiet after 9pm due to the government and financial institutions surrounding us.

Hope to see you again soon,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

i on arrival paid cash and was regardsed as a drug dealer, the staff were looking at a customer as an inconvenience,i asked for room service for my shirts to be washed and ironed at 11.00 rmonday morning, by wednesday the had been no sign of room service for two days.i saw around 10 people staying this is why the is so few people,no service "don't give a dam staff"
i complained three times no one did anything. afhet i left and as british when i had arrived in london $100.00 had been deducted from my account,i complained by e mail,phone,here is the reply. phone "$100.00 is expences" what expences???
e mail here is your bill" i have the bill why did you charge me $100.00 ???
do not stay here

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonTourman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear LondonTourman,

Please accept our deepest apologies for the quality of service you received during your stay. By your standards and ours, it fell far short of what we expect of ourselves. We work with our guests on payment options that run the whole gamut of possibilities and I assure you we do not judge a cash paying guest any differently than a guest paying with credit card. I am sorry that you felt you were receiving different treatment and a lower level of service because of that. I would be happy to speak with you personally regarding the other issues you mentioned. My direct line is 617-772-5848. I promise you that our entire staff gives a da[rn] and would love the opportunity to prove it on your next trip to Boston.

In Service,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here for the fourth time recently, never been disappointed by this hotel
Great location within walking distance of all shops and attractions, easily accessible on t from airport.
Big rooms, super comfy beds
Breakfast is great
Ask for a high room with view of Common, views are stunning
Next time I am in Boston on holiday with my family I will stay here

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Stevie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Stevie V,

Thank you for staying with us - four times over! We can't wait to meet your family next time you are on holiday.

Happy travels,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I just had to rave over this BEAUTIFUL hotel!! The location is perfect. We were able to walk everywhere. So close to Faneuil Hall, Quincy Market, Granary Burying Ground, Boston Common, T stops, AMC Movie Theaters, etc. The rooms were very well appointed. If you are into mini bars, then this is your place! Oh, did I mention how great this hotel smells!! It smells like a spa all the time! Another special little touch was the water decanters in the foyer. Everyday they are filled with water and fresh fruit. Very refreshing. Don't forget too that every evening at 5 pm they have complimentary wine! The staff was wonderful and very helpful! I'm telling you...look no further...book this hotel next time you head to Boston!

Room Tip: Our room was #710 If I could do over, I would ask for a room on the FRONT of the hotel. Than you...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofOps90, Manager at Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Tracy S,

I think I counted 15 exclamation points in your post - which translates into a lot of excitement! Happily it was over your stay. We're excited that you chose us and hope to see you again soon...!

Enthusiastically,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,314 reviews
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#13 of 84 in Boston
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,629 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel

Address: 90 Tremont St., Boston, MA 02108-4101 (Formerly Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#6 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Business Hotel in Boston
#13 Family Hotel in Boston
#15 Green Hotel in Boston
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $239 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel in downtown Boston is consistently named one of the world's best hotels by Conde Nast Traveler, and was recently voted Boston Magazine's Boston's Best Boutique Hotel. Nine Zero Hotel features impeccable service, sophisticated 4-star style, the new Highball Lounge and the perfect launch pad for exploring this historic city. The central location means easy access to Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Faneuil Hall and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Nine Zero Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing